We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb as usual”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Upstalsboom Hotel Friedrichshain
Ranked #198 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Kettering
1 review
“Superb as usual”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is the fifth time i have stayed here and as usual it was a very enjoyable experience.
As we were arriving on an early flight i emailed to ask if the room could be ready before the 3pm rule and was delighted when we arrived at 10.30 that we could go straight to the room.
Highlights are the location, breakfast and the staff.
Maybe some more gluten free options at Breakfast could be looked into.
The only down side is no air conditioning but as the temperature was only in the low 20's this was not an issue.
Make sure you check out Simon Dach Strasse, which is only a five minute walk away, for very reasonably priced food and drink.
Will stay here again next time i am in Berlin.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveKTFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    264
    69
    11
    5
See reviews for
121
202
21
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2014

The hotel is in a neighborhood (Friedrichshain) that although not in the tourist center, is located near mass transit points that connects to most of Berlin in a few minutes. The local community is a progressive place with lots of local bars and restaurants. You feel as if you are in a Berlin neighborhood with locals enjoying their area. The Hotel is well kept. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was excellent. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Buy a sandwich from the local restaurant across the street 'La Escalera'. Good people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Me and three friends stayed here for 4 nights and we can't complain. The staff we all very helpful and pleasant, we didn't speak very good German but thankfully the staff at reception spoke very good English so communication was not a problem. The rooms are basic but had everything we needed and they were very clean. Breakfast was great, a few times we came back from the local clubs at 6.30am just as the breakfast was being served up, it was all very laid back and they had a great selection on offer. Some gym equipment is available too and we took advantage of this though the sauna temperature could have been higher. As for the location, we found it was perfect for us. Lots of shops, bars and nice restaurants nearby and plenty of clubs to choose from if that's your thing, including Berghain. The train station was a 5 minute stroll down the road and you're only three stops out from the centre of Berlin. Also nearby is a large and impressive section of the Berlin wall, I know some people have mentioned the large amount of graffiti in the area but you should really look at it as 'street art' as majority of it is really impressive. To sum it up, the hotel is perfectly located, not far from transport links and local area is very fascinating.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saintssl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Not the nicest part of town with lots of graffiti etc but no security issues.Hotel itself was hot/no aircon but very helpful staff provided us with a fan.Clean, extremely good value for money.Breakfast better than most 5 star hotels (I live out of my suitcase for work at many of these so-called 5star hotels). Only issue was the lack of free wifi.In the 21st century this should be free and ubiquitous? (However, free wifi available in lounge).Overall very good value for money

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perthshire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We spent 4days in Berlin. This hotel was great to getting around the city very close to all the transport systems.
The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff very helpful.
The buffet breakfast was very good mostly continental but plentiful.
There are some fantastic restaurants in the neighbourhood only a short walk away
Would go back again and finish the sights we did not have time to see.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katz62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We got a last-minute deal for this hotel, when our original lodging plans for our family vacation to Berlin fell through. The hotel and the room was comfortable, and the breakfast buffet was really nice with plenty of choices for the whole family. The area around the hotel is a mixture of run down and just getting fixed up. The hotel location is fine, with a nice park just outside, but close to the S-Bahn station there are some rougher-looking people hanging out, which was a bit uncomfortable with kids, even if we didn't really have any problems. To avoid this, you can walk or take the street car one stop to the subway stop at Frankfurter Tor, and go downtown that way. Either way, it is just a few stops to go to Alexanderplatz, very convenient. A few blocks east of the hotel is a street with quite a few restaurants, where we had dinner one night. Overall, the hotel was good and the location was fine, and we would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laufam_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Location good for sightseeing as hotel close to local train station, maximum 10 minutes walk. However we had great difficulty finding good restaurants in the neighbourhood, and for this reason only, we would stay more central if visiting again. Neighbourhood somewhat run down and lots of graffiti, but we never felt unsafe. Initially we were in in standard double room. These are quite Spartan including no drawers in any of the furniture. Following our protests that we had not got the double bed that we requested, we were upgraded to a better double room (comfort double) which was much improved with much better furnishings and a real double bed. Probably well worth paying the extra to get such a room. Note that they insisted that in Germany, a double bed means two single beds made up as single beds, and just pushed together.
Breakfast was very good with an excellent choice. Reception staff were very friendly and very helpful with enquiries re transport and sightseeing.
Overall and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Consider paying extra for the better rooms. The additional cost is approximately €20 per night. Noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IFM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Friedrichshain
Zarenhof Friedrichshain
Zarenhof Friedrichshain
#255 of 634 in Berlin
144 reviews
Friedrichshain
nu hotel berlin
nu hotel berlin
#334 of 634 in Berlin
101 reviews
Friedrichshain
Hotel 26
Hotel 26
#323 of 634 in Berlin
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
Hotel Comenius
Hotel Comenius
#332 of 634 in Berlin
101 reviews
Friedrichshain
Klassik Hotel
Klassik Hotel
#435 of 634 in Berlin
250 reviews
Friedrichshain
Holiday Inn Berlin - City East Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upstalsboom Hotel Friedrichshain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upstalsboom Hotel Friedrichshain

Property: Upstalsboom Hotel Friedrichshain
Address: Gubener Str. 42, 10243 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#129 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#130 Business Hotel in Berlin
#156 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Upstalsboom Hotel Friedrichshain 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
And after an exciting day exploring Berlin you'll find the peace and quiet you need at the Upstalsboom Hotel Friedrichshain, located in one of the most creative and innovative districts of the city. Choose the room according to your individual requirements - size and furnishings - including a cosy family room with kitchenette. If you're travelling on business we offer free WLAN. Spend a relaxing time with us and enjoy our sauna and fitness area above the roofs of the city. Then treat yourself to a really special meal at our restaurant and the "Comenius lounge" which proudly features dishes from Friesland as well as international specialties. The restaurant and hotel bar serve mouth-watering delicacies, not only for those on holiday, but also for events such as parties and conferences in our prestigious facilities for up to 125 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Upstalsboom Hotel Friedrichshain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Upstalsboom Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing