We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Plaza Berlin Kudamm
Ranked #188 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent value hotel”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

My partner and I were really happy with this hotel. We stayed here three nights in April. It is very easy to get to from the airport, close to railway and metro stations and only a few stops to Alexander Platz. The service was very good, all of our questions were answered and we were able to store our bags as we arrived early, so we could go out and explore before checking in.

There is lots of shopping nearby and around the corner is one of the main places for tourist buses to stop, as well as some markets. We ended up going out in East Berlin a bit, but did not find the travel too much. The rooms were spotless, nicely decorated and the bed comfortable. We did not have breakfast at the hotel, as we thought it was a bit expensive, however there are plenty of places nearby for a bite to eat.

I thought this was an excellent value hotel and would definitely recommend to others for a weekend break.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    323
    133
    45
    18
See reviews for
87
254
77
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dnipropetrovsk, Ukraine
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights totally in May 2012.
There 3 types of rooms there: Art Room XS, Art Room and Art Room XL. XS room is the smallest and XL is the biggest. First I booked a regular Art Room for the price of XS room via venere.com. But then it appeared that it was an error on venere.com, so hotel's booking manager Beatrice Köhler kindly offered me the discount for 5 euros per night and it was a good deal.

Advantages:
- Great location - just 50 m from Kurfürstendamm U-bahn station, and 400 m from Zoologischer Garten S+U station. Also, bus 109 terminal stop is just nearby and TXL bus stop is near the Zoologischer Garten station, so there are no problems with getting to TXL airport
- A lot of cafes and shops are around. I can personally recommend "Vapiano" (Joachimstaler Str / Augsburger Str.) -- pasta and salads and "Alt Berliner Biersalon" (German cuisine and very good beers on tap, open round-the-clock, Kurfurstendamm 225-226)
- Very polite and helpful stuff, everyone speaks good English. They always willingly answer any of your questions: where to eat, where is the transport stop, weather forecast etc. Also, reception is open for 24 hr, so however late you are back to the hotel, you are always welcome.
- Clean and nicely decorated rooms with white color dominating in the room's design
- Storage room and changing room in case you arrived before the check-in name

Drawbacks:
1. No guest computer and printer. They have free wi-fi, but if you haven't brought your laptop with, you won't even be enable to learn the weather for today.
2. Breakfast is not included into the room price and it's rather pricey - 13 euro per person per day

Room Tip: We stayed in Art Room XS and Art Room regular. Regular room is more spacious and the bath is equippe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul_Gerber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a period of 4 days in April. It is VERY conveniently located on public transit from the airport (TXL). There is a U-bahn station (Kurfurstendamm) literally 100 meters from the hotel entrance, which you can very easily take to S+U Zoologischer Garten station (transfer to the X9 bus to TXL). There is also a bus stop at the corner of Kurfustendamm and Joachimstaler Strasse that takes you directly from TXL in less than 30 minutes (bus # 109).

The hotel is also located very close to Kurfurstendamm, the Berlin equivalent of NYC's 5th Avenue or Beverly Hills' Rodeo Drive. There are plenty of shops and restaurants around to keep you busy. There is also a grocery store across the street from the hotel, and 2 other grocery stores one stop away on the U-bahn at and near the Zoologischer Garten station.

The neighborhood was very quiet at night. We were in a room facing the courtyard, so we could hear birds chirping, but no street noise. From what we could tell, there were no black out curtains, so if you're sensitive to light, you may find yourself rising early every morning. The room, itself was clean, but a little small (we were in room 307). There was no closet, but there was a rod near the door to hang your clothes, along with a handful of hangers. There was also an in-room safe, a mini-bar (not complimentary) and a flat screen television. The room was simply decorated and had nice pieces of artwork. The room was also very modern and minimalist.

The bed was nice and large and we each had a blanket to ourselves. We slept comfortably - the beds were on the firmer side, but nice, and the pillows were nice and soft. We had plenty of power outlets near the bed, so we were never without power. The hotel also provided complimentary wifi access. You need to go downstairs to the reception desk to request the single-use codes (valid for 24 hours), but they allowed us to have multiple codes so we could use our iPad, iPod, and cellphones over wifi at the same time.

The bathroom was on the smaller side, but comfortable and clean. There was no tub, just a shower with a shower curtain. We managed to get the bathroom quite wet while we showered, but it was fine. The shower provided good water pressure and we always had nice, warm water. One great thing about the bathroom, though, was that there was plenty of counter space.

Overall, a very pleasant stay. An added touch was that we had a tray of complimentary fruit in our room upon our arrival, along with a note on the bed from management welcoming us to the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdxkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pori
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Great locations near public tranportations and Kudamm.
The room was small but well-equipped.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We had a wonderful time with my friend in Art otel (XS rooms). Reasonably good prices and worth every penny. Real nice service and great location to kudamm ubahn. Would come down to this great hotel and neighborhood if I return to berlin.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muratceyhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Found this hotel via Frommers website. Very good location - about 2 blocks from a metro station, walking distance of course to Kudamm, can walk from here to famous KaDeWa shopping center. It is an interesting hotel regarding the furnishings, art posted in the hotel and modern decor. The staff was very helpful. Upon check out, they were willing to keep our luggage in a locked office until time for our train departure. Would recommend this hotel.

Rated sleep as average only because hotel is located across a disco / bar which can get loud, but not too bad if one kept windows closed. Could ask for a room in the back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ligaya2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Stayed here in May '08 as part of trip throughout Europe. The hotel is close to the Zoo Garten train station, which serves both the S and U bahn so it's a good springboard to get around all of Berlin. The famous Kudamm and KaDeWe are extremely close by. Chose this hotel cause the photos seemed interesting and the price was right for the couple of nights we stayed in Berlin.

As soon as you walk into the lobby you know you're not at an old world hotel. The decor was kind of Warholesque. Splashes of color and eclectic furnishings make up the lobby. Check-in was quick and easy. The front desk personnel spoke English fairly well. We got our key and headed up to our room. The layout was basic and simple, but the decor seemed like something out of the '80s in a weird New Wave way. Very kitschy. Aside from the decor, the room was a comfortable size with a good bathroom. No bath, but shower was a good size to be able to move around in. The room came with 2 full size beds and seemed new as there was no give to them, but were quite comfortable. The entire room was clean and we never felt like there was anything that seemed out of place. Our room did face the street and there was a little bit of noise from the outside, but it seemed that one window wasn't closed properly so noise seeped in. Once we figured that out, we closed it correctly and the problem was solved.

Might try something else in the area next time, if the price is right, just to see what kind of rooms and services they offer.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beenaround73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
art'otel berlin kudamm
#174 of 634 in Berlin
911 reviews
Charlottenburg
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
#36 of 634 in Berlin
1,848 reviews
Charlottenburg
Lindner Hotel Am Ku'damm
Lindner Hotel Am Ku'damm
#83 of 634 in Berlin
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schoneberg
Ellington Hotel Berlin
Ellington Hotel Berlin
#134 of 634 in Berlin
990 reviews
Charlottenburg
NH Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Charlottenburg
Henri Hotel Berlin
Henri Hotel Berlin
#212 of 634 in Berlin
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Berlin Kudamm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Berlin Kudamm

Property: Park Plaza Berlin Kudamm
Address: Joachimsthaler Str. 28 - 29, 10719 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Art'otel Berlin Kudamm)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Plaza Berlin Kudamm 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Berlin's Joachimsthaler Strasse, Park Plaza Berlin Kudamm places guests at the heart of one of Europe's most inspiring cities. Iconic attractions such as the Berlin Zoological Garden, the Brandenburg Gate, the Bundestag and the KaDeWe department store are nearby, and the famous shopping street Kurfürstendamm is within walking distance. Culture vultures can immerse themselves in Berlin's plethora of galleries and museums, marvel at the modern architecture and soak up the wealth of live entertainment on offer. The hotel is also surrounded by examples of Berlin's rich history, including the Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church and the famous former royal hunting grounds, the Tiergarten, home to the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra. With 133 Double Rooms, Double Rooms with a courtyard view and Executive Rooms with a courtyard view, the hotel offers a combination of style, comfort and convenience. All rooms feature the latest in-room amenities such as air cooling, flatscreen TV and minibar, while free Wi-Fi enables guests to stay connected. The hotel's Bar Vostell is known for its cool décor, relaxing ambience and impeccably shaken cocktails, all of which can be accompanied by a variety of delicious snacks. The Garden Salon serves fresh buffet breakfast, the Garden Terrace is perfect for an al-fresco bite and in-room dining is available from 15:00 to 02:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza Berlin Kudamm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art`Otel Berlin Kudamm Hotel Berlin
Park Plaza Berlin
Berlin Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing