We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Styles Berlin an der Oper

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis Styles Berlin an der Oper
Ranked #203 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its close proximity to the Schiller Theatre as we were attending the opera. Although being next to the U-bahn with excellent connections to the airport and other parts of the city was also a deciding factor. It is 2 stops to the zoological gardens station which is a major transport hub for the city. The staff were very friendly and very understanding when I lost one of the room keys. The breakfast was adequate with a reasonable choice of dishes. Our room was on the 5th floor and to the back of the hotel so we were not troubled too much by the traffic noise from Bismarckstrasse; it being a main artierial route into the city which may annoy some people. I'dont know if the rooms on the front are double-glazed.
The hotel is also within a five to ten minute walk of many of the restaurants in the Charlottenburg district of the city, including Caffe Bocconi and Belmondo Restaurant numbers 2 and 9 respectively on Tripadvisor. This area is mainly residential so again may not suit some travellers but does give another aspect of life in the city. We would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    146
    50
    8
    4
See reviews for
66
80
29
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

When visiting Berlin it is mainly going to the opera, and this hotel is the best choise i know.
I have been there many times, and always been satisfied. Nice rooms and a fantastic crew.
You also meet other "opera-visitors" and breakfast may last longer than expected, due to
interesting discussions with completely strangers. I can only recommend this hotel for those
visiting Berlin.

Room Tip: Rooms to the South are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oddvar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Msk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed in this hotel just for one night due to it's position across the street to the Deutsche Oper that we visited. The hotel is located in an old building and you feel it's soul as you make your way through the corridor to your room. The room is strange: I guess the furniture was bought both in flea markets and IKEA. The worst thing that there is no ventilation in the room and bathroom but a window, which you can open when you start to choke. No air condition no air fan. Another thing which surprised us is a big red lamp in a bathroom ceiling. It turns on with a some kind of an old analog ticking timer which you turn on by turning it round and setting a time you want the lamp to work. Receptionist said that they do not know about the lamp and the purpose it serves. Also there is a strange way to turn in the hot water. It is an additional valve you have to turn on to have a hot water.
Finally, there is a New Testament book just in the rooms table.
There is no "do not disturb" sign in the room

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank PenguinoPenguini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Got a cheap 2 night deal pay for one night at EUR72. Less than 5 min walk after exiting the U-Bahn station of Deutsche Oper ( in English, an der Oper means " at the Opera " ). Apart from the Chinese, Italian and Japanese restaurants visible from the hotel, there are several cheap eats ( Thai and Chinese mainly ) if you walk behind the hotel for a few minutes. There are also cheap supermarkets, with Caesar Supermarket being in the same block as the hotel.

From Berlin TXL Tegel airport, it took me less than 30 minutes to reach the hotel. Bus X09 left Tegel airport to Ernst-Reuter-Platz U-Bahn station ( line U2 ), Same single ticket valid for transfer to the U2 line to Deutsche Oper U-Bahn station ( next stop ). It took me less than 10 minutes to reach Berlin Hauptbahnhof ( Berlin Main Station ) to catch my long distance train.

Staff spoke decent English and as an Accord Platinum member, gave me a drink voucher, claimable only during my stay and only in that establishment.

I stayed at Room 406, 4th floor where internet was OK. They had repeaters on every floor. There is a lift which is a relief for those with heavier luggage.

Breakfast was decent with bacon and eggs apart from the usual stuff. Hotel provides free serve-yourself coffee and tea daily until 10pm. Hotel also had free maps and other information useful for the first timer to Berlin.

Calls to local landlines were free ( non-premium numbers ) and my calls to Australian landlines were waived ( per call was at EUR0.30 ).

With Tageskarte ( Day Card ) for zones A and B, I could pretty much explore much of Berlin quickly ( there is also a Tageskarte for all Zones A, B, and C ) using public transit.

All in all, it was good value for money and well located.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
3 Thank lydiag93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

If you're going to Deutsche Oper, this is a good choice. 5 minutes walk. And the hotel is good value for money. Nice rooms, nice breakfast - and bar when you return from the opera,
2 minutes and you are ind the U-bahn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank LarsenKirsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

When I arrived at the hotel the woman on the reception desk was lovely. Informative about car parking and very pleasant.
It wasn't until the following morning, after a good nights sleep that I went down to breakfast for 0800. Two hotel employees were clearing up the breakfast crowd when I arrived, neither greeted me nor offered any hot drinks. I had tried to speak a bit of German to them but this didn't seem to help. In fact they went out of their way to avoid me. There was no hot food available, as it had already been eated, and because of the staff avoidance I was unable to request some more. However a German couple with a dog followed me in 10 minutes later and they were greeted warmly and offered tea or coffee.
Because of this I didn't bother with breakfast the following morning, and got out of there as quick as I could, opting to eat out at a cafe.
The location was great for the u-bahn with good connections to the s-bahn.

The whole breakfast thing left me feeling a little unwelcome, so I don't think that I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank ladyjane6313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Mitte
#105 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Charlottenburg
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West
Charlottenburg
Mercure Hotel Chateau
Mercure Hotel Chateau
#220 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Leonardo Hotel Berlin
Leonardo Hotel Berlin
#89 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Charlottenburg
Savoy Hotel Berlin
Savoy Hotel Berlin
#75 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Charlottenburg
Best Western Hotel Kantstrasse Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Berlin an der Oper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Berlin an der Oper

Property: Ibis Styles Berlin an der Oper
Address: Bismarckstrasse 100, 10625 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Comfort Hotel An der Oper)
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#151 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Berlin an der Oper 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free breakfast and WIFI are available at the ibis Styles Berlin an der Oper hotel. These services are complimentary at all ibis Styles hotels. Welcome to the traditional district of Charlottenburg: The ibis Styles Berlin an der Oper is located at the heart of Berlin City West, right by the Deutsche Oper and the subway station of the same name on line U2. Each of our 49 rooms has an individual design and offers comfort in modern surroundings. The bar serves drinks and snacks around the clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Styles Berlin an der Oper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Berlin
Comfort Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing