We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre
Ranked #94 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Checkin was fast and friendly and staff was helpful and most spoke English which was very helpful to me.

Room was on the smallish side but clean. Small flatscreen television (25 to 27inch would be my guess) with a decent selection of channels in multiple languages.

On the plus side the staff was professional and helpful at all times.

On the negative side there is no store or cafe on site or close by. The food was passable at best and they had very limited options for vegetarians (not surprising since the main hotel restaurant is a prime rib place) with 1 pasta dish on the menu. Everything felt dated and clausterphobic.

Frankly for the price I was expecting more.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Jeff C,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding customer service and cleanliness.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation for not having any convenient store and for the limited food selection. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

985 - 991 of 2,324 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel was comfortable,warm and the room had an extra bed in for our son. The staff were attentive and friendly.
The only down side was that the restaurant was overpriced and the pool was out of order during our stay.
The location is excellent for sightseeing and transport access.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor_Linhart, Manager at Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2016

Dear guest, thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience,
kind regards,
Gregor Linhart
Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Actually the title isn't totally fair. We stayed there for several days and breakfast was consistently good. However, one evening, following a late meeting, we decided to eat in the hotel's main restaurant, Wilsons, a US wide prime rib group. A big mistake. Our meal was overpriced and of questionable quality. My colleague ordered rib, I was not all that hungry so selected crab cake followed by a simple pasta. 19€ for a single crab cake seemed steep. My pasta arrived and was left sitting under it's fancy dome for nearly ten minutes while all attention was given to carving and eulogising over the rib. By the time all was revealed with a flourish the pasta was just hot and frankly not much to write home about - and again at 19€ seemed on the steep side - actually at 10€ it would have been on the steep side.
The rib arrived with several sauces, the hot ones being no longer hot by the time the meat had been carved and my colleague complained that while it was beautifully textured it was completely tasteless. To be fair the waiter did offer to replace it but by this time we had had it.
As to the rest of the hotel, good staff, comfortable and not much to complain about other than the fact that the fact that it may be possible to find smaller bath towels - but I doubt it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Designer_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albeck-Zehden, Manager at Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for your detailed feedback. We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your dinner in the restaurant during your stay with us. We regret that the quality of food and service could not fulfill your expectations and apologize for any inconvenience caused. As our goal is to consistently provide superior service and an excellent restaurant performance, your comments are very important to us.

The restaurant and its cuisine are positively rated in many other reviews and the incidents you had to experience, should be considered as an exception to the rule. We particularly appreciate your constructive criticism, which draws our attention to a weak point and welcome the opportunity to improve. Please be assured that we have already taken necessary actions in order to avoid similar situations in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here in januari. Check in was quick and convenient, but I did not get any info about Berlin, breakfast, public transportation. They did not recognize me as Priorityclub Platinum member! Room was big and spacious, bathroom was dated. Airco did not do a great job. I had set the temperature at about 20 degrees Celsius, but the room was very warm, I had to open a window to get a good night sleep. Breakfast was ok. Location is great, Bahnhof Zoo is a 10 minute stroll and the 100 and 200 busstops ( brings you everywear in Berlin ) were just around the corner.The pool in the basement was nice, but the water was a little bit too cold for my little daughter.Overall was the experience just ok. The hotel is a little bit dated as well.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy_from_Holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Wendy_from_Holland,

Thank you for taking the time to leave our property a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We apologize for any inconvenience brought about by the air conditioning unit, pool water and condition of the property. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments. We hope to have the chance of serving you soon and provide you with a better experience.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed there for a couple of nights and its a hotel were you sleep and nothing else. It has a good location near K-damm and its clean. We got a room with a view to a grey alley - so not much there. The content of the minibar, were equipped with beverages who was to old, and we tried something really weird: First the maid came in to our room without knocking, next someone else came and knocked on our door who had tampons with her and the third time that lady also just bursted into our room without knocking - so that made us thinking wtf are this hotel. We got kind off scared of. You also have to pay for the internet - wich is in 2013 a mockery like charging for getting towels on the room.
Breakfast are also dull, its a crowdy room and they dont really fill things up and the staff there are indifferent to you - so skip it.
So location, its clean are the only good things actually, the rest.... well its a no from me.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albeck-Zehden, Manager at Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for your feedback concerning your stay at our hotel. We deeply regret that you did not enjoy your time with us and want to apologize for all inconveniences caused.
Our location directly in the heart of the city guarantees for our guests a “Berlin of short distances”, where all points of interest can be reached very quickly and comfortably, but also implies that rooms are located to the street. Please be informed that we also offer a considerable number of rooms which are located to the quiet, green courtyard side.

The behavior of our housekeeping staff you described does of course not correspond to the high standards and service quality of our hotel and we want to apologize again for the repeated disturbance.

Please be assured that the incidents you had to experience during breakfast should be considered as an exception to the rule and are not the norm. In many other reviews our breakfast, as well as the service and friendliness of our staff, were positively rated.

As our goal is to consistently provide superior service and accommodation your feedback is very important to us. We will discuss your comments with the heads of the departments involved in order to make sure that such incidents will not be repeated in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Hotel is well located in berlin, and a few mins walk from the train/Underground. There are a lot of shops nearby, and a few mins walk and you can reach some big dept stores.

The room was clean and hotel was well presented. i took the option of free wireless Internet, which was high speed and very reliable.

The pool is a bit small, but still good to have after a days work. I would recommend this hotel to travellers who want to be located close to the town centre

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanatabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor_Linhart, Manager at Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2016

Dear guest, thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience,
kind regards,
Gregor Linhart
Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I arrived at this hotel with no luggage for a two day business stay, the luggage was lost by the airline. The staff were extremely helpful with advice about where I could purchase certain items. The restaurant was a bit expensive, but the steak was good. The lounge food was excellent value for money. The room was nice, a bit tired, but clean. The five plus TV stations in English was a real bonus. I didn't get to try the gym/pool this time but will next.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davcol_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor_Linhart, Manager at Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2016

Dear guest, thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience,
kind regards,
Gregor Linhart
Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Crowne Plaza Berlin - Potsdamer Platz
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#30 of 635 in Berlin
1,941 reviews
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
InterContinental Berlin
InterContinental Berlin
#29 of 635 in Berlin
2,493 reviews
Charlottenburg
Pestana Berlin Tiergarten
Pestana Berlin Tiergarten
#53 of 635 in Berlin
931 reviews
Charlottenburg
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
#36 of 635 in Berlin
1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre

Address: Nuernberger Strasse 65, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#46 Family Hotel in Berlin
#72 Business Hotel in Berlin
#73 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#88 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $99 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre is located in the center of Berlin only a few steps away from the famous boulevard Kurfuerstendamm, the well-known department store KaDeWe, the Kaiser-Wilhelm-Memorial Church and the Zoological Garden. The Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre with 423 comfortably appointed rooms including 11 suites, provide all the comforts. Non smoking floors and accessible rooms as well as a 24-hour room service and a business center are also available.The wellness area in the Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre with indoor pool, sauna, solarium, extensive offers of massage and a fitness section with a wide variety of endurance and and weight-lifting machines are suited to accomodate guests needing to relax. The Wilson's restaurant with its international cuisine pampers the discerning gourmet with culinary delights. In the beer pub Pinte savoury regional dishes are served. The Kemmons Bar offers a variety of cocktails and snacks. 14 Meeting rooms including the conference center with natural lighting and an integrated ceiling height of 4,50m can accommodate functions up to 1.000 Delegates. W-LAN/High Speed Internet Access are available in all areas of the Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Berlin
Crowne Plaza City Center
Crowne Plaza Berlin
Hotel Crown Plaza Berlin
Crown Plaza Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing