We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Savoy Hotel Berlin”
Review of Savoy Hotel Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Savoy Hotel Berlin
Ranked #75 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The hotel is excellent and the staff are very helpful. However I will never visit this hotel again as the Bar is a cigar shop. The whole hotel smelt of cigars and there was nowhere that was smoke free (apart from outside) where i could sit and relax and enjoy a drink/pass the time of day. It is a real shame because i really did like the hotel part. I will rate this as poor value purely because of the constant cigar smoke.

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel B, Leiter Front Office at Savoy Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Mike N.,

thanks a lot for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our Savoy Hotel Berlin. We are pleased, that you think that our hotel is excellent and that you were satisfied with our very helpful staff.

But of course we are really sorry to hear, that you are not planning to stay with us again. Actually most of our hotel premises and rooms are non-smoking. We only have a few smoking rooms available. It´s right, that our Times Bar is a smoking bar, which is directly connected to the hotel lobby. We try to keep the door to the bar always closed and there is also a strong ventilation and three air intake filters installed at the Times Bar to minimize the odour. But unfortunately sometimes, as during your visit, smoke can reach our hotel lobby. We are sorry for any inconvenience and currently improving the ventilation system to make sure that the smoke stays inside the bar at all times.

We hope you enjoyed your Berlin visit.

Best regards,
Your Savoy Berlin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (955)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 955 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed in this hotel on a business trip and was given a single bed room which
was very small, with aged furnishings, and sticky since there is no air-condition ing in this hotel, I was told. This tiny chambermaids room cost 106.00-135.00 Euro a night, depending on the day of the week. Breakfast was decent but not great - no freshly baked cakes, for example. There is also no fitness room or pool. The area is a 10 minute walk from the Zoo train station, with lots of building sites all around. There are better and cheaper modern hotels close by.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank cata33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel B, Leiter Front Office at Savoy Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear cata33,

thanks a lot for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at our Savoy Hotel.
We are really sorry, that you were not entirely satisfied with our hotel and we couldn´t meet your expectations. Out hotel was opened in 1929 and brings the Berlin of a bygone era back to life without sacrificing modern comforts. Our premises were refurbished in 2005 and our whole team is consistently keeping the hotel in a perfect condition and we especially put a lot of work in the maintenance of our antique furniture.

We offer 3 different room categories, which range in size and amenities. On our 6th floor for example, we offer 4 Single Rooms with air-conditioning. 2 of them provide a single bed with a size of 90cm and the other 2 a single bed with a size of 120cm. Please always let us know your preferences, so that we can allocate a suitable room for you. Our rates differ from day to day, depending if there are fares or other events taking place. We always offer specials, which you can check on our website. At the moment, we have a spring sale- if you stay 2 nights or more, you can save 20%.

We don´t offer a pool, but for colder days we provide a Finnish Sauna. We also provide a small fitness area with exercise equipment. Moreover our hotel is located close to Tiergarten – one of Europe’s largest inner city parks with a lot of jogging routes. At our reception desk you can receive a map with all these routes. If you wish, you can also book a personal trainer who accompanies you.

We hope you enjoyed your Berlin visit!

Best regards,
Your Savoy Berlin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

slightly aged but very charming atmosphere, staff well trained causing the impression, the guests are members of a larger family rather than just guest; very good dining facilities, good food and a wide selection of beverages; lobby and especially the Havanna Lounge with excellent selection of cigars and cocktails is worth staying whenever there is time - expect to meet people from all around the globe; take your time there - next time you are around

Room Tip: reserve a room not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Hotel has a good location.
Check-in was professional and fast
Check-out similar, (they overcharged the parking fees, but it was adjusted)
Room not bad, but shows its age.
You have to visit the cigar bar on the ground floor, if you like that sort of thing. Large selection of cigars and good service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monty8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This was my fourth stay at Savoy. I really enjoy the clean rooms and service minded personell. The cigar bar next to the hotel is super, if you enjoy that kind of thing. Otherwise you might not like the smell of cigars in almost all parts of the hotel. The surroundings are perfect with everything you need in an armlengths distance (Banhof Zoo, Ku-damm, Berliner Kafferösterei, KDW and more). You get a lot of hotel for a relatively small amount of money. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henrik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

First of all, if the smell of cigars is a negative for you don't go here. Otherwise, I love this place. I have stayed here around four times and every person who works here is a top notch person. People genuinely seem to like working here and they give a high level of service. Savoy serves mostly European business travelers from my perspective.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lostmywalletagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

I took my husband to berlin this week for his 60th birthday and stayed at the Savoy. we were very well looked after. I paid for half board and was not disappointed. Superior room spacious. nothing too much trouble for waiters/waitresses. large and varied selection for breakfast. plenty of restaurants to eat by hotel. Hotel is in a central position for all attractions. 5 minute walk from station and Zoo. Take the airport express from schonefeld airport for 3.20 euros takes 35 mins. Recommend the sightseeing bus for 1 day to get your bearings it only takes five mins to walk 2 blocks from hotel to board. used the public transport or walked for rest of trip. if you like shopping there are plenty of shops. do not miss the view from television tower over the whole city.

Room Tip: choose a room on the road side of hotel not inside looking over court yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Lindner Hotel Am Ku'damm
Lindner Hotel Am Ku'damm
#81 of 635 in Berlin
675 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Indigo Berlin - Ku'damm
Charlottenburg
NH Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Charlottenburg
Hotel OTTO
Hotel OTTO
#16 of 635 in Berlin
1,255 reviews
Charlottenburg
Swissotel Berlin
Swissotel Berlin
#37 of 635 in Berlin
2,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel Berlin

Address: Fasanenstr. 9-10, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#86 Business Hotel in Berlin
#106 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#132 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $89 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Savoy Hotel Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1929, the Savoy Hotel Berlin lies just a few minutes' walk from the busy Kurfürstendamm, Berlin’s famous elegant promenade. Celebrities like Maria Callas, Romy Schneider, Greta Garbo, Helmut Newton and the famous German writer Thomas Mann were regular guests. They all valued the hotel’s atmosphere and unobtrusive service. Today the Savoy is still synonymous with style, discretion and hospitality. The classical premises were refurbished in 2005 and its original features restored to their former glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savoy Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Savoy Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing