We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very personal approach to contemporary art”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sammlung Hoffman

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sammlung Hoffman
Ranked #328 of 806 things to do in Berlin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This art museum houses one of Berlin's best collections of modern works.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A very personal approach to contemporary art”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Just spent one morning in the actual exhibition, and was very excited, and my curiosity grew over time. My daughter Sophie (16) told me later that she could still see every single piece we had seen in front of her inner eye - I think this is the ultimate compliment. I would like to thank Erika Hoffmann and her team from my heart for making those very special experiences possible!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joerg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampstead, London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I loved the intimate tour in the Hoffman's beautiful home with their extensive collection of modern art. Actually it was more of a discussion of what you saw in each piece, how it made you feel, etc. It was very sensitively hung. I will definately go again, as Erika changes the exhibits each year. Very interesting and I loved the boutiques and cafes around that very central area that used to have factories and accommodation for the workers.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank UltimateTraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Private art gallery: Sammlung Hoffman”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

This gallery is only open to the public on Saturdays. You have to book prior to showing up and although I attempted and failed to do this they still allowed me to join the English speaking tour. The guide was extremely knowledgable and friendly. The gallery is in the Hoffman residence and it takes up two floors of the building. The tour lasts for 11/2 hours. The works include those by William Kentridge, Basquiat, Ron Murek, with many German and Japanese artists as well. An extensive collection. A memorable experience

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Highlight of my trip”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

this is a real hidden gem - a private contemporary art collection that is housed in a (quasi) domestic setting, that you must book in advance. Private collections have an enjoyable way of meandering through the personal tastes of the collectors over time, and this is no different. The exhibition rotates every year, but in 2012 they had some great work from Basquiat, Warhol, Kentridge, Richter, Frank Stella and many many more besides.
You can only go on Saturdays, and must join a guided tour, but if you like contemporary art, or architecture, this is a must see. Wonderful staff too.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank stranded_aoife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammlung Hoffman also viewed

 

Been to Sammlung Hoffman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing