We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Mexican restaurant”
Review of Santa Maria

Santa Maria
Ranked #349 of 8,445 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Kreuzberg
Description: Santa Maria is the biggest and busiest Mexican restaurant in Berlin. Santa Maria has a tradition of typical Mexican street food with favourites such as tacos al pastor and chilaquiles, with a full bar offering a range of mezcales, tequilas and cocktails. Santa Maria is famous for Taco Tuesdays (offering 1€ tacos and tequilas), a pumping atmosphere, fast service and late nights on weekends.
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nice Mexican restaurant”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Nice Mexican restaurant. Really friendly staff, good prices, good portions and really tasty food. Our whole group of 5 left this place completely satisfied.

Helpful?
Thank thelastdreg
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    133
    46
    15
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, great drinks and great atmosphere”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

A relatively small room is filled with dining tables, a bar (with additional seating) and a modest kitchen area. Rather than wait for a table, we accepted a seat at the bar, and found ourselves right in the heart of this buzzing little venue. The staff were really friendly, and chatted to us while serving drinks and choosing music (which, in my opinion, was also very good). The drinks list was considerable for a place so small, and included a number of margaritas as part of the "happy hour". Our meals were delicious, and the portion sizes were generous - it wasn't the best mexican/ tex-mex food I've ever eaten, but I'll let them off having seen the size of their kitchen! Although it might not suit everyone, for us it was the perfect place to grab a bite to eat and some drinks at the start of an evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank _missmackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent food, small tables”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

The Mexican food here is awesome! Very tasty and delicate, and also served relatively fast. The frozen margarithas are very good as well. The restaurant itself is small and somewhat crowded, the tables are small and the experience would be better in a more spacey room. If you want great food but dont care too much about surroundings, this is your place!

Helpful?
Thank Norway5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Social place with so so food”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

the curious looking logo attracted my attention. i finally made it there last night with a good friend. we had some coronas and tried the tacos from their menu which is not very creative in my opinion. the tacos tasted ok but it was nothing special. i thought i will be more stunned by the food than the interior. the staff was young and friendly. santa maria is a good place to catch a beer and chat with your friends... you can even meet new people as you sit very close to others.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank imichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great drinks, food and service.”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I have fallen in love with this place.

Alright, so it's not your authentic classical Mexican food but it's amazing.

The burritos and tacos (only soft shell) are great and the portions are pretty big.

The margaritas were also pretty tasty and packed a punch. They were pretty decent for 5 Euro in Berlin where you'd get the average cocktail for 6.50.

The service was also great, the waitresses super friendly and the food shows up in no time.

Some might like the atmosphere, but some might hate it. It's usually full up with a little wait for a table. Non smoking, but always packed, you'll hear your fair share of languages, so it's not just Berliners in here but tourists as well.

Really felt like this restaurant captures the spirit of Berlin while providing top quality food and drinks.

Warning: don't take their spice meter for granted, I ordered the spiciest thing on the menu thinking it was German spice standards but I was in for a surprise.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juramania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Maria also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing