We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Genuine German pub with great food and beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dicke Wirtin

Dicke Wirtin
Ranked #41 of 8,291 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $21
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Pub, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Genuine German pub with great food and beer”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

If you are looking for unpretentious and not "touristy" place to experience real German food and pub atmosphere - this is it. Conveniently located yet off the main street, with a genuine local pub atmosphere. Excellent outdoor seating (weather permitting) on a quiet street, great authentic food - from salted herrings to roasted pork with sauerkraut, good selection of beers. Very reasonable prices.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IliaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,015
    667
    123
    32
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Missouri
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very German, very good”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Dickie Wirtin's was very close to our B&B in Berlin and was recommended by the B&B. We ate there twice. The first time for lunch and we chose the sidewalk seating. I had delicious German-style potato soup, with bread of course; and my husband had the weiner schnitzel. It was also very good. Like most restaurants in Germany, my bottled water was more pricy than my husband's beer! But the water was so necessary! On our last night in Germany we decided to go back to Dickie's for one final "German" meal. We ate inside (temps had cooled down). It is a very German-like bar with some seating for dining. We eat early so when we saw all of the reserved signs on tables, we asked. They were all for after 7pm! We ate and were done well before the reserved times. (This happened in more than one restaurant. If you see it in a German restaurant, ask. They can usually fit you in.) At our evening meal, we both enjoyed a German beer. I tried the schnitzel and my husband got the beef with onions. My schnitzel hung off the sides of a 12" plate! No way could I eat all of it! It came with potato salad (not my favorite, but good), a small salad on the plate, and a small cup of gerhkin pickles, sliced. Very delicious! A good memory of Berlin and Germany.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyRock2_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“German bar with good value food”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Dick Wirtin is very popular with tourists so it is probably best to book. It is really a bar which serves traditional German food from a fairly small menu. The portions are huge so make sure you are ready to eat when you go. I ordered roast beef with onions as over our stay in Berlin I was feeling quite porked out. Unfortunately the beef was so tough I couldn't cut through it. The meal was exchanged without fuss and with good grace. The replacement was far superior. My partner had roast pork with red cabbage and potato dumplings. No complaints there except for being unable to eat it all due to the portion size.
Service is a bit haphazard but willing. The place was quite busy when we went.
The cost is good value but it isn't really a fine dining experience. You get what you pay for I suppose. We sat outside as the inside was hot and stuffy. The interior has seen better days but it seems to thrive as a traditional bar rather than an up market eatery.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields
Level Contributor
186 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good genuine experience”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This restaurant (pub style) was quite close to our hotel (Am Steinplatz - see rave review) and was recommended by the concierge when we asked for somewhere traditional.
Very busy when we arrived and hot inside, we managed to secure a table. Our waiter was excellent throughout, giving recommendations on the food and the beer. We skipped mains having been warned about the portion size, and enjoyed immensely the [huge] schnitzel, and the roast pork with red cabbage and dumplings. The table adjacent to us fell into the trap of ordering mains and sides - which prompted some friendly banter when the two of them were faced with a mountain of food to eat.
Highly recommended for a genuine experience and great value.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harbmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
225 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great service, nice ambience, big portions, good food”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We loved the local charm, the interior, the food and the price level was very fair. The only thing we didn't like was the live music being played which was a bit disturbing if you wanna talk.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dicke Wirtin also viewed

 

Been to Dicke Wirtin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing