We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Captivating!”

Berliner Unterwelten
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.05*
and up
Berlin WelcomeCard Including Deutsches Currywurst Museum Admission
Ranked #21 of 369 Tours in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Berlin from below... Descend with us! Experience the history of Berlin from an unconventional perspective! Since 1999, the Berlin Underworlds Association has been offering regular tours into some of the most important underground structures in the city. Although the majority of our tours are in or near Gesundbrunnen station in the north of Berlin, we also offer tours in several other subterranean complexes that are otherwise not publicly accessible.
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Captivating!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The underground tour through the bunkers was amazing! Surprisingly good. The II world war and the cold war period is definitely not my favourite part of the world history but somehow this excursion open my eyes to a new perspective of the dark times when Berlin suffered. It really is a excelent tour for who loves european history but it's also great for who wants to understand what truly happened during this time. If you're considering taking this tour (which I seriously advise you to) choose Simon to be your guide, he's great!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro_Afonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,254
    305
    48
    21
    26
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good tour”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Totally recommendable, a thrilling tour in the Berlin undergrounds and bunkers. We did tour 3 with Simon as a guide and it was great!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Harp0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unexpected, enthralling”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We did the Dark Worlds air raid shelter tour - much much bigger place than you'd think, a real warren. Excellent guide, absolutely made the tour with his knowledge and humour. Tours available in German, English, Spanish (possibly more) which isn't obvious from their website - you need to get on the one you can understand!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent tour, insightful guide and good value”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We went on Tour 1 - the "Dark Worlds" tour, which takes in a WW2 civilian air-raid shelter built into Gesundbrunnen Station. The location is easy to find and tickets cost 10 euros each for adults. Sean, our guide, was incredibly knowledgeable about the shelter which is - in itself - a little bare, but has been filled with interesting objects and artefacts by the Underworlds team - many of which would have originally belonged in a similar setting. There are some excellent examples of Nazi paraphernalia, all excavated from various ruins that the Underworld team have explored. The tour lasts for around an hour and a half and is suitable for all ages and levels of fitness, so long as you can walk up and down stairs. Children may get a little bored and there is nothing interactive, but for teenagers upwards, this is an excellent way to spend the morning. The only downside is that no photography is permitted, owing to complaints from the owners of various items inside the bunker who loan them to the Underworld Association.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bogwoppit82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringsted, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best tour in Berlin”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I lived in Berlin for half a year during an internship, and had loads of time on my own + with visitors from back home. This was the absolute best place to take my friends if they were just a bit interested in history.

They do tours in many languages, though I have only done them in english and german. All very well informed, talkative and fun :)

Tour 1 - Dark Worlds is highly recommended for a "first time" visit, since it's fairly long, you see a lot, and there are many "fun facts"/interesting tid-bits of information.

Tour 2 and 3 are also very good, but you need to be intereseted in the history "behind" for these two tours to be good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne_Nellemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berliner Unterwelten also viewed

 

Been to Berliner Unterwelten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing