We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this”

Berliner Unterwelten
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.61*
and up
Berlin WelcomeCard Including Deutsches Currywurst Museum Admission
Ranked #21 of 369 Tours in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Berlin from below... Descend with us! Experience the history of Berlin from an unconventional perspective! Since 1999, the Berlin Underworlds Association has been offering regular tours into some of the most important underground structures in the city. Although the majority of our tours are in or near Gesundbrunnen station in the north of Berlin, we also offer tours in several other subterranean complexes that are otherwise not publicly accessible.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't miss this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

It took two days to get a ticket for this tour and it was worth the hassle of going back to the site twice. These tours are given by volunteer architects, historians, etc. who know their stuff and are interested in their history. The tours are long, but feel short. The bunker history is the history of the WWII in Berlin and nothing is left untouched by the tour guides. We brought two boys, ages 9 and 11 and they loved the tour. Go early. Stand in line for the tickets. If you like history, you will love this tour.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,256
    307
    48
    21
    26
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“An excellent tour!! Dark Worlds, Tour 1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I saw this advertised online and immediately made sure that we made time to go on this tour. We opted for Dark Worlds and our guide was fantastic. She was funny, very knowledgeable and incredibly passionate about her work (it was she who was selected to go to Kiev and give a reparation payment to a slave worker whose details were found within company records deep underground).
It really is amazing to walk in a bunker and see the paint, the signs and the artifacts exactly as they were during WW2. And when the trains thunder overhead, you can almost imagine what it must of been like, crowded together and hearing the bombs burst nearby...
There are a great deal of display cases with guns, helmets, toys and personal effects that have been found in the bunker, but it was the bunker itself that amazed me - the network of rooms, the capacity signs, the phosphorescent paint that still works to this day... This is a great tour, I highly recommend it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Probably the most interesting WWII site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

For some reason the underground tours do not get the proper public relations in the tourist guides.
The WWII tour (No. 1) is a vivid example of real life during the war and it lightens aspects that are usually not presented.
The tours are limited in number, so come 30 minutes prior to the scheduled tour in order to get tickets.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JKRIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Informative and Interesting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We went on this tour on Friday and it was brilliant. Our guide, Sion, was amazing- sarcastically funny when appropriate, but incredibly knowledgable. We learned a fair bit in the 90min tour. It was only 10 euros, so well worth it. I would also recommend paying the extra 5 euros for the guidebook as you can't take photos and it gives even more information and expands on some of the stories you find out on the tour. I don't want to give too much away, just so you have to go on this tour! It is definitely worthwhile.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PixieButcher1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
“WAUW!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

The best experience i had in my whole Berlin trip, the ultimate best guide one could ever imagine.

When we decided on this tour we weren't sure what to expect, but our English guide was the best ever, he was funny but without making fun of the wrong things, he told so many stories about the place and had such good insight in the history of the place, and even outside his area of expertise.

I would recommend this to everyone even close to Berlin, go there, you will not regret.
Thank you Sean, you are the best, keep up your fantastic work!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dianna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berliner Unterwelten also viewed

 

Been to Berliner Unterwelten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing