We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Berlin
Ranked #68 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I've spent 2 nights with my wife at that wonderful place around the New Year's Eve at everything was just perfect from the check-in to the check-out. The employees are very polite and helpful and the Executive Lounge is agreat special place too.
The hotel is very well located in the center of the city within walking distance of the main landmarks and the shopping facilities.

Room Tip: if you have the opportunity to book a room with access to the executive lounge, I would definitively...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgerwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,921 - 1,927 of 4,717 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

Like most other reviewers, one of the big bonuses for this hotel is their location. You really can't beat it. There's a subway system entrance (forgot the name) immediately to your left when you walk out the front and the sights (such as Checkpoint Charlie) are - literally - only blocks away. Also, they have a great breakfast buffet (opens at 7:00, I believe) that's truly fantastic. Get there early to get a good window seat.

The issue I had with this hotel was the fact that since it was a Hilton (and, yes, you'll be paying "Hilton prices"), I felt they skimped on a bunch of stuff. Wi-Fi (or any internet connection, for that matter) was hard to come by, the heating/cooling system wasn't much to write home about, had to ask/beg the front counter for more pillows, the service of the staff was iffy (never knew if they'd be helpful or cop an attitude), and their breakfast "buffet" in the lobby (prior to the big breakfast buffet opening up) was a joke - one carafe of coffee, one of orange juice, and, like, 3 apples. It was pointless, really. I just felt like, "This is a Hilton - why am I having to ask for ANY of this stuff?"

The lobby is nice (a bit outdated, but nice) but the hotel rooms themselves are atrocious - they seriously need to update/refurbish the place. And, again, since it's a Hilton, I really expected a better looking room.

Overall, I wouldn't stay there again. There are plenty of hotels around that area that don't charge so much.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anja_Tuccio, Executive Secretary at Hilton Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

We were very sorry to learn that your stay with us did not match your expectations and have of course discussed your comments with the relevant departmental managers. In as far as the hotel lobby and the guest rooms are concerned, which you describe as outdated, we would like to point out that we the Hilton Berlin has undergone a complete renovation programme only two years ago and we were therefore a little surprised by this comment. Our breakfast restaurant opens at 7 a.m., however, if there are guests which need to depart extremely early in the day, we offer to prepare "breakfast to go" or set up a little early bird breakfast in the lobby. You are certainly right that the choice of items on this early bird breakfast buffet is limited and does not compare to our usual selection of hot and cold breakfast items on the buffet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We particularly liked the very comfortable executive lounge which provides a cut-down buffet breakfast but more attractive for us, tea & excellent cakes in the afternoon and snacks & drinks in the evening. A previous stay in London excluded us from the exec. lounge despte our HH gold status. It would be nice if other Hiltons in Europe followed Berlin's lead.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ottobickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Grocery/market, transport (U2 and U6), tourist sights a short walk. Lots of Americans who don't want to wander around the city hover around the lobby. Superb decorations, spacious room. Met other pleasant guests in hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MZaidi227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed in December 2013 for four nights. We have been to Berlin before and stayed in a cheaper hotel, a little further out of the centre, but decided to pay a bit more for a better location. The hotel is right in the Gendarmenmarkt, a beautiful square, and as it was Christmas there was a wonderful Christmas market on it which was very handy for Glühwein stops. The Stadtmitte U-bahn station is on the doorstep serving U2 and U6 lines. Only a couple of stops to Potsdamer Platz and five to Alexanderplatz. It's just a five minute walk to Unter den Linden.

The hotel itself was spotless, warm and very inviting after a day sightseeing in the cold. The basic rooms were spacious enough, again warm and clean, have great bathrooms, robes and super comfy king size beds. English TV channels are available.

We had breakfast included and it was fabulous. My partner really enjoyed his made to order omelettes and I alternated between cooked and continental breakfasts.

Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

We love Berlin and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

This hotel looks nice on the surface, but in reality the experience was extremely inconsistent. The good service we received from a few was outweighed by more than one surprisingly poor experiences. A few members of the staff bordered on just plain rude. The hotel seems to position itself as an upscale establishment, but the reality is there is work to do on the service front.

1  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I have just returned from Berlin after spending 4 nights at the Hilton. I hate to write a bad review but I feel there are elements that really should be addressed, especially as this is supposed to be a 5* hotel. It's right for people to be aware of these issues.

1) The water from the taps is yellow which I'm sure not many people would drink. Bearing this in mind you'd have thought the hotel would provide complementary water - they don't! I ordered a bottle from room service as I was dying of thirst - almost 10 euros a bottle!!!! MADNESS and completely unacceptable. Access to clean water is a human right.

2) The air conditioning does not work making the room too hot and stuffy. If you add this to lack of water - it's practically like prison. Some other friends were also staying at the hotel and they all had the same problem (Three rooms in total). Heat or nothing - 5*? really?

3) Service in the bar area is horrendous. The staff are not friendly. On one occasion I waited 30 minutes for a single glass of orange juice. On other occasions friends ordered food and again had to wait an unacceptable amount of time. When they did arrive there wasn't even an apology!

As far as a room experience this hotel is certainly not 5*. Yes there is a great spa and pool but there are basic elements that are just not right. To be balanced, I do have to say that the reception staff were very friendly and helpful - maybe they could train the bar staff? The location of the hotel is great with a metro stop practically outside. But, would I stay here again.... never

Hilton - please don't post some generic apology. Action must be taken to address these serious issues. ACTION!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anja_Tuccio, Executive Secretary at Hilton Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

We were very sorry to read that you had such a disappointing stay with us and will action accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#17 of 633 in Berlin
3,163 reviews
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#21 of 633 in Berlin
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Westin Grand Berlin
The Westin Grand Berlin
#117 of 633 in Berlin
2,913 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#23 of 633 in Berlin
1,996 reviews
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Berlin

Address: Mohrenstrasse 30, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Berlin
#23 Family Hotel in Berlin
#27 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#48 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#54 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#57 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $100 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 601
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Hilton Hotel
Hilton Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing