We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and excellent location”
Review of Hilton Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Berlin
Ranked #57 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great value and excellent location”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

After doing an exhaustive search for all hotels around Berlin, I landed on the Hilton, although I was not sure how it was going to turn out. First off, the location is MUCH better than what it seems on a map. Almost all major attractions were within a 15-20mins walk, so we didn't need to use the subway/metro. The hotel is also located on a major square, which is beautiful and has some cafes around it, and which is also a stop on all of the city tour buses, so that's convenient. The hotel itself is very nice - seems new and recently renovated. The rooms were nice and very tastefully decorated, and the breakfast was EXHAUSTIVE - I've never seen so many options! The service was what I expected - not bad, but I didn't feel they went above and beyond. While there is no wifi in the rooms, there is wifi in the lobby, which is also tastefully decorated and a nice place to hang out. (The 1hr limit isn't really a limit - just input the password again). Overall, I'd recommend this hotel, especially for the price compared to other hotels I had research, as it was solid.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,282
    1,540
    382
    134
    57
See reviews for
674
1,731
309
1,049
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
88 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed here for a week during the long, hot summer of 2013. My room, overlooked the German Cathedral in the Gendarmenmarkt. More importantly, however (if you like classical music), the hotel is eighty metres away from the Konzerthaus: one of the premier locations for orchestral performances in Berlin. The music played there is of a very high calibre indeed and the admission prices are fixed at a level designed to enable ordinary people to enjoy virtuouso performances of some fine pieces of music.

When I arrived in the Hilton around midnnight, I had a sudden hankering for a Wiener Schnitzel with traditional potato salad and a Berliner Kindl beer. I needed comfort food because my flight from Dublin and transit into Berlin itself had been quite troublesome. So, when the chef rustled me us this food at such a late hour, I was really grateful to him and consumed the midnight feast with gusto.

There is also a casual restaurant in the lobby of the hotel. The food served there is good as opposed to great. The same is true of the breakfasts which did not quite compare with the amazing feasts prepared in the Westin Hotel in Berlin. However, the Westin charges a lot of money to use its computing facilities. Whereas the Hilton on Gendarmenmarkt on the other hand, allows its guests to access it computers free of charge. Having been hit with a bill of about Euro 100 for using the computers in the Westin three months ago, it was great to be able to avail of the Hilton computers without paying a single cent.

There is an outdoor bar adjacent to the Konzerthaus in the Gendarmenmarkt. It is a very pleasant place in which to sip a drink in the interval between classical performances at the Konzerthaus. There is also a superb chocolate-oriented cafe and restaurant on one of the corners of the Gendarmenmarkt. Sadly, its name eludes me. But, if you like chocolate it is a must see. Ask the concierge and he will point you in the right direction.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Insightful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Spent 2 nights in this central hotel in Berlin.(7 euros taxi from central station). On arrival we were greeted by a very warm welcome. Our bags were efficiently taken to our rooms, and we were delighted to learn that we were given an upgrade. (This was a lovely touch as we had had problems with a previous Hilton in the Uk and they had communicated with the hotel in Berlin and we were given an upgrade) This was a lovely touch and very much appreciated.

The room was looking over the busy square, but it is worth noting that there was no noise heard in our room. The room itself was spacious as was the bathroom. To nit pick- the pillows were a bit on the tough side and there was no complimentary water offered which is something I really think should be a given in a 5 star hotel.

The breakfast was good. Lovely continental style and hot buffet was served. As a plus, a lovely selection of teas was on offer. Good fruit and cheese selection.

The lobby was the centre of much hustle and bustle and there was beautiful live music in the evenings. The decor throughout the hotel is modern but classic.

The leisure centre could be improved! Small pool! No jacuzzi or steam room or sauna??! Instead they do offer what looks like a beautiful "relaxation area" but this is 13.50£ to enter. Considering there is a general mixed one, a nudist mixed one, and a separate male and female version surely they could have made one free of charge??On the plus side, it was spotless.

This hotel is situated in the heart of Berlin. It is in a fantastic location. Most of the top attractions are within walking distance, the underground is right outside the door, and there are always numerous taxis outside the hotel that really are pretty reasonably priced.

Overall, this is a great hotel for both business and pleasure. The staff do a great job and make you feel very welcomed, and the breakfast is of a good standard. Would certainly go again.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel offers a great view, at no cost to your sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barryire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
165 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

You will not find any Old World European ambiance here, but you will find efficiency and a great location -- e.g., right across the street from an amazing chocolate store with huge chocolate scultures, only a few minutes walk from Checkpoint Charlie, and right at the City Center subway station. An excellent breakfast was included in our room rate -- hot dishes that Americans like, sliced meats and cheeses in the European way, plus fruit, delicious breads and much more. We had a deluxe room, well worth the additional cost when we saw how small the regular rooms are, and it was very quiet. Only negative was the heat in the room. The thermostat did not work and we were very much too hot for comfortable sleep, as were our traveling companions in other rooms. We were told the Germans like their rooms hot! This would not have been such a problem with different bed linens, but all we had on the bed was a duvet -- no sheet that would have provided a lighter touch. The lobby lounge was very good for lunch and is a great people-watching site. My Caeser salad with shrimp was excellent, with a generous helping of large shrimp, and my husband liked his clubhouse sandwich. Fast -- but not friendly -- service, and we were surprised there were no German wines on the menu. Another plus to this hotel: four computers in the lobby with free Internet service, and more upstairs in the Business Center.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a delux room so that you have a nice seating area. The regular rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob and Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
203 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Hilton Hotel is perfectly located for sightseeing and family activities in and around Berlin. The hotel has the Stadtmitte U-Bahn underground station on its door step and this allows you to reach any location quickly and easily.

As would be expected from a Hilton hotel, it is clean, modern and well designed. The staff were for the most part engaging, happy and provided good service. The buffet breakfast was extensive and provided a good variety. The egg station provided guests the opportunity to get made to order eggs of any variety but it could not cope on most days because of the demand.

Our disappointment and why we only rated the hotel 4/5 was on arrival in our room we noticed that the bedding arrangement was not as requested. As a family of 5, we always struggle to fit into one or two rooms in any hotel. So over the years we have been meticulous in our bookings to ensure each of our kids get their own bed, even if one of them is a roll away.

We were first told that it was not possible to fit a roll-away in the room, though, having travelled extensively, there was plenty of room to fit a roll-away, though it was clearly a management decision as we were told one could be fit in a "bigger" room. After pushing for a solution from the hotel, they eventually decided to allow us to stay in our existing connecting room but surprise surprise managed to fit a roll-away in the room. Even the maid that helped put the bed in was surprised at how much room there was - over a metre between each of the three beds, with plenty of room to still get around the room.

If we were told that we could not take this type of accommodation arrangement again in the future, we would stay elsewhere, because it was more than possible to fit in a roll-away in a standard room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ForeignGuardian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dravid19
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the 40th Berlin marathon. Perfect location as only an easy 10 minute walk to the start.
A nice touch was the restaurant opening at 0600 on race day. Oatmeal was on the menu perfect for runners. However egg station is the not the best I have used.

The gym had basic facilities but a little cramped. Swimming pool is a small one but well maintained.

Rooms are tidy and of the usual hilton standard and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dravid19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
351 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here for one night before our river cruise. We received a warm welcome and as we were early our bags were put in storage for us until later. After looking around Berlin we checked into our rooms and we were told our bags would be sent up straight away, Forty minutes later we had to chase them and they turned up after another 15 minutes with the bell boy talking on his mobile phone. The room was lovely, we had a good night sleep and the breakfast was all you could want. A great stay spoilt by the delay with our cases.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RIDINGAROUND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anja_Tuccio, Executive Secretary at Hilton Berlin, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your impressions of your recent stay at the Hilton Berlin. We are very sorry to learn that you had to wait so long for your luggage and will certainly follow up with our bellstaff on this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
The Westin Grand Berlin
The Westin Grand Berlin
#105 of 634 in Berlin
2,731 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 634 in Berlin
810 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#24 of 634 in Berlin
1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Berlin

Property: Hilton Berlin
Address: Mohrenstrasse 30, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Berlin
#23 Family Hotel in Berlin
#24 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#47 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#48 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#57 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 601
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Hilton Hotel
Hilton Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing