We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Stay With Style”
Review of Hilton Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Berlin
Ranked #69 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here just before Christmas time. We loved it! Hotel is perfectly placed at the Christmas market which is right on your front door! Just aswell as it was freezing! Always felt comfortable in the hotel and the staff were welcoming. The room was big and spacious only downside was our room looked onto an office block (not very nice scenery) however reminded us how lucky we were not to be working ha! Bed was huge. We were only here for 4 nights and due to wanting to see so much we didn't eat or drink in the hotel. Wish we had heard so many good things about it! Berlin is an amazing place and u are 2 seconds away from the nearest metro station would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllanEvans13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,801)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,114 - 2,120 of 4,801 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed 12 nights, room was a wonderful size with lounge study and bedroom areas, but was very dated and needs a make over. Complementary water and fruit were replaced once in 12 days which as a bit disappointing. Good selection at breakfast. Staff answered questions efficiently but seemed to be overworked to add the personal touch. Overall not the standard of the Hilton but a good place to stay based on location.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank nzdiaspora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anja_Tuccio, Executive Secretary at Hilton Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

We would like to thank you for sharing your impressions of your recent stay at the Hilton Berlin with us. Although we were happy to note that overall you were satisfied with your stay, you have of course also mentioned a few points which indeed do not reflect our usual service standards and we will further investigate these. In as far as the room décor is concerned we were a little bit suprised about your comment that it looks dated and in need of a makeover as we have only finished a renovation of the entire hotel inclusive guest rooms, lobby and meeting areas last year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel a number of times since I first reviewed it a number of years ago. On a couple of occasions, I have tried other Berlin hotels at peak business times when it has been expensive for a leisure traveller, but I always seem to come back. I like the combination of comfort and good service. The location in the beautiful Gendamenmarkt is unbeatable especially since it is within walking distance of many of the major Berlin attractions (the Brandenberg Gate, the Reichstag, Unter den Linden, Museum Island, Potsdamer Platz......) and it has a U-bahn Station (Stadtmitte) just outside. Friedrichstrasse mainline station for trains to the airports is also within walking distance.
Perhaps the chocolate brown décor is a bit tired but the lobby is still stylish and impressive and our room was comfortable with a great bathroom. A couple of minor quibbles: in-room internet is not free, and I was unable to get free internet access in the public areas although the in-room hotel guide seemed to imply that I could. (When I tried the login procedure seemed to say that it was only free for gold and silver Hilton Honours holders, not Blue Level people like myself.) It shouldn't matter too much since there are free computers in the lobby area for guest use, but this didn't help me because my problem was a software glitch on my tablet.
There used to be three 'proper' restaurants in the hotel, but Trader Vics and the Italian restaurant have now gone, and only the Mark Brandenburg remains but this is satisfactory although it was closed at lunchtimes in August and was badly patronised in the evenings. (I like restaurants with a bit of life in them!) We did eat in the Listo Lounge in the lobby on one occasion, and of course there are many good restaurants within walking distance (Brasserie, Entrecote, Lutter and Wegner, The Augustiner Beer House, Bacca di Bocco, Aigner.....). Breakfast in the hotel has changed a bit but it is still very good and the staff throughout the hotel were all pleasant and efficient.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V3971RTjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anja_Tuccio, Executive Secretary at Hilton Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thanks for your detailed and positive review and most of all thank you for being such a loyal guest . You definitely have witnessed a lot of changes over the years, old restaurant concepts being replaced by new ones, the renovationof the entire hotel including lobby and guest rooms... Sorry, to hear about the problems you have experienced at the work stations in our hotel lobby. We do offer complimentary internet access on these work stations and also in the public areas for all our guests, so indeed there seems to have been a short-term problem, but generally the system works very well and reliable. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed at Berlin Hilton as part of flight and hotel British Airways deal in August. I was pleased with price when compared to other European city destinations.
Hotel is right in the centre of Berlin. Tube is just outside the main entrance and many attractions are within walking distance.
Checking in and out very straightforward and what you'd expect for a 5* hotel. Room was great with excellent en suite facilities, digital services etc.
Breakfast was fine with big range of choice. Also café/bar and places to relax in reception area. Didn't go to restaurant.
Only small issue was getting used to using the door key when going up in the lift!
Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VER315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Spent 3 days in this recently renovated hotel and what a great job they have done beautiful hotel.
Location is great for site seeing being very close to the ubahn. Staff all very nice. Take a tour bus to see the sites very close to the hotel. or take a walking tour.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter-Ashfield-House
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Was really dissapointed with this hotel. the foyer area is beautiful, with a grande piano, posh bar and overpriced drinks (which was to expect :) )

We got a standard smoker room quite a few floors up, i have been to alot of hotels and ihave never really smelled smoke when walking into a new room, even tho it is a smoker room. This one was pretty bad though. The curtains were stained and the actually had a few holes burned in them. The front of house staff were very polite and could speak english too which always helps. They offered us to leave the luggage in a holding area until the room was ready, when returning to get the luggage, they had lost it, or moved it. The way the porters dealt with this was not very professional and could have been done without huffing and puffing and taking me to all the holding rooms quite a few times to look through the luggage. Anyway, after a half hour of panicing, the luggage turned up and we actually received a voucher as an apology to use at the bar for a drink... still shouldnt really happen. The rooms were ok, but the holiday in room we stayed in the night before loked exactly the same... which was dissapointing as the hilton one cost me double the money. Location was good, very close to transport system and city centre.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steffi3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We spent four days in the hilton on a short break in mid August. All staff we encountered were professional and friendly. Room was a good size and the daily breakfast buffet was excellent. Location was excellent both for walking the central district or catching the u Bahn at the station a few meters away. Took a day trip to Potsdam which was a nice contrast to the big city. Remember to book to visit the reichstag before you get there, you have to book 7 days before your visit. A walk round the glass dome is a must.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the square have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashleypair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#21 of 634 in Berlin
1,597 reviews
Mitte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#19 of 634 in Berlin
3,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Westin Grand Berlin
The Westin Grand Berlin
#117 of 634 in Berlin
2,952 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#23 of 634 in Berlin
2,038 reviews
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Berlin

Address: Mohrenstrasse 30, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Berlin
#20 Family Hotel in Berlin
#27 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#48 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#54 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#57 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $122 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 601
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Hilton Hotel
Hilton Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing