We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Gendarmenmerkt area”
Review of Hilton Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Berlin
Ranked #65 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
604 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Gendarmenmerkt area”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Having Hilton status at this property is a MAJOR plus because the lounge is incredible. Most of the international lounges have better food options. Hotel is in a great area and there are many outdoor cafes just steps from the hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanzmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,334
    1,576
    397
    143
    58
See reviews for
703
1,768
316
1,065
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had a great stay at this hotel while spending four days in Berlin, Oct 10 - 14. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful and I was surprised the number of persons who spoke English. The breakfast was fabulous, the internet access was untroubled and the location is ideal. The concierge in the Executive Center was very helpful in making dinner reservations at great restaurants within reasonable walking distance and also in assisting in printing boarding passes. Stefanie Hempel in the Reservations Dept. was very kind and considerate in assisting with as reservation problem. She solved it expertly. I also have to mention Leonida, the person who greeted us at breakfast. Although we were only there for a short time, she remembered our name and room number each day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BikerBoyFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, MI
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

While we have visited Germany many times, we had never been in Berlin. So I searched TA for the best hotel and they were correct (again) that a great place to consider was the Hilton.

The Hilton is a modern hotel located in a very active area of old East Berlin. It is across from the square of churches and a concert hall. It is a very active area with many people at all hours. Many dining choices are a short walk away as is the Berlino Hop On / Hop Off Tour bus.

The lobby and bar are beautiful and the rooms, while not large, are well furnished with an elegant bathroom. Breakfast in the hotel features a very large buffet with many cooked to order items but is quite expensive. We found a better choice at Quchnia, just a short walk away, where they have a more modest selection and free WiFi. We would definitely return to the Hilton if we returned to Berlin.

Room Tip: King Bed No Smoking rooms are sometimes difficult to find in Europe. No problem at the Hilton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MITraveler307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 6 Contributor
910 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We had a four night stay here. Rooms clean, comfy beds, great breakfast, wonderful helpful staff. The advice of the staff led us to several great meals! Located with walking distance to many sights in this city.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Morcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed just one night following a river cruise.
We had a room looking into the open roofed atrium so no traffic noise (and no view).

Quick check-in at reception but no provision for quick check-out.
No complimentary water in room but tap water was drinkable.
The most expensive prices I have ever seen in a minibar.

Excellent breakfast with helpful and pleasant staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamesfurze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

If you want to be in the heart of historic Berlin this hotel has a great location. Many of the major attractions are within 20-30 minutes walking distance and the close proximity of the subway makes exploring other parts of the city really easy. In addition, the staff are incredibly helpful and knowledgeable about the city and can give great pointers to some of the less well known and equally fascinating aspects of the city. The rooms are modern and well appointed and provide a very comfortable and relaxing environment. Finally, breakfast was great! There were plenty of choice available and the quality was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_bald_gourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This review is a tale of two halves. The hotel itself is good. The rooms are good. It is in an excellent location with plenty of Berlin sights within easy walking distance. The staff were really helpful when I asked if my niece could book in earlier than me as she was travelling from Sweden and meeting me there. The rooms are clean, comfortable, lovely toiletries, robe and slippers. BUT... and it is a BIG BUT there is one thing they need to get right in the 21st Century. I had been very busy all week at work and rushed to the airport to get my flight - when I arrived I realised that I hadn't checked in online and therefore not printed out my boarding pass. Never mind, I am staying in the Hilton, I will be able to deal with the return flight from the hotel. WRONG! I spent 5 hours of my weekend trying to access the internet to check in and print the boarding passes. 5 hours of a short weekend stay. The internet wouldn't work well enough for me to do this and the staff could offer no assistance or alternatives. There were at least two other people that were having the same problem who were equally frustrated.
In the end I went to Starbucks and used their (free) WiFi to check in within the time limit (just) using my iPhone and then managed to find a souvenir shop at the airport who for 2 euros allowed me to print out the necessary paperwork.
For a well respected hotel chain with excellent facilities you need to sort this out. I travel with work and frequently stay in hotels, but i will never recommend the Hilton to my colleagues as if you cannot access the internet and do business then it is just not worth it. Such a shame. It could have been an excellent stay and an excellent review. Service will now be shown as average because even though I discussed this at least a dozen times there was no alternative offered.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crissietoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anja_Tuccio, Executive Secretary at Hilton Berlin, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hilton Berlin with other travellers. Your feedback is also extremely valuable for us as it enables us to continuously monitor the quality of the services we provide and make corrections whenever necessary.
We were of course quite pleased with the many positive points you have mentioned, but needless to say, we have also noted the concerns you have voiced.
We have recently changed our internet provider and do now offer complimentary internet access in our public areas as well as complimentary computer workstations with printers, enabling our guests to print out boarding passes etc. Unfortunately we faced some initial problems with the internet connectivity, but are happy to confirm that the mistake was meanwhile identified and fixed.
We do hope to be able to welcome you back to the Hilton Berlin and trust that you will then be able to give account of a fully enjoyable stay.
Sincerely,
Anja Tuccio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
The Westin Grand Berlin
The Westin Grand Berlin
#108 of 634 in Berlin
2,796 reviews
Mitte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,561 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#24 of 634 in Berlin
1,877 reviews
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#21 of 634 in Berlin
2,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Berlin

Property: Hilton Berlin
Address: Mohrenstrasse 30, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Berlin
#23 Family Hotel in Berlin
#25 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#48 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#53 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#57 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 601
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Hilton Hotel
Hilton Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing