We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value for a 5* hotel in a great location”
Review of Hilton Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Berlin
Ranked #67 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We booked the Hilton in the Gendarmenmarkt, Berlin, for a last minute family city break over five days after our patience with the endless rain of this year's British summer finally expired. We booked the Hilton over other 5* hotels in the city centre because of the location and the low price offered. As another reviewer has pointed out, Berlin has significantly lower rates for luxury hotels than those in other European capital cities. I don't know if it was the fact that everyone seems to be in London for the Olympics, or that all the citizens are away on their holidays, but we got excellent rooms for £129 per night per room. The Gendarmenmarkt is a beautiful square, with twin churches (one now deconsecrated) flanking the imposing Konzerthaus. It has a good range of cafés and restaurants, and is scrupulously clean. Take the time to climb the dome of the French church for great views (€3). Checkpoint Charlie, the Brandenburg Gate, Unter den Linden (currently being dug up), the Bundestag and the museums are all within easy walking distance. There is a Metro station almost immediately outside the hotel lobby. The hotel was clean, very comfortable and well-equipped (the pool was very welcome). The staff were unfailingly friendly, polite and efficient. My only criticisms would be the extremely expensive wifi (€17 for 24 hours 'economy' speed; €22 for 'business' quality); and the lifts/elevators, which must be the slowest in the northern hemisphere. TIP: don't be gulled into paying the larcenous €20 per head per day for breakfast - there is an excellent baker and coffee shop, no more than 100 metres away on Friedrichstrasse, where you can have a sumptuous breakfast of fruit, yogurt, egg and ham, or whatever, for a very few Euros. TIP: we travelled by taxi from Berlin Tegel airport. This should cost no more than €20-21 but get the taxi driver to state the rate before you set off as one of us (well, me actually) got ripped off when travelling separately. Overall, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for the breakfast - see main review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TackleTart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinSoerensen, Manager at Hilton Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.
I am happy that you enjoyed our hotel, our location and the facilities. For breakfast we also offer a la carte in the Beletage restaurant and in the Listo Lounge, with options for individual portions, coffees, toast, croissants and much more, as an alternative to the full buffet.
Starting later this year, in the last quarter we will have complimentary WIFI in all public areas and a large complimentary internet station in our new lobby.
We hope to welcome you back again to the Hilton Berlin. The winter is also very nice here, with a large Christmas Market on the Gendarmenmarkt.

Sincerely

Martin Soerensen
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,689)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,488 - 2,494 of 4,689 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

pros:
- great location in the city close to Unter den Linden, Potsdamerplatz, right above the U2 U-Bahn station
- rooms are nice, we had a standard room on the 2nd floor facing the side street which was very quiet, we likes that the curtains blocked out all the light which was great for sleeping
- king bed was very big, a little bit on the hard side which is comfortable
- breakfast had a great selection, especially the bread and pastries which were enough to satisfy even my German husband
- very reasonable price for a Hilton

cons:
- this is a very large hotel, so expect some delays with checking in and out as they do host some large groups
- lobby lounge was nice but a little too noisy to actually relax in
- fitness room was very hot and the indoor pool lacks a whirlpool but is in a weird shape to actually swim laps
- biggest gripe was the elevators as we felt that 4 was too little and were quite crowded during busy times, and some rooms were very far away from the lifts, would have appreciated some stairs since the hotel is not such a high rise

overall: would recommend and would probably stay again when in Berlin

Thank fried_burger
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MartinSoerensen, Manager at Hilton Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for your feedback. Great to hear that you enjoyed our Hilton Breakfast. We will be working on optimizing our lifts over the next months, I am sure you will see a difference at your next stay. I have shared your feedback with my team and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Martin Soerensen
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I looved this hotel. The rooms are very cozy and the food is great. Especially enjoyed their executive lounge. Location wasn't the best and the front desk staff weren't the friendliest, but the coziness of the hotel compensated. I like the gym and spa as well.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shabi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

We were delighted with the location. A beautiful square surrounded with excellent Resturants and bars.. Perfect for a city break. Walking distance to all the top attractions.
Breakfast was plentiful with a wide selection of items. Staff were friendly and very efficient.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We were here for 5 nights a family of 2 adults and 2 children age 8 and 10. Had the Corner Suite with access to the new executive lounge. The Lounge is absolutely top of the art. Lots of space, nice deco, variety of paestrys for afternoon coffee, tapas and snack and predinner drinks much above average. Pool and wellness very good. Breakfast restaurant a little hectic, but super service and food. Probably the best hotel location in berlin if you like it nice and quiet and with easy access to the historical sights. When booking ask for Nils Dettmann - super service.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lunau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We were here for two nights on a Globus tour and stayed for another two afterwards. The hotel is in a super location and is convenient to many of the most popular attractions. A subway stop is just in front of the hotel. Service was excellent, rooms very comfortable, wonderful breakfast. Excellent hotel to stay in for touring Berlin

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReadyToTravelYUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed at the Hilton near the end of June a part of a group tour. Location was great for sightseeing. Walked to Brandenburg Gate, Holocaust Memorial, Reichstag, Museum Island, Alexanderplatz, Checkpoint Charlie, Topography of Terror to name a few. For those sites further away the U-Bahn was right outside the door.

There are also plenty of cafes, restaurants and stores within walking distance for your dining and shopping pleasure. Not to mention the famous chocolate store next door.
Was give n a standard room on the 6th floor facing a side street and it was very quiet. The room itself was well appointed despite being a little small. It was very comfortable and clean. Liked having the speaker system in the bathroom. The breakfast was excellent with a great variety of choices and service was very pleasant.
Did not eat any meals other than breakfast at the hotel. The drinks at the lobby bar were a little high but I have seen more expensive lobby bars.

The two drawbacks were the cost of the internet service (in room and at the business center) and one morning I was woken up by room service at 4:00am. They had the wrong room. I was not a happy camper. Who wants to be woken up at 4:00 am when on vacation. Not me!! I spoke to the desk later that morning and they apologized but didn’t seem that concerned.

I would recommend this hotel to others and would stay there again myself.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ubish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#19 of 633 in Berlin
3,138 reviews
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#22 of 633 in Berlin
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Westin Grand Berlin
The Westin Grand Berlin
#116 of 633 in Berlin
2,893 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#23 of 633 in Berlin
1,982 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 633 in Berlin
2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Berlin

Address: Mohrenstrasse 30, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Berlin
#23 Family Hotel in Berlin
#27 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#48 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#53 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#57 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $136 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 601
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Hilton Hotel
Hilton Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing