We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, Clean, and Priced Well”
Review of Hilton Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Berlin
Ranked #66 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 11, 2012

The Hilton Hotel was great. The lobby greeted us we an upbeat atmosphere with a bar in the center of the lobby and a welcoming vibe. The staff were very friendly at check in. Our room was modern and very comfortable. The only reason for the four rating as opposed to five rating was because the bathroom was a bit on the small side; although common for Europe. On the other hand the bathroom was comfortably modern. The hotel was extremely clean. We didn’t take advantage of the spa unfortunately but that is a big perk that I would like to take advantage of next time. And you can’t beat the location – it is perfect! It sits right at a U-Baun (underground subway) stop, it is right in the center and easy walking distance to the main attractions, and there are plenty of nearby restaurants and bars! I would absolutely stay at the Hilton my next visit to Berlin!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelWise78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinSoerensen, Manager at Hilton Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind and positive feedback. Indeed I can recommend to visit our HealthClub and Spa on the first floor when here next, with plenty of possibilities for both workout and relaxation.

Kind regards

Martin Soerensen

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,567 - 2,573 of 4,689 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. We had two rooms, one for me and my sister, and one for my parents. As requested, we got two that were right next to each other. Room was clean, with nice bathroom and comfy beds. It had a large TV which had several British channels, including BBC 1 and ITV1.

We visited the pool every night. The first time, we went down with our clothes on. We were told by one of the members of staff that we could come down in robes, that we found in our wardrobe. Pool was always warm however we found a little bit of sand at the bottom (how did that get there?)

Location was fantastic! There was a U-Bahn station right outside the hotel and it was a short stroll from lots of central areas.

Staff were kind and friendly, helping us locate certain shops and find out opening times, etc.

The restaurant was fantastic quality.

And the breakfasts were to die for! They had everything from yoghurts to omelettes and fried eggs and cheese covered tomatoes and cereal and toast and cheese and fruit and all sorts of other things. Amazing!

Everything was perfect apart from three things in the bathroom (in both rooms):
1) The toilet water looked pretty dirty
2) Hand rail/soap dish on the side of the bath was wobbly
3) There was nothing to help you out of the bath (which was pretty slippery) apart from the radiator.

I would definitely return whenever I go back to Berlin!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGirl3334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinSoerensen, Manager at Hilton Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your feedback. I have shared it all with my teams. Together with Housekeeping we are looking into possible improvements in the bathrooms.

Hope to welcome you back again in the near future

Kind regards

Martin Soerensen

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Hilton Berlin is a good Hotel in a great location!
You are close by to everything! It's very clean, nice and tidy. Check in goes quick and Reception staff is very friendly. Rooms have a good size and are very comfortable! The SPA area ist absolutely great! Rather rare to find in a City hotel.
Only minus point is the breakfast service. Staff very unorganised and slow, misses on serving coffee or cleaning tables.
The evening service in the Bar is therefore outstanding. Delicious cocktails quickly served by knowledgable staff! We had a good time!
Overall it's a very good Hilton hotel which impresses with SPA and Bar!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VaciAVaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinSoerensen, Manager at Hilton Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Dear Traveller,
thank you for writing about your stay with us.
I am delighted to read that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed both the Listo Lounge and our large Spa.
I have shared your breakfast feedback with my team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back

Sincerely

Martin Soerensen
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Staff were all outstanding, always helpful and courtious. Location is great for all the main sights with the subway entrance straight outside (though it was closed when I stayed due to flooding on the line but other stations are close by.) Rooms clean and beds comfortable. Breakfast is good with a great selection and very friendly staff.

Hilton Gold got me free wifi and free breakfast, though no upgrade unfortunately.

I would stay here again next time I visit Berlin

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1112012f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinSoerensen, Manager at Hilton Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Dear Hilton Honors Gold Member,

Thank you for your feedback which I have shared with my team.
We look forward to welcoming you back, and if there is anything we can do
to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please let us know.

Sincerely

Martin Soerensen
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Berlin has in my opinion the cheapest average rate for 5* hotels so look for other options all the time! The Hilton is at a good location at the Gendarmenmarkt (Sofitel is very close, West In Grand not far). Hotels was renovated recently so rooms are nice. Take a room with view towards Gendarmenmarkt it´s worth it!

Breakfast was good but a bit overcrowded, service in the hotel reasonable but also at the check-in counter sometimes crowds and still people in the back making calls instead of going to the front and helping out.

As I said, watchout for other hotels since Hilton can be overaverage expensive. Sofitel is good too and the nice hotels (Hyatt, Ritz, Marriott) at the Potsdamer Platz aren´t far as well.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank joe_traveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinSoerensen, Manager at Hilton Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the magnificent view on the Gendarmenmarkt square.

Looking forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards

Martin Soerensen

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Hilton Berlin is located in a central area and has excellent amenities. Great location in a beautiful square (Gerdarmenmarkt) very convenient for the metro (right outside the door) and an easy walk to many museums around town. We really enjoyed our 3 night stay. The staff were excellent and the rooms were really comfortable. The Hilton Berlin is a great hotel. We stay at Hiltons frequently on our travels and this is among the best. We would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ana4sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinSoerensen, Manager at Hilton Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Dear Traveller,
thank you for your feedback and recommendation. I hope to welcome you back soon.

sincerely

Martin Soerensen

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Starting with the good points: great location for walking to Museum Island; concierge was professional, helpful, and even friendly. On the other hand...the electricity went out one morning, and the hot water that day as well; the shower controls wouldn't work and had to be fixed, but the "fix" didn't actually take hold; mold in the shower; only way to keep the room from getting too hot is by opening a window, so the hvac controls aren't working; if your room faces the street, you're going to hear the taxi drivers throughout the night as they honk, yell to each other, chat with each other, and as a bonus you get to enjoy their music while they wait. Since this is the hotel's taxi rank, and it's right below many of their rooms, Hilton must know this is a problem but choose not to keep the taxis quiet. Hilton's website advises if you come by S-bahn to get off at Stadtmitte, but there are multiple exits from which you may surface blocks away from the hotel with no indication of which way to go...clarification could help greatly, particularly if you arrive later in the evening. As regards dining at night, the area appears to be more of a business district, so dining options are few and they don't serve very late. We arrived at 9PM and the only place still serving food was the Lowenbrau brew house down the street...if you stay here, you need to eat early or just drink I suppose, as the bars are still open a bit later. The breakfast provided in the Hilton's restaurant is perfectly acceptable, but on several mornings they simply didn't put on enough staff to keep the tables cleared...nearly half the tables were stacked with breakfast remains for the entire time we dined, a bit visually unpleasant and makes it hard to find an open table. Wait staff were fine, however, and did try to keep up or at least keep the drinks going. In addition, don't count on your Gold Hilton account status doing you any good. We chose the Hilton for its Executive Lounge (which is pretty good at most locations around the world and may be fine here for all I know), but were told that Hilton changed the program in February and Gold didn't get us a room on the Executive floor or in the lounge at this property any more. I think this may arise from this location having several more "classes" of room than usual, which will put the E-lounge out of reach unless you want to pay around 80 Euros a night for the privilege. To sum up: good location for the museums, but poor attention to detail (cleanliness and repair), poor attitude, poor execution...they're riding on the Hilton brand, but not delivering on the brand's promise.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the street facing in the direction of the church...unless you want to enjoy the taxi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaymoOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinSoerensen, Manager at Hilton Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Dear JaymoOslo,

I appreciate you have taken the time to write in detail about your stay with us. I have shared your feedback with my team, and we have used it as an opportunity to review some of our procedures when it comes to room checks.

sincerely

Martin Soerensen

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#19 of 633 in Berlin
3,138 reviews
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#22 of 633 in Berlin
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Westin Grand Berlin
The Westin Grand Berlin
#114 of 633 in Berlin
2,893 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#23 of 633 in Berlin
1,982 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 633 in Berlin
2,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Berlin

Address: Mohrenstrasse 30, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Berlin
#23 Family Hotel in Berlin
#27 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#48 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#53 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#57 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $137 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 601
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Hilton Hotel
Hilton Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing