We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Looking Hotel at a good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Grand Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Grand Berlin
Ranked #93 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Looking Hotel at a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Westi Berlin is a very well located hotel with a very impressive building housing it. the breakfast is good along with decent rooms. you do get most of your requested items. was very impressed with the indoor swimming pool and Jaccuzzi. enjoyed one afternoon in the heated pool. Only disappointed with lack of a tea coffee maker which was not part of the room. forgot to check this before booking the hotel. so if you like making your tea every morning to start the day, this is not the hotel.

Room Tip: You have to walk long for some rooms, if particular, request for rooms near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritwik25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
We thank you for having chosen our hotel during your Berlin visit and even for your review. We are certainly pleased to see you were enjoying your star. We regret that you were missing coffee-tea making facilities; but just one call at our Service Express would have been solved the problem. For sure we offer this service. Should your travel plans bring you back to Berlin we would be pleased to convince you. The Westin Grand Berlin-Team, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,198
    996
    280
    93
    46
See reviews for
350
1,029
211
678
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

I am a frequest traveller across the world on business and have enjoyed soem great stays in world class hotels. This was my third or fourth visit to the Westin Grand in Berlin for ITB. I understand that this is a busy time for the hotel. My colleague always books the same hotel as well each year and there are other referrals that happen. Being an SPG memeber also was of absolutely no use.
My reservation is usually a couple of months in advance for the club room as usual and my request for the same room each year 565 as this was perhaps the only reason the stay at the otherwise slightly drab Westin grand. The numerous e-mails and coomunication commenced requesting for the same room at the time of making the reservation and contimued ceaselessly unitl my departure from Dubai.
Upon arrival the check in was obviously disappointing since the receptionist simply refused to grant my request for the room. The duty Manager - Anna - was equally dismissive and helpless offering no solutions to the issue as I was by this time quite unhappy. Instead of offering a remedy she kept saying "what do you want me to do? The hotel is full and we have no rooms". I did not have a choice since this was a pre-paid room and my colleague too had a similar booking.
Resigned to being treated in this manner after a long flight was bad enough so in discugst I accepted this igniominy and proceeded to a room that did nto meet my expectations and theres nothing anyone could do about it.
Some of the other niggling service issues like being charged Euro4 for tea/coffee replenishment of the already provided supplies are small examples of ignorance of a a customer's needs.
The next day I left a detailed letter on the hotel comment card for the GM of the hotel. A lame phone call from the receptionist sayting that they could move me the NEXT day to a different room was all they could offer. I of course delined. Still no call or apology from the management.No more effort was made to contact me or render an apology or offer something to make this experience better.
Two days later upon check out I left another letter for the GM with the conceirge and until today there has not been any communication from the hotel;s managment. Sordid expereince and perhaps stinking of racial prejudice.
Berlin has some fantastic hotels with great offerings.
My last vist to this hotel with my colleagues and all the year long referrals.

Room Tip: All rooms ending 65 in the club category. These are corner rooms with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sumit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear guest, as you have announced in advance you now publish your impressions on this and other platforms. Certainly in the meantime you will have received our statement addressed to you personal, where we have explained the circumstances and which we do not want to publish here. At this point we only would like to emphasize again our regret that we did not meet your expectations and hope you will accept our apology. Thank you very much for the efforts you have made for this review. The Westin Grand Berlin ,Executive Office, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is a business hotel, and the attitude toward guests is business-lilke, particularly at reception. Rooms are up to the Westin standard. The Heavenly Bed is as expected. The hotel's location near Berlin's political center is very good. I have booked this hotel three times - no more. As an SPG lifetime gold/currently platinum member I would expect some sort of courtesy or benefit. Nothing was forthcoming. When the receptionist made a gross error at a previous stay I would have expected some sort of apology - again nothing. If you are staying in Berlin for fun, I suggest the Adlon. This is where I shall stay the next time, although it is not an SPG establishment. Note: Loyalty has its limits.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dionysios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear guest, especially our loyal customers should feel at home here and it is always a discomfiture for us to have disappointed our guests. Thank you for your honest words; you can be assured that we will take it seriously and will use it to pay more attention for a friendly and attentive service as guests may expect and as it is the first demand to ourselves. We would be pleased to get another chance. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Top 3 reasons to stay here:
1. If it's your first time in Berlin, and, unreasonably (like me), you want to visit perfectly everything, the concierge is your new best friend. He arranged my days for me with seeming pleasure, never once rolling his eyes. Grabbed an excellent seat at the Philharmonic for me, which was nearly worth the whole trip.
2. Ask for a corner room, or, if at all possible, upgrade to a small suite, which feel like Windsor Castle must. Elegant. All the little touches. Pluperfect.
3. Location. You're a 1/2 block from a brilliant deli, if you want to grab wine and dinner for the room. Just off Friedrichstrasse, with two subway stops very close, an easy walk to the museums, CheckPoint Charlie, et al. Would go again tomorrow.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
We are really glad to make your stay with us enjoyable! Thank you very much for your giving us your impressions; we hope your next stay with us will be in the not too distant future - may be the day after tomorrow? You are welcome at The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
181 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

First thing - this is in a terrific location walkable around mitte, to the brandenberg gate, holocaust memorial, checkpoint Charlie is just down the street. We were on a business trip/celebration so it was perfect for getting to a few sights and to restaurants and bars. The girl on check in was amazingly helpful thank you! They hadn't received the request for twin rooms and we were a business group and she shuffled everyone around to get us 4 twin rooms on the same floor. Good first impression! The hotel is extremely clean with very comfy beds though the room furniture is a bit done in. Doesn't matter though everything is very comfortable. We had room service breakfast brought promptly. Also a drink at the bar. Can't give it 5 stars as I didn't experience enough of it as were out all day and night and it wasn't quite a crisp as for example westin Madrid but I'd definitely recommend. If you want a comfortable base of v good quality and ability to step out to excellent eateries and bars and sights then this is a great spot to choose. The restaurant aigner around the corner is superb, a real taste of berlin.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank havanagirlGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
We thank you for sharing your impressions with us and all Tripadvisor users and we are really pleased that you have enjoyed your stay. Our staff and especially the associate from Front Desk were even pleased as they could meet your expectations. Should you have occasion for another Berlin trip we hope we will be your first choice again. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel is just what I expected in a Westin: a little slice of home. An amazingly huge comfortable bed, actual washcloths, and crispy bacon at the breakfast buffet.

There is definitely no European charm to this hotel, but it was a great respite in the midst of lots of time away from the USA.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for giving us your impressions - how nice that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for having chosen The Westin Grand Berlin; we hope it was not your last stay with us and in Berlin. We are looking forward to your next visit to be your home in Berlin! Andrea W., Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Pola, Spain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful central location so you can walk around with ease to most major attractions. Hotel is well run with good services. Very complete breakfast of a high standard, bar is comfortable to have a drink and rooms although a touch dated are clean, spacious with what you need. A place to return to in this city of differing contrasts.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
To see that our guests enjoyed their stay is the best remuneration for our work. Satisfaction of our guests is what we work for. Thank you very much for being here and thank you for making the efforts to write your evaluation. We are looking forward to your next stay! The Westin Grand Berlin Team, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#49 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,229 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#4 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Titanic Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#13 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#11 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Berlin

Property: The Westin Grand Berlin
Address: Friedrichstrasse 158 - 164, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#45 Business Hotel in Berlin
#69 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#70 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#70 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous location in the historic city centre, trendy district "Berlin-Mitte", on the corner "Unter den Linden"/ "Friedrichstrasse" and very well connected to all public transportation.Sights like Brandenburger Tor, Checkpoint Charlie, Museumsinsel and Gendarmenmarkt within walking distance. 400 Elegant rooms and suites, lavish lobby with grand staircase, restaurant, bar, summer terrace, spacious hotel garden, spa with indoor pool, fitness area, business center, 10 function rooms. Have a little relaxation and stay well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Grand Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Berlin Hotel Berlin
Westin Hotel Berlin
Westin Berlin
Berlin Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing