We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Typical Westin Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Grand Berlin
Ranked #117 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I spent two nights here while travelling on business. This is an old historic hotel located on the eastern side of the city. Outside the entrance is a piece of the Berlin Wall.
The hotel has a charming elegance, and the staff was always helpful and accommodating. The room rate was quite reasonable, but the price of a beer was on the high side. Not to worry, there are plenty of other places to explore in the vicinity.
Glad I chose to stay there, and would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: There is construction nearby, but I did not hear it. I stayed in a room opposite the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for having chosen our hotel for your Berlin trip - and we are indeed pleased to see that you did not regret your choice. Thank your for giving us and Tripadvisor user your impression - and be welcome at any time in the future! Your Westin Grand Berlin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,952)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,326 - 1,332 of 2,952 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Westin Berlin is everything Berlin should be: historic, atmospheric, charming, and affordable. This hotel is just at the edge of the Eastern side of the city, in a building that was once behind the wall. The flavor of the building is reminiscent of the East, but still manages to charm and relax guests with typical Westin amenities.

The location is fair--the hotel is in a somewhat touristy part of town but the location does give you access to many of the main museums and neighborhoods. (I needed to be in this part of town to attend conference events.) The hotel offers a gorgeous breakfast and beds that are incredibly comfortable. The service is good. I would highly recommend this hotel to travelers who are visiting the city for the first time or to business travelers.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear guest, we really like your nice explanation in regards to our hotel - thank you so much for your efforts and giving us your evaluation. It was a pleasure to be your host for your Berlin trip!
The Westin Grand Berlin-Team, Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were greeted at Reception by courteous, helpful and efficient who quickly showed us to our room which was very large, well furnished and equipped. The room was spotlessly clean and the very comfortable bed guaranteed a restful night. The bathroom was large, well appointed with a powerful shower, ample towels and good toiletries. At breakfast there were plenty of options to choose from, all of good quality and freshly prepared. So try the omelettes! The service was also excellent.

The location is very central in the very heart of Berlin near all the tourist and city sights, and excellect location. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times and smiling was not a chore. We are very happy to recommend this hotel to our friends and business colleagues.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vraquel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

It is really important to us to know our service level from the point of the guest. Therefore we do appreciate your efforts to evaluate us. And we are pleased that we could meet your expectations. Thank you so much for being with us and thank you for your comment.
The Westin Grand Berlin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were a party of 10 friends spending 4 days in Berlin. This hotel was perfectly placed for sightseeing.
The hotel was amazing. Reception is lovely. Pool and sauna nice. A relaxing hour was spent here after a full day of sightseeing.
The rooms were very well equipped, the bed was so comfortable it really was hard to get out of it!
We only had breakfast at the hotel, which was outstanding. So much choice and staff very very efficient. If evening meals were as good as the breakfast.....
The choice of shops is fab.
There is a lot of work going on by the hotel for the new underground. Don't let that put you off, you really can't hear it from inside and its work that needs doing. Berlin is full of cranes at the moment, a lot of work going on. It is nice to see a city spending money and evolving.
Would almost certainly go back to this hotel for a long or short break.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawntcbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

In my oppinion it is a verry good 5 Star Hotel and it is not pricy. Staff is very helpful and the brekfast is absolutly fantastic. The rooms are very nice an confortable. The Lobby and the stairs are really beautiful. We enjoyed our three nights! Situation in the heart of Berlin is perfect. There are a lot of things you can make walking. The own thing is what other also wrtited, the spa is too cold. The water should be on 30 Degreace but it is defnitly not.
We liked it!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samir1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

It is always a pleasure for us to have satisifed guest as this is our daily aim. Thank you so much for being our guest and thank you also for your hints; guests experiences is really important for us to know. So we are looking forward to your next stay to convince you with a perfect service! Yours Westin Grand Berlin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had the worst experience at this Hotel. We are a family of 5 and have travelled most of the world and I have never had a Hotel mess up our rooms like the Westin. We booked 2 rooms for 5 people interconnecting which I was so happy about as we have 3 young children, only to find upon arrival that a rollaway would not fit into the room......they wanted to put a crib in for my 8 year old!

Anyway after much discussion, in which I basically had no say (ie the city was full as we were staying the 3 days over NYE) they agreed on a charge of 60euro pn for a rollaway( what the?) and we were moved to bigger rooms 15 rooms away from each other, which I didn't want......we really wanted the interconnecting rooms and the 5 of us together.

The breakfast is very ordinary and it is very much a case of big name hotel trading on it's name and there is not much more to the whole experience. Would NEVER stay here again, find another hotel is my advice. Further, my husband is back in Berlin for meetings this week and he was supposed to stay in Westin, he refuses as it is so disappointing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear guest, we really regret that we have disappointed you so much, as we can see from your evaluation. Unfortunately on this point we are not able to comment it properly as we do not know what you have booked originally. In generally we do orient ourselves to the guests reservation he has made with his booking. Appropriate to the confirmation we do offer the room category in any case. Of it is possible we of course try to consider additional or special requirements after checking out with us. However, we always are keen on find a solution for the satisfaction of our guest. Surely it can be quite difficult at New Years Eve. We would be very pleased to convince you upon your next stay to make it memorable in a positive sense. The Westin Grand Berlin-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I come here every time I am in the capital! The check-in staff is incredibly friendly and even all the housekeeping attendants are smiling and greeting you whenever you pass them. The real deal though is the restaurant staff - I love them. Especially the woman with the short hair always made our stays wonderful! ALso, I love the facilities. The pool is beautiful and the gym practical. Always an amazing stay! Thanks everybody!

Room Tip: The Garden rooms have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank look3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear guest, our aim is to fulfill and to exceed guest expectations - therefore your kind evaluation is like music in our ears. We are really pleased to see that you fell comfortable with us. Thank you so much for having choosen our hotel as your Berlin destination and thank you for sharing with us your comments and evaluation! We are looking forward to your next visit ...
Yours Westin Grand Berlin-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#69 of 634 in Berlin
4,801 reviews
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#13 of 634 in Berlin
3,664 reviews
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#19 of 634 in Berlin
3,209 reviews
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#21 of 634 in Berlin
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Berlin

Address: Friedrichstr. 158 - 164, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#45 Business Hotel in Berlin
#45 Family Hotel in Berlin
#69 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#88 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $128 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous location in the historic city centre, trendy district "Berlin-Mitte", on the corner "Unter den Linden"/ "Friedrichstrasse" and very well connected to all public transportation.Sights like Brandenburger Tor, Checkpoint Charlie, Museumsinsel and Gendarmenmarkt within walking distance. 400 Elegant rooms and suites, lavish lobby with grand staircase, restaurant, bar, summer terrace, spacious hotel garden, spa with indoor pool, fitness area, business center, 10 function rooms. Have a little relaxation and stay well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Grand Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Berlin Hotel Berlin
Westin Hotel Berlin
Westin Berlin
Berlin Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing