We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Grand Berlin
Ranked #103 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were greeted at Reception by courteous, helpful and efficient who quickly showed us to our room which was very large, well furnished and equipped. The room was spotlessly clean and the very comfortable bed guaranteed a restful night. The bathroom was large, well appointed with a powerful shower, ample towels and good toiletries. At breakfast there were plenty of options to choose from, all of good quality and freshly prepared. So try the omelettes! The service was also excellent.

The location is very central in the very heart of Berlin near all the tourist and city sights, and excellect location. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times and smiling was not a chore. We are very happy to recommend this hotel to our friends and business colleagues.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vraquel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
It is really important to us to know our service level from the point of the guest. Therefore we do appreciate your efforts to evaluate us. And we are pleased that we could meet your expectations. Thank you so much for being with us and thank you for your comment.
The Westin Grand Berlin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,248
    1,040
    296
    102
    49
See reviews for
368
1,078
216
710
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were a party of 10 friends spending 4 days in Berlin. This hotel was perfectly placed for sightseeing.
The hotel was amazing. Reception is lovely. Pool and sauna nice. A relaxing hour was spent here after a full day of sightseeing.
The rooms were very well equipped, the bed was so comfortable it really was hard to get out of it!
We only had breakfast at the hotel, which was outstanding. So much choice and staff very very efficient. If evening meals were as good as the breakfast.....
The choice of shops is fab.
There is a lot of work going on by the hotel for the new underground. Don't let that put you off, you really can't hear it from inside and its work that needs doing. Berlin is full of cranes at the moment, a lot of work going on. It is nice to see a city spending money and evolving.
Would almost certainly go back to this hotel for a long or short break.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawntcbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maspalomas, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

In my oppinion it is a verry good 5 Star Hotel and it is not pricy. Staff is very helpful and the brekfast is absolutly fantastic. The rooms are very nice an confortable. The Lobby and the stairs are really beautiful. We enjoyed our three nights! Situation in the heart of Berlin is perfect. There are a lot of things you can make walking. The own thing is what other also wrtited, the spa is too cold. The water should be on 30 Degreace but it is defnitly not.
We liked it!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samir1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
It is always a pleasure for us to have satisifed guest as this is our daily aim. Thank you so much for being our guest and thank you also for your hints; guests experiences is really important for us to know. So we are looking forward to your next stay to convince you with a perfect service! Yours Westin Grand Berlin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had the worst experience at this Hotel. We are a family of 5 and have travelled most of the world and I have never had a Hotel mess up our rooms like the Westin. We booked 2 rooms for 5 people interconnecting which I was so happy about as we have 3 young children, only to find upon arrival that a rollaway would not fit into the room......they wanted to put a crib in for my 8 year old!

Anyway after much discussion, in which I basically had no say (ie the city was full as we were staying the 3 days over NYE) they agreed on a charge of 60euro pn for a rollaway( what the?) and we were moved to bigger rooms 15 rooms away from each other, which I didn't want......we really wanted the interconnecting rooms and the 5 of us together.

The breakfast is very ordinary and it is very much a case of big name hotel trading on it's name and there is not much more to the whole experience. Would NEVER stay here again, find another hotel is my advice. Further, my husband is back in Berlin for meetings this week and he was supposed to stay in Westin, he refuses as it is so disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear guest, we really regret that we have disappointed you so much, as we can see from your evaluation. Unfortunately on this point we are not able to comment it properly as we do not know what you have booked originally. In generally we do orient ourselves to the guests reservation he has made with his booking. Appropriate to the confirmation we do offer the room category in any case. Of it is possible we of course try to consider additional or special requirements after checking out with us. However, we always are keen on find a solution for the satisfaction of our guest. Surely it can be quite difficult at New Years Eve. We would be very pleased to convince you upon your next stay to make it memorable in a positive sense. The Westin Grand Berlin-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I come here every time I am in the capital! The check-in staff is incredibly friendly and even all the housekeeping attendants are smiling and greeting you whenever you pass them. The real deal though is the restaurant staff - I love them. Especially the woman with the short hair always made our stays wonderful! ALso, I love the facilities. The pool is beautiful and the gym practical. Always an amazing stay! Thanks everybody!

Room Tip: The Garden rooms have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank look3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear guest, our aim is to fulfill and to exceed guest expectations - therefore your kind evaluation is like music in our ears. We are really pleased to see that you fell comfortable with us. Thank you so much for having choosen our hotel as your Berlin destination and thank you for sharing with us your comments and evaluation! We are looking forward to your next visit ...
Yours Westin Grand Berlin-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days, and found it very easy to get around to all the major sights and locations. It really is right in the middle of everything. Checkpoint Charlie is a very short walk away, as were the museums, Brandenburg gates and so on, ...or you can take the Metro, which is just outside the door. Breakfast was very good, a great selection with the egg chef making omlettes to order. For our room, we had a garden view room, which was quiet and also very clean and comfortable. A good hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parker-Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed there with my husband at christmas 2012 with a voucher we won, so I can't comment on the price since we didn't pay for it. And also we really used the hotel like a bed&breakfast to give any details about the facilities. I can comment on :
The room : was very nice and clean with a nice bathroom too.
The breakfast : was the best part of the hotel. There was a huge buffet with anything you could ask for. (Danishes were excellent)
The location : is amazing. Right in the center of the city on the main street, so we could find it very easily wherever we were.
The Internet : The only thing that we found expensive. Especially when you are a tourist and you have a smart phone and you have to pay 20€ per day for the internet, that's too much and finally we didn't take it.
But all in all we were very happy with the everything.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandamonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for sharing with us your impressions and thank you for your comments - they are very appreciated for improving our service! Your Westin Grand Berlin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#57 of 634 in Berlin
4,403 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#10 of 634 in Berlin
1,201 reviews
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#52 of 634 in Berlin
1,905 reviews
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Berlin

Property: The Westin Grand Berlin
Address: Friedrichstr. 158 - 164, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#45 Business Hotel in Berlin
#69 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#70 Family Hotel in Berlin
#78 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous location in the historic city centre, trendy district "Berlin-Mitte", on the corner "Unter den Linden"/ "Friedrichstrasse" and very well connected to all public transportation.Sights like Brandenburger Tor, Checkpoint Charlie, Museumsinsel and Gendarmenmarkt within walking distance. 400 Elegant rooms and suites, lavish lobby with grand staircase, restaurant, bar, summer terrace, spacious hotel garden, spa with indoor pool, fitness area, business center, 10 function rooms. Have a little relaxation and stay well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Westin Grand Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Berlin Hotel Berlin
Westin Hotel Berlin
Westin Berlin
Berlin Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing