We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tale of two rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Grand Berlin
Ranked #105 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
494 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 557 helpful votes
“A tale of two rooms”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Westin Grand Berlin is a wonderful hotel. Clean and comfortable, it provides quick access to the museum island, but if you rely on a grocery store for provisions, you are locked into the wonderful and overpriced Galeries Lafayette. There are better locations in Berlin.

Beyond the location, with limited selections of restaurants of food provisioning, we had a problem with the door lock. Twice our key would not allow entry, then we discovered the door would no longer lock. After a second instance of the door not locking we insisted on a change in room. The staff moved us from a generously proportioned room to one what was half the size (admittedly with a view of the Reichstag dome, the flag flying over the Russian embassy and the flags of the American embassy. Nice view, but when packing for our return to America there was little room to move about the room with two small suitcases on the floor.

The restaurant staff was wonderful, the concierge always helpful and the hotel very impressive (see The Bourne Supremacy).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, execjtive at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Lynn, First of all we say Thank you for your stay here but not at least we thank you for your comments. It is so nice that you enjoyed your stay. All the more we regret the problems you have had with the lock and the second room and we do apologize sincerely. But we hope we may convince you during your next visit here .... Your Westin Grand Berlin-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,247
    1,038
    296
    101
    49
See reviews for
367
1,076
216
710
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Very good hotel in a great location.
The staff is very professional, the rooms are very comfortable, they have a great customer service and the location could not be better.

If you are planning to go to Berlin this is a very good option. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoMarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

With a Westin, you can always be comfortable of a certain standard in quality. This hotel was no different.

My girlfriends and I got a cheap deal and so we had basic rooms (2 double twin rooms) which were clean, comfortable but nothing special.

What we really did appreciate was the location. First, it was easily accessible by the metro. It was slap bang in the middle of the shopping district, and it was less than five minutes from the Brandenburg Gate. It was an amazing location! We were able to clubbing, explore the canal and the museums - all on foot. When we did want to venture further there were always cabs nearby.

The second bonus was the BREAKFAST. Oh my goodness. The buffet breakfast was a monstrous feast. We literally made ourselves sick trying everything. However, as it wasn't included in our room rate, we had to pay for it and it was quite expensive. You've been warned.

I don't know about the other hotels in Berlin, but we were satisfied. The Westin isn't hip, but it's solid, comfortable and well-placed.

Room Tip: Our rooms were basic, but there are some recently renovated rooms, so ask for those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Check in desk was great but be aware that renovated rooms are a long, long walk to elevators and currently overlook subway construction site. Good windows block most noise, though. Unrenovated rooms are small and dark. Threadbare bath towels could use upgrade. 32 euros per person for buffet is outta control. We ordered a la carte which was awful! (soggy, partly defrosted waffles?). Concierge was willing and pleasant but less help than trip advisor and open table. Come on, you've had since 1989 to lose the former communist ambiance, unless you think it still has some charm. Btw, Einstein cafe across the street has great breakfast for less than half the price.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank carolboca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear guest, thank you very much for being our guest and also for your evaluation. We do appreciate any constructive comment for monitoring our service and will take it into consideration for improvements. The Westin Grand Berlin-Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
160 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Westin Grand Berlin for business mid-September 2012. Its location is excellent with all the major historic sites of Berlin within easy reach. The 2.40 euro bus to Tegel Airport took about 40 minutes. It was a little confusing on the way to the hotel but was very easy getting back for the return leg. Apparently a taxi is only 20 euros so this is a viable convenient alternative for airport transfers. Service at the hotel was spot on and the conference facilities were excellent, as was the food. The opulent lobby makes for an impressive welcome. My only criticism is that the hotel is definitely felt geared to business. This was the purpose of my stay so the quiet and adequately spacious garden room I had was perfect. If, however, you're looking for a quirky hotel with a bit more character for your trip to Berlin then the Westin Grand is not the hotel for you. It has a comfortable, corporate feel but lacks what you might call the "x-factor" to make your stay extra special, especially given the nightly room rates.

Room Tip: Garden rooms towards the end of the corridor are quiet but quite a walk from the lift! Try heading...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrcrdeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear guest, thank you very much for your evaluation on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed our service and may be we could welcome and convince you also for your private Berlin trip. The Westin Grand Berlin-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed here in August during a family vacation. The rooms were a bit small but extremely comfortable beds. The breakfast was phenomenal with a wide selection and excellent service.
We also enjoyed the pool after our long days of sightseeing. The location was perfect. We were able to walk to many attractions and to excellent restaurants.
My only complaint is that there the front desk staff/concierge staff was not very knowledgeable. They did not make any recommendations for restaurants when I asked for suggestions. We also asked for help finding a sandwich shop open in the morning so that we could pick up some lunch for our day trip to Sachsenhausen. The concierge did not know of any such places but we ended up passing a Subway sandwich shop within several blocks of the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillyDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I love the Westin as does my husband. So it was easy to decide to stay there. We were not disappointed as the service and staff were outstanding. And having flown from the USA, after a long flight the "heavenly bed" was heavenly and I immediately fall asleep (not always true at other hotels). Tell me where I can get one!

We stayed starting the 8th of September for five days, and our grand room was just that. So spacious and comfortable. The hotel food was wonderful and gorgeous presentation, plus salads with flower blossoms! Our reception was wonderful and our concierge was all "service". We loved it here and would really love coming back to Berlin. I meant to get a city map of Berlin to frame but I forgot and I wonder if anyone can help with that? Truly, a five star plus hotel and we were happy to have the opportunity to stay there during our visit to Berlin. Oh, and we loved your neighborhood the best. Great location! Love to all that helped us in any way during our stay. We are proudly recommending the Westin Grand in Berlin!

Room Tip: We had a room facing the garden. Very quiet and peaceful and beautiful to look at. We even enjoyed g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosebarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear guest, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your kind words. We could meet your expectations and convince you with our service. It is really nice to read! So have a good time until your next stay with us - we are looking forward to your visit! The Westin Grand Berlin-Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#57 of 634 in Berlin
4,395 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#52 of 634 in Berlin
1,905 reviews
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#10 of 634 in Berlin
1,200 reviews
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Berlin

Property: The Westin Grand Berlin
Address: Friedrichstr. 158 - 164, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#45 Business Hotel in Berlin
#69 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#70 Family Hotel in Berlin
#79 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous location in the historic city centre, trendy district "Berlin-Mitte", on the corner "Unter den Linden"/ "Friedrichstrasse" and very well connected to all public transportation.Sights like Brandenburger Tor, Checkpoint Charlie, Museumsinsel and Gendarmenmarkt within walking distance. 400 Elegant rooms and suites, lavish lobby with grand staircase, restaurant, bar, summer terrace, spacious hotel garden, spa with indoor pool, fitness area, business center, 10 function rooms. Have a little relaxation and stay well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Westin Grand Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Berlin Hotel Berlin
Westin Hotel Berlin
Westin Berlin
Berlin Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing