We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The WORST Hotel in best Location !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Grand Berlin
Ranked #100 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
134 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The WORST Hotel in best Location !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

What a pity...this is a mass tourism hotel with service and attitude to match. Forget the star rating !
The staff attitude, reception, valet, room service are comparable with a superior hostel at a far lesser price. As a frequent visitor to Germany, I have seldom encountered such "could not care less attitude in any hotel at any price ! What a pity - the location is superb.

Room Tip: Rooms are tired, corridors long, no separate showers, Suggest: anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geomeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,211
    1,014
    285
    96
    46
See reviews for
357
1,041
213
692
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tanvald, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed for two night in a garden view room with a queen bed. Clean!!! The best bed we ever have until now in hotel. Staff efficient and friendly including the concierge. The breakfast is very good but the breakfast room is boring. Poor waitrees service second morning on 22-07-2012.
You can not see all the building from outside for a scaffolding/construction now.
Architecturally very nice interior especially the lobby with staircase.
All inside looks dark, no charm. But it is a subjective evaluation. Somebody will like it.

Room Tip: A garden view room untill construction work will be finished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear guest, every opinion is welcome and therefore we thank you for your comments even if we could not convince you completely. Perphaps during your next stay - we would be pleased. The Westin Grand Berlin-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Hills, Missouri
Level Contributor
167 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights last week. We traveled with our 2 children ages 13 and 16 which required us to book 2 rooms. What a great set up! We had an entrance door to a short hallway and two doors off this hallway. It gave us a nice amount of privacy yet we felt good having the kids right across our private hallway. Kind of neat...each room even had a doorbell!

The rooms are beautiful and the beds plush. Nice touch was the complimentary bottle of water each morning in our room. Nice selection of complimentary teas and coffees.

The rooms did not have a clock in them which I found odd. Also, would have liked to have bedding (such as a sheet) besides the thick comforter. It got kind of warm during the middle of the night. We got one delivered to the room one evening but housekeeping removed it the next day.

The kids room had a balcony with a view of Brandenburg Gate. Nice.

The lobby is absolutely beautiful and the staff was very friendly. The breakfast buffet is fabulous. The location is perfect...within walking distance of much.

Love this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbeLIncoln,St.Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Hills, Missouri
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Fantastic hotel with wonderful service. This is an elegant hotel that was build in the East and refurbished after the wall fell. It is a prime location only few blocks from Brandenburg Tor, Reichstag, museums, restaurants and shopping. If lucky enough to get a corner room at Unter den Linden and Freideriechstrasse you have wonderful views. However, beware that a major reworking of the Underground U6 on Friederiechstrasse has closed the intersection and heavy equipment is tearing everything up. We were on 4th floor and were awakened one morning by the work at about 7:00. Other mornings were ok. You may want to consider a garden view room because of this. Our room was spacious, clean and modern, everything you would expect of a higher priced property. The breakfast buffet was fabulous, do not pass this up. Danish, fresh fruit, made to order omelets, and huge variety. Pool looked great so bring your swim suit. Lobby bar was nice, but somewhat quiet.

Room Tip: Because of construction on Frederiechstrasse you may want to consider garden view room. This is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stopped here for one night, very good location for exploring the sights around the Mitte area
Hotel interior quite stunning looking up to glass roof
Rooms not huge but very well appointed and bed very, very comfy.
Friendly staff, so overall a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TedwardWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Great - your evaluation makes us happy. Thank you for being our guest and for your effort in regards to report your expierences. Hopefully your travel plans will bring you back to Berlin - and us! Your Westin Grand Berlin-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Five nights in the cheapest room were absolutely delightful. Lovely room with sunlit large window looking out onto typically Berlin mix of contemporary and old architecture. Fabulous bed. The decor is simple but fresh, bright and in immaculate condition. No dodgy bathroom fittings or murky corners here. I've never met such charming and professional staff, from casual meetings with bell boys in lifts and cleaners in corridors, to the helpful concierge and waiting staff in the lobby bar. Service was truly outstanding. Room service was exceptionally prompt and excellent value (with the exception outlined below) although the menu is relatively limited.
The only negative here is the absence of tea and coffee making facilities in the room. This was compounded by the fact that ordering coffee or tea from room service was truly exorbitant. At 8.50euros, coffee costs more than a plate of poached eggs and salmon. The one blight on an otherwise perfect experience, the quality and value of the rest of my stay more than made up for it. Thoroughly recommended.
Location wise - short walk to public transport, very close to major sights and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pigeon78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear guest, we thank you so much for your kind evaluation and your nice words. We deeply regret when we could not meet your expectations completely especially in regards to the coffee/tea making facilities. Coffee/tea making facilities can be ordered and you will get the complete equipment including coffee/tea. If you need more it will be charged with 1 Euro and service charge of 4.00 €. We hope this could be acceptable and will not deter you from returning to The Westin - we are looking forward to you! Andrea W., Westin Grand Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

The room is clean, the service is friendly, it is in a good position, but just not somewhere you feel you can go and relax. If you want a clean functional hotel, great, if you want somewhere that has some charm or a comfortable corner then not here.

Room Tip: busy road on one side, so up high if on that side... and can be a long walk from lift to 'new...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSMLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Ececutive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear guest, we regret that you were disappointed and we could not fulfil your expectations. That you did not find something special here what your stay makes memorable. But perhaps we get occasion to convince you upon a next Berlin visit .... Yours Westin Grand Berlin Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#4 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#52 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#50 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#12 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Berlin

Property: The Westin Grand Berlin
Address: Friedrichstrasse 158 - 164, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#45 Business Hotel in Berlin
#69 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#70 Family Hotel in Berlin
#76 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous location in the historic city centre, trendy district "Berlin-Mitte", on the corner "Unter den Linden"/ "Friedrichstrasse" and very well connected to all public transportation.Sights like Brandenburger Tor, Checkpoint Charlie, Museumsinsel and Gendarmenmarkt within walking distance. 400 Elegant rooms and suites, lavish lobby with grand staircase, restaurant, bar, summer terrace, spacious hotel garden, spa with indoor pool, fitness area, business center, 10 function rooms. Have a little relaxation and stay well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Grand Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Berlin Hotel Berlin
Westin Hotel Berlin
Westin Berlin
Berlin Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing