We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Ranked #15 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great experience!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

It was our second time to Berlin but first time to stay at Adlon Kempinski last October, and we stayed there for four nights. Before my husband and I got to Berlin, I did some search as to which hotel to book during our stay in Berlin. Originally, we were afraid that the quality will not meet the pricy room rates, but we were happy to make the right decision, because the overall conditions and environment didn't fail our expectations. The hotel is at great location .It is just a few steps to take subway , and next to famous Brandenburg Gate. There had been holding Festival of Lights, and it was an amazing light show targeting at the Gate at night time. I would suggest reserving the hotel with breakfast included, not only because they offer a variety of choice, you can also dine in an elegant restaurant, or even pick a table where you can see the Brandenburg Gate from inside the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lin65430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,472
    536
    184
    71
    51
See reviews for
463
1,440
181
725
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Fantastic hotel in central Berlin. Foyer was totally manic so had to wait for 20 minutes to check in but were compensated by a free room upgrade. Breakfast whilst expensive was an experience not to be missed with the whole pantomime from a past era. Great view of the Brandenburg gate and Pariser Platz to watch the world pass by. Ideal for all tourist areas such as restaurants, bars,museums,etc in Mitte. Well worth staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 625 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This was our second pre- Christmas 5 days stay at Adlon since last year. As always its grand and luxury atmosphere, the Xmas decorations and the glass of champagne was indeed most welcome. Our Superior Deluxe Room overlooking the Under den Linden boulevard, was wonderful, and the exceptionally trained staff, were friendly and efficient. When we first arrived, Geronimo at the entrance made us feel very welcome. The breakfasts are sumptuous, with a lavish spread of all sorts of fruits, pastries, eggs, cereals, German breads, caviar, champagne, etc.
The Adlon as always richly deserves its 5 star reputation. We will most certainly stay here again; we can't think there is a better hotel in Berlin or indeed the rest of Germany.

Room Tip: Take a room with Under den Linden boulevard View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoRo1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This hotel was lovely with its history. As a young couple in our early thirties who were staying a week paying £350+ a night I felt the service seemed more dedicated to older clientele. Was somewhat stuffy at times. Negatives were not being able to sit for afternoon tea or have a drink in the bar as they catered for outside customers as opposed to actual residents. Asked on several occasions to be seated in the lobby to be told they couldn't...disappointing. On check-in, well past 3pm, were told room wasn't ready...told to wait, no explanation. Saw that some guests were handed champagne/sparkling wine on arrival...not for us though...again felt we were discriminated against being younger. That aside, the room was lovely, very clean, great TV, modern and homely. Pet hate, 2 single mattresses instead of a double...but it is a typical european thing...bed was very hard. Nothing was too much trouble when we asked reception. It was almost like anything we asked was catered for immediately, no questions asked. Just a shame the lobby area doesn't hold these values. Breakfast was delicious, service was outstanding from a gentleman named (Vol...I do apologise for not remembering), but he is a credit to the hotel. Overall, wonderful place but unfortunately would not return. The hotel needs a bit of life, far too stuffy. I like to let my hair down without being loud or obvious, but felt that everyone was far too pretentious here...let go a bit now and again and the Adlon would be wonderful and don't forget about us young people!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ILikeToTwirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kosinlay, Manager at Hotel Adlon Kempinski, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear esteemed reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time to post a review about your stay at the Hotel Adlon Kempinski here on Tripadvisor. Your comments are very meaningful to us as we strive to offer you a superb product and an outstanding service to any guests while staying with us. Please be ensured that we do not differentiate our guests by age nor cultural backgrounds. I am sorry to read that we were not able to convince you of our service this time. I would like to take the chance to express my sincere apologies.

I kindly ask you to contact me personally at franck.droin (at) kempinski.com as I would like to receive further feedback on your latest experience with the Hotel Adlon Kempinski.

I am looking forward to hearing from you and to welcoming you back to make you next stay a remarkable one.


Best regards,

Franck Droin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringmer
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We have stayed at the Hotel for our three visits to Berlin. It has a great location just by the Brandenburg Gate so convenient for getting around. The service is the best we have received in all our years of travelling the world. The rooms are superb and the attention to detail is outstanding. Nothing is too much trouble. The Adlon definitely has that 'wow' factor but do look around for eating out as there are many excellent and well priced restaurants around the area.
We can recommend it to anyone wanting that special experience in Berlin.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms that are one step up from the basic price level - they cost just a few pounds more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed here last month, had a basic room which was absolutely great. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who has the ability to stay here. The atmosphere in the lobby shows a historically important hotel in the center of Berlin.

For first timers, this location is great to walk around, but there are much better restaurants if you just delve out of this area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TalleyrandNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

we spent a fantastic 5 days at the adlon in berlin. the location is amazing, the suite was gorgeous and the service upbeat and accomodating.
the hotel is truly beautiful and we felt that we were experiencing the flavor of old world europe.
berlin is an exciting place to visit and the adlon is the 'place to stay'.

Room Tip: our travel agent booked the flight and the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ron b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,528 reviews
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#10 of 634 in Berlin
1,200 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#9 of 634 in Berlin
2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#6 of 634 in Berlin
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adlon Kempinski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adlon Kempinski

Property: Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Address: Unter den Linden 77, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Berlin
#5 Family Hotel in Berlin
#8 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#13 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#14 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Adlon Kempinski 5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Adlon Kempinski, Berlin’s premier address that has fascinated guests since 1907. Ideally located in the very heart of a vibrant city, right next to Berlin’s famous landmark Brandenburg Gate, this iconic and luxurious hotel exudes the ultimate in style and elegance. The Hotel Adlon Kempinski welcomes guests with remarkable European Flair and heartwarming service. Three restaurants, including the Lorenz Adlon Esszimmer and the stylish Japanese-Thai restaurant Sra Bua by Tim Raue, serve the most demanding palates. With its 9,000 sq-ft spread over three levels, the Adlon Spa by Resense, Berlin’s greatest wellness haven, invites guests to enjoy soul nourishing treatments. Welcome to a living legend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Adlon Kempinski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adlon Kempinski Hotel
Adlon Kempinski Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing