We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel and perfect localization” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Adlon Kempinski

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Ranked #18 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Vitória, Espirito Santo, Brazil
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and perfect localization”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel, for the price we got, the hotel was awesome. Minibar a bit overpriced, in ny opinion eur7,50 for a botle of eater is too much. Besides that, great service and excellent rooms.
The hotel is just next the Bradenburg Portal, tiergarden, among other nice spots

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gustavo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,350
    522
    174
    68
    50
See reviews for
445
1,360
177
695
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had high expectations staying at this historic hotel, and they were met in every respect. We had a beautiful room with all of the conveniences and comforts that you would expect in this class of hotel -- very roomy. The service was genuinely friendly and accommodating. The concierge desk provided helpful restaurants suggestions when we asked. The location is perfect for seeing all of the major sites in Berlin on foot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friscobased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wonderfully located by the Brandenburg Gate and convenient to dining and shopping. The staff are exceptional and the accommodations are first rate. The breakfast is fabulous and even includes German Brats and beer along with champagne and caviar. Something for all tastes. Staying here was one of the highlights of our European vacation.

Room Tip: We chose a standard room as we were only there for 3 days. It was perfectly adequate and you can sav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mdray31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Berlin is a great place for a long weekend break we went over the August bank holiday and we chose the Adlon Kempinski to stay the service was exceptional and very welcoming nearly everyone speaks perfect English language. the rooms are well appointed and of a good size with plenty of wardrobe space the bed was comfortable. We stayed on B&B basis and the breakfast was brilliant as much as you want the choice was endless. The location of the hotel is 50 yards from the Brandenburg Gate. its easy to get around and using the metro and the overland trains to see the artworks on what remains of the Berlin Wall produced by artists from around the world and no trip to berlin would be complete without seeing check point Charlie and the museum.
So much to see and do and explore such as the Olympic stadium

Room Tip: Best value room is the double deluxe it's has everything you need and all the floors are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dti-daveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Adlon - what a name, what a history - expectations are high. After staying there for only one night we were sort of disappointed by the overwhelming professionality of the staff and the lack of by the guests. Loud shouting in russian, at the brakfast, untasty outfits of guests, barefeet children in the Lobby! Plus the feeling that the Hotel was run by trainees only, who acted like cute little robots. They were obvoiusly trained to say the same phrases over and over again and forced to end every sentence with ' youre welcome'. Too fake. When we sat at the Bar, we found Popcorn on the ground like in every other movie theater. Rooms were fabulous and so quite, you couldnt hear anything. We were automatically upgraded at check in.It is just not possible to get the glamour from old times back after the violent bombing and distructure after WW II. It was an experience, just for the location. Where else do you have a view on the Brandenburger Tor? No need to go back though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank am267992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I find it very hard to rank this hotel, because in many ways it was excellent and in other it was quite awful.

All the awful happened on our day of arrival.

They appeared to be preparing for a VIP arrival when we turned up, and we seemed to be rushed through reception with undue haste. I've complained about slow check-in before, but never of being rushed.

The first non-smoking room we were offered smelt strongly of tobacco. The second, slightly less strongly. We settled for the third, but I still could detect a faint aroma.

There was no kettle in the room, and when we asked for one we got a thermos of hot water. We are English, and we like our tea the way only we can make it. That needs a kettle.

The room itself was large with a well equipped bathroom - twin basins, bath and walk in shower. The decor was very masculine with lots of dark wood - not my own taste, but my wife liked it. We both agreed that there were a few more signs of wear and tear than we had expected. The Kempinski's we had tried in Bratislava and Hamburg offered a more modern luxury.

So we went to bed less than completely happy with what we had planned as the highlight hotel of our 3 week tour.

Day 2

The gastronomic breakfast is exactly that everything fresh and delicious with an enormous range available.

Outside it's raining cats and dogs. I get an e-mail telling me that my train for the next day is cancelled due to flooding. The concierge sorts out alternatives.

It poured all day, so we have coffee on the balcony and people watch. Lunch by the foyer fountain, then the afternoon with the pool and sauna almost to ourselves. A delicious meal in the room and an early night. What a fantastic day without ever leaving the building.

This hotel is a venerable old gentleman, and hopefully Kempinski will give him a facelift in due course. We hope to visit Berlin again next year, and hopefully we'll get to look around the city this time, but no, we won't be staying at the Kempinski Adlon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nottoogrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I can't imagine anyone being unhappy with this hotel.
My husband declared it "the best I have ever stayed in".
The location right in front of the famous Brandenburg Gate and immediately next to a U Bahn
& S Bahn station can't be beat.
The rooms are sumptuous, the staff are fabulous ( especially the concierges) and the public spaces top of the range.
Sitting outside in the terrace sipping a champagne you will thank yourself for choosing this place.
Not cheap, but the experience is worth it.
If your budget stretches, take a room with a view of the Brandenburg gate or the Unter de linden.

Room Tip: If you can splurge get a view of the Brandenburg gate but if not it is right outside the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#4 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#3 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#13 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adlon Kempinski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adlon Kempinski

Property: Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Address: Unter den Linden 77, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Berlin
#5 Family Hotel in Berlin
#10 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#14 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#16 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Adlon Kempinski 5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Adlon Kempinski, Berlin’s premier address that has fascinated guests since 1907. Ideally located in the very heart of a vibrant city, right next to Berlin’s famous landmark Brandenburg Gate, this iconic and luxurious hotel exudes the ultimate in style and elegance. The Hotel Adlon Kempinski welcomes guests with remarkable European Flair and heartwarming service. Three restaurants, including the Lorenz Adlon Esszimmer and the stylish Japanese-Thai restaurant Sra Bua by Tim Raue, serve the most demanding palates. With its 9,000 sq-ft spread over three levels, the Adlon Spa by Resense, Berlin’s greatest wellness haven, invites guests to enjoy soul nourishing treatments. Welcome to a living legend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Adlon Kempinski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adlon Kempinski Hotel
Adlon Kempinski Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing