We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Berlin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Ranked #15 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Zermatt, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best location in Berlin”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

After several years of abstinence, I stayed again at the famous Adlon Hotel (featured In the famous movie "Unknown" with Liam Neeson).

I has kept all its charm, its absolute magic location nearby the Brandburgertor.

The hotel is well operated, and its staff is pretty good.


But be aware that it is an old fashion property, where oldma would go for a tea in the afternoon. The average age of guests is probably higher than 50 ! Moreover the hotel still charge you for internet (€30 for 24 hours), which is outdated in my view, when room price are trading at 20% premium compared to other Berlin 5 Star properties. On thé otherhand, Berlin is still very cheap compared to other European capitals.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baodai999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,552
    549
    189
    72
    53
See reviews for
479
1,486
183
744
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Notts
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here Feb half term and cannot stop talking about the service, atmosphere, room and friendliness of the Adlon. We were greeted by a doorman who took our bags from the taxi and told us not to worry, he would ensure they reached our room. Checked in and one of the Concierge team showed us to our room and explained lights etc. We had a walk in wardrobe and separate bathroom and toilet as well as a large bedroom. We had drinks each evening in the Lobby bar and, although expensive, this is what you expect from a 5 star hotel. We ate in one of the restaurants (Le Petiti Felix) and our meal was lovely. I fell ill with a bad throat infection part way through ourbreak and Victoria of the Concierge team went to the pharmacy for me twice and I even received a tray of various herbal teas with a card signed by the reception team wishing me well. We were so impressed we have changed our summer holiday plans to stay at another Kempinski hotel (Budapest) and hope it will live up to the very high standard set by the Adlon.

For those people complaining about wi-fi charges - become a member of the GHA Discovery Club and you will have free wi-fi - it is free to join.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romanycatgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Berlin is increasingly becoming one of our favorite cities and the Adlon remains -- despite a sea of new hotels -- a favorite place to stay. The Adlon manages to be classic and feel modern at the same time. The service is first rate; the location makes walking easy; the rooms are stylized. We love the breakfast and the buzz of the lobby areas and bars. You can't go wrong at the Adlon

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Not at all impressed by the reception staff at this hotel. The hotel, in the shadow of the Brandenburg gate is very elegant, but the reception staff reckon they were above it all with their arrogant attitude. As a contrast the staff in the well appointed spa and fitness area were very good, their counterparts front of house could take a lesson from them. The room was clean big and well appointed. The bathroom was huge and clean. Breakfast was good with a wide selection of foods to choose from. The situation of this hotel, beside so many iconic buildings from recent history is second to none but the reception staff spoiled what should have been a memorable stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kosinlay, Manager at Hotel Adlon Kempinski, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear esteemed customer,

We cordially thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us in this review. We are taking pride in offering you a service above all standards to make your stay a remarkable one. I am very sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations while being a guest in the Hotel Adlon Kempinski. Please take my sincere apologies and be assured that the experienced challenge is not our standard.

Kindly contact me personally at franck.droin (at) kempinski.com so that I can apologize in person and to get some more insights on your experience with us. Our staff is frequently trained and your valuable comments show that there is space for improvement for us to make your next stay more memorable.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Adlon Kempinski, soon.

Best regards,
Franck Droin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was incredible since the checkin where every step is perfect making you feel better than at home the beds where incredible and the executive suite was perfect with a view on the Brandenburg door.
The breakfast was great and I recommend you to ask to go to the small room behind as there you have the view on the Brandenburg door.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights last week . A beautiful hotel with so many facilities in a fantastic location . Staff welcoming , attentive and helpful at all times. This is my 3rd time staying at a Kempinski hotel and the general standard was as high as I expected. I stayed in the new part of the hotel and before coming to Berlin had hurt my back. I was keen to use the pool as I was in constant pain but because of the size of this hotel the journey to the pool from my room was almost an expedition.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagsieDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DF
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

An outstanding service as well as facilities. Besides that everyone wanted to be served first the team did well, the service at the lobby bar was slow but the piano man make it possible. You are just a few steps from historical monuments do not loose this opportunity.

Room Tip: The concierge makes things easier he's old school so he manages everything directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turista2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,561 reviews
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#11 of 634 in Berlin
1,225 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#9 of 634 in Berlin
2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#21 of 634 in Berlin
2,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adlon Kempinski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adlon Kempinski

Property: Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Address: Unter den Linden 77, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Berlin
#5 Family Hotel in Berlin
#8 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#13 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#14 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Adlon Kempinski 5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Adlon Kempinski, Berlin’s premier address that has fascinated guests since 1907. Ideally located in the very heart of a vibrant city, right next to Berlin’s famous landmark Brandenburg Gate, this iconic and luxurious hotel exudes the ultimate in style and elegance. The Hotel Adlon Kempinski welcomes guests with remarkable European Flair and heartwarming service. Three restaurants, including the Lorenz Adlon Esszimmer and the stylish Japanese-Thai restaurant Sra Bua by Tim Raue, serve the most demanding palates. With its 9,000 sq-ft spread over three levels, the Adlon Spa by Resense, Berlin’s greatest wellness haven, invites guests to enjoy soul nourishing treatments. Welcome to a living legend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Adlon Kempinski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adlon Kempinski Hotel
Adlon Kempinski Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing