We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and enjoyed the experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Bristol
Ranked #160 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“Great location and enjoyed the experience”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed for a conference that we turned into a getaway as a couple. We had an upgraded room so the size was fine. It was December which makes for a great Christmas experience as the Germans to that well. Europe always takes a little adjustment for Americans but that's what makes travel fun and interesting. "King bed" is more like 2 twins together, but we enjoyed the room. Breakfast was just ok, a bit repetitive and service was a little sleepy and not attentive. Spa and pool were superb so don't skip that. But the location was great with restaurants and shopping and museums etc in every direction. If you get a good deal this hotel will be fine, enjoy the stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    626
    283
    111
    62
See reviews for
227
636
119
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Had higher expectations about this hotel, been in different hotels in Berlin before and thought that this one would be a real exceptional experience, got very disappointed with the room size, furniture, style, etc.

The service in the hotel is very good, a real five stars style.

Breakfast buffet is quite poor (not a 5 stars buffet), in comparison with other 4 stars hotels in Berlin, this breakfast is the lowest I've ever had.

The gym is very poor too, very small in size and very limited equipment (one treadmell), however, the heated indoor pool is beautiful.

Location is GREAT, maybe the best thing about this hotel is its location.

In general, I really got disapointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arefaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We got a late cold snap on our visit so we really appreciated this warm hotel with its swimming pool and steam room and the fact that we could get to an underground station withing 100 m was a bonus. The rooms are a little tired for a hotel of this quality, but the beds are comfortable and combined with triple glazing to keep out the train noise gave us a good nights sleep. The staff are very friendly and reception seem to have a good sense of humour promising us better weather next time. Although the location, near the U1 and Zoo stations was good it is a bit west centered rather than central Berlin. Having said that there are many of the best shops, restaurants and cafes in the immediate area, and our 5 day public transport pass (excellent value) meant we could get anywhere in the Berlin area relatively quickly. I was a bit sorry to see that the hotel still charges for its wifi connection and at quite a high rate as well, even checking a few e-mails cost me 2.9 euro per go even at their special knock down winter rate. I think such charges are excessive and should be removed all together or to prevent long term usage maybe the first 15 minutes every day could be free. In short this is a high quality bolt hole to return to after a hard day at the museums and shopping malls of this "new" capital city.

Room Tip: High room are probably better to lift you out of the street noise but the triple glazing will do mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed here for my Birthday with my wife and two friends where we had adjoining rooms - they were superior rooms and they were very clean - no kettle or hot drink making facilities would really be its only negative point. There are a few reviews on here saying the place is dated, in answer to them i would say that yes in comparing the hotel with some of the newer eye-sores that have been erected over the years then yes internally the rooms are not as modern but they certainly are clean, comfortable whilst still being luxury and giving great insight into how things were in Ku Dam before the war.
We didn't eat in the grill but the menu and the restraurant looked lovely - we had breakfast in Reinhard's which had an amazing selection along with attentive staff - they will make you dishes or items to order - just ask and the chef will come and see you personally. Reinhard's has amazing views for people watching and also has parisian style seating outside where you can enjoy and coffee or beer and see the city move before your eyes, they even have blankets on the chairs ready to keep you warm.
The front desk staff and the bell boys/girls are extremely helpful and polite - nothing seems too much for them and they even gave us free sparkling wine as a birthday gift to use in the bristol bar - very nice, and has a singing pianist n the evenings, laid back and almost high end jazz club feel which isn't exactly cup of tea but again the staff are so attentive and the other guests appreciated the music and atmosphere more than i.
There is a pool and spa which my friends took advantage of and said the facilities were great!
Beers and drinks are a little more pricey than the surrounding bars but you are in a 5 star hotel so you should expect that, still a beer is only 4,50 which compared to other capital cities is v.cheap.
There is a U-bahn stop directly outside or a number of buses, including sight seeing buses on the Ku Dam. I think its well worth 5 stars and if this is the area you want to be in then i would recommend! We got a fantastic deal through voyage prive so not sure if i would be shouting so loud if i booked direct though the hotel was at full capacity for our entire stay!
I would go back and i loved my stay here,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mosfina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A large hotel in a very central location in West Berlin. Really easy to get to on the bus, about 10 stops from the airport. A very grand entrance and the staff were lovely. I had a standard twin room on the first floor. The room was spacious but very dated. There was a terrible smell from the bathroom (the drains I think) and I also heard other people complaining about the same smell. It wasn't too bad when you closed the bathroom door. Also, you can hear the neighbours! I think this hotel was the best in West Berlin in past years but now it's a little dated and I definitely would not say this is a 5 star it would even be a push to give it 4. Having said all that for the price and the location it was worth it although next time I visit Berlin I will be staying in the East.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms over the reception on the first floor, can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbaraelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strood, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I don't frequent many 5 star hotels so this was quite an experience. The hotel itself is beautiful, the foyer is very grande, the staff are great and the room was very comfortable. The restaurant you get breakfast from is very good, with an excellent buffet selection if you sit on the top floor you get a nice view of the busy street below.

The location of the hotel is very good and is close to the underground although you can walk to various tourist spots if you fancy the stroll, the public transport system around Berlin is impressive so you're well catered for on that front.

Finally the "irish" coffee's are lethal and are definitely worth a go, I'm pretty sure it had more alcohol than coffee in it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Positive:
- large room
- large selection of breakfast
- nice restaurant
- metro, bus, restaurants and shops are nearby

Negative:
- not refurbished.. looks dated in and outside as well, aslo the rooms
- staff is so-so...
example: reception is not aware of the city tours, In the restaurant I asked the hostess for a candle as my friend was celebrating her birthday and she could only say "we do not have", in a 5 star hotel??? Even in an Ibis hotel I could get easily
- only 1 lift was working
- the walls are tthin so I could easily hear everything from the corridor
- wifi, only 10 minutes is free and takes ages to get registrated
- stayed for 2 nights, both days I asked for omlet, 1st day I got my omlet with no taste, 2nd day I received something different - with no taste again
-mattress was too hard

Location: if you like shopping it is perfect, if you are looking for the sites it is a little bit far away

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarbucksFreak25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#35 of 634 in Berlin
1,823 reviews
Charlottenburg
Swissotel Berlin
Swissotel Berlin
#38 of 634 in Berlin
2,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Steigenberger Hotel Berlin
Charlottenburg
Hotel Zoo Berlin
Hotel Zoo Berlin
#133 of 634 in Berlin
449 reviews
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#25 of 634 in Berlin
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Bristol

Property: Kempinski Hotel Bristol
Address: Kurfuerstendamm 27, 10719 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#89 Family Hotel in Berlin
#111 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#133 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#153 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Bristol 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the famous shopping boulevard Kurfürstendamm and within walking distance to Berlin's sights and attractions like the green heart of the city: Tiergarten park, Berlin Zoo, KaDeWe shopping center and Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church. The 246 elegant rooms and 55 luxurious suites are designed with great attention to detail and welcome guests from all over the world. Different culinary options are available to guests, at the "Reinhard's at Kurfürstendamm", the gourmet restaurant "Kempinski Grill", the "Gobelin Halle" and the "Bristol Bar", one of the ten most elegant bars in the city. For relaxation, guests can enjoy the generous sp area which offers a 18-metre-pool, sauna, steam bath, mini-gym and a pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing