We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel, but...”
Review of Regent Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Regent Berlin
Ranked #5 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel, but...”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The hotel itself is amazing, built and decorated in luxurious style. We stayed in a suite so we had a great view and a small balcony. The service is very well-trained and client-oriented. You should obviously visit Fischers Fritz restaurant (2 Michelin guide stars). The breakfast is a la carte but they can cook you everything according to your wishes.
The only our problem was connected with the concierge. Beforehand we asked him to buy 4 tickets to the Berlin opera, he managed to find 4 tickets for 180 each on the black market. But at the last day one of us had to go home, so we decided to sell or to return the 4th ticket to save money. The concierge told us that he would try to sell it and save money for us but he doubted that someone needed just one ticket. When we returned at the hotel and asked him about the ticket, the concierge started to talk rot, that he could't sell it and that's why he gave it as a gift to the doorman who had been working in the Regent Hotel for 10 years. Firstly, 10 years are not 30 years. Secondly, why the concierge had decided to be generous by on my behalf? He should have returned this ticket to me without any questions. 5 minutes later the concierge started telling that he had sent this doorman to the opera house to sell the ticket before the Aida itself. It reminded to me ravings of a madman. So we had no time and took the taxi to the opera. The most amazing thing was that the place was occupied by another guy. That means that the ticket was sold. Next day the main concierge Stephan started to explain the rightness of the concierge and that was the worst thing. Instead of solving the problem and finding ways to apologize concierges prefer to conceal everything and show their disrespect to the clients.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonid R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentBerlin, Manager at Regent Berlin, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Leonid R,

thank you for choosing the Regent Berlin on the occasion of your last trip to Berlin and rating us here on TripAdvisor afterwards. It is with great pleasure that you name us the "perfect hotel", even though there is a "but..." which we are highly condidered about.

First of all we would like to apologize for the circumstances caused by the ticket handling via our concierge team. Please be assured that this is not our standard at all. We therefore appreciate your comment even more because it shows where we have to initiate appropriate action.

We would be more than happy to welcome you again at the Regent Berlin and hope to have you back as yet another satisfied repeating guest.

With best regards,

Your team of the Regent Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,233
    227
    57
    17
    6
See reviews for
232
727
78
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
483 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed for three nights in February and it really lived up to its billing as a terrific hotel. Check-in is 3 pm so after a long flight from New York, it wasn't easy to have to pretty much wait until 3 pm to get into the room but the Berlin Film Festival meant no rooms were available earlier. But the staff is wonderfully friendly and polite and the hotel's central location means it is easy to do the Museum stretch or some such while you wait for your room to be ready.
The rooms are large and elegantly simply decorated but very comfortable. The bathroom is spacious and with very good small touches. Little things like pens that are heavy and not your cheap plastic ones, housekeeping that notices you have a book and leaves a hotel bookmark for you to use, complimentary water and little bags of chocolates, complimentary shoeshine, English newspaper and free good wifi all add to the Regent's reputation. Excellent room service (good menu) and terrific breakfast (EUR34 if not included in room) buffet. No coffee maker in room, which is a bit of an issue with many European hotels.
The kind of hotel that offers its deputy concierge to go on a run through Berlin with you offering exercise and sight-seeing.
It is walking distance to great shopping, lots of good food choices and many of the tourist destinations yet on a "side" street and relatively quiet.

Room Tip: I had room 304 that faces the main street but you wouldn't know from the noise-free windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rnarisetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentBerlin, Manager at Regent Berlin, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear rnarisetti,

thank you very much for rating us after having stayed in town at the time of the Berlin Film Festival. We do appriciate your review here on TripAdvisor very much. It shows us being on the right path to achieve our aim in offering a home away from home for every guest. Too sad that we didn´t make it up to a five star rating... For next time we do have that coffee maker waiting for you as soon as you let us know. That is not a big deal at all.

We do hope to welcome you back soon so don´t let us wait too long.

With best regards,

Your team of the Regent Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is in great location as we were within walking distance to Xmas market and shopping facilities as well as restaurants and eateries. Stay was very comfortable and the staff helpful and service minded. Room was well equipped and to the standard as expected. There were morning robes and slippers for our oldest child as well as a complimentary hamper to our baby son. Didn't expect this but am very happy that hotel is child friendly whilst still able to offer the luxuries. Fischer fritz restaurant is located on ground floor making dining easy. The only downside is the lounges which are very small relative to the number of guests in the hotel.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lyllee2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentBerlin, Manager at Regent Berlin, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear lyllee2010,

Thank you very much for your kind recommendation here on TripAdvisor.

It makes us so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with your family in our hotel, that we are complying with your expectations and that everything was to your fullest satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

With best regards,

Your team of the Regent Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I have stayed at Regent Berlin 3 times and i can recommend it to anyone. The rooms are wonderful every room has a special personality , the staff welcoming and friendly, good location very close to the main attractions , attentive service and amazing decoration.. the place is just heaven on earth. i would not hesitate to go back anytime.

A, Sultan

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Sultan_airborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentBerlin, Manager at Regent Berlin, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear A_Sultan_airborn,

Thank you very much for your five star review on us here on TripAdvisor. There is one thing we are extremely proud of - having you rating us " the place is just heaven on earth". This truely means a great deal to us. Thank you.

And when you are planning to return we would more than love to welcome you again.

With best regards from sunny Berlin,

Your team of the Regent Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed here for a few nights when in Berlin and was one the best hotels I have been to. The staff was friendly as ever. Lovely rooms and very comfortable beds. The bathroom was big and had lovely amenities. The morning breakfast was probably one of the best I have had. Also a great location and lots of cafes and shops near by. Will come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KGha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentBerlin, Manager at Regent Berlin, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear KGha,

thank you very much for your review on the occasion of your stay in our beautiful city. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and even took the time to share your experience with the community.

Don´t let us wait too long for your return. It would be great having you back soon.

With best regards,

Your team of the Regent Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is an excellent hotel in an excellent location. The rooms are first rate and the staff is great.
When I go back to Berlin, I will definiely stay here again. The breakfast that we had each morning was first rate. The main restaurant is one of the best in Berlin

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimPerlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentBerlin, Manager at Regent Berlin, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear JimPerlow,

thank you very much for your five star review here on TripAdvisor. We are glad that everything worked out to your fullest satisfaction.

Don´t let us wait too long until your next visit to the beautiful city of Berlin and your as well as our beloved Regent Berlin.

With best regards,

Your team of the Regent Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

There were little things that at this point I don't remember. I consider Regent Berlin an excellent value as one dinner and all the full service breakfasts were included in the room rate. The morning meals were the best we've had anywhere including restaurants. The service was sweet and professional and the food in a word delicious.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianPatrickMolloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentBerlin, Manager at Regent Berlin, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear BrianPatrickMolloy,

Thank you so much for taking your time and for your great comments here on TripAdvisor!

It makes us so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in our hotel, that we are complying with your expectations and that everything was to your fullest satisfaction.

We do hope to welcome you back soon!

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#10 of 634 in Berlin
1,209 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 634 in Berlin
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#16 of 634 in Berlin
3,357 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#15 of 634 in Berlin
821 reviews
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#6 of 634 in Berlin
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Berlin

Property: Regent Berlin
Address: Charlottenstrasse 49, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Berlin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#3 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#5 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regent Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Regent Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing