We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Regent Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Regent Berlin
Ranked #4 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Elegant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. The staff are expertly trained and friendly (without being in your face). Breakfast is expertly presented. Rooms are slightly old fashioned but very comfortable. It's in the east side of the city and ideally located for a lot of activities

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank family3hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentBerlin, Manager at Regent Berlin, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear family3hotel,

thank you very much for your five star review on us here on TripAdvisor. Especially words like expertly trained, expertly friendly and expertly presented are music to our ears. Combined with such a great rating it shows us that we are on the right path to achieve our aim - simply offering a home away from home.

It would be just great having you back at the Regent Berlin. We will be waiting for you.

With best regards,

Your team of the Regent Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,203
    219
    53
    17
    6
See reviews for
224
706
77
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the day of departure (4 days) we had a wonderful stay at the hotel. All the staff said hello when we passed them including the cleaning staff and this made a lot of difference in how valued you feel as a customer. The reception staff where always helpful from finding a good place to eat to sorting out the wi-fi connection for my IPad.
The room was both spacious and very well appointed, bed confortable and pillows excellent quality all making for a good nights sleep. Bathroom was superb with a really good powerful shower and plenty of room to move around in when both of us where using the bathroom.

Breakfast was very good, fresh orange juice and a good selection of home made breads with hams and cheeses. I had the eggs benedict most days and this had perfectly poached eggs on top of a very good muffin. Salmon was offerd if you didn't like bacon and this too was delicious.
The restaurant has two michelin stars with prices to match. But the lunch menu seemed very good value. We has the special menu served until 19.00 in the orange summer lounge great value for three courses of this quality. Next time here I will try the tasting menu (worth saving up for!)

All in all one of the best hotels we have stayed in and consequently when in Berlin again this will be the choice for us.

Room Tip: Book a superior room for the size and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairplay666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentBerlin, Manager at Regent Berlin, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear fairplay666,

it is with so much pleasure to read your review regarding your stay with us. The headline "First class hotel" itself makes us proud. We are glad that everything worked out to your fullest satisfaction.

To take you at your word - we are already waiting to welcome you back. Don´t let us wait too long. Berlin is always worth a trip.

With best regards,

Your team of the Regent Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in a superior room with my boyfriend. We loved the room and especially the shower which was separate from the bath. Breakfast was lovely and the service excellent. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and we used the concierge to book some great restaurants nearby. The hotel is in the central part of Berlin near to many of the sites, Reichstag, Brandenberger Tor, and Checkpoint Charlie to name a few. Would recommend staying there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cattytid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentBerlin, Manager at Regent Berlin, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Cattytid,

thank you so much for choosing us to write your first review ever here on TripAdvisor. Is there a better way to start off with a luxury five star hotel and rating it five stars - not in our opinion...

Once again thank you very much and we hope to welcome you back soon.

With best regards,

Your team of the Regent Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Regent is in the heart of the old East Berlin, a block from the Konzerthaus and the two great cathedrals, 5-6 blocks from Museum Island, and very close to good restaurants. I especially appreciated the concierge Cem who made arrangements for me with two very capable guides, one a driving guide who took me everywhere in Berlin and then to Pottsdam, and a walking guide who took a small group of us to Museum Island and then took me to two art museums. Cem also recommended a good restaurant close by and was generally helpful. Room service is excellent and the service so prompt and with attention to detail and personal preferences. The rooms are not fancy, but well-appointed, and the beds are comfortable with high quality linens -- very good sleeping!

Room Tip: I was on the 5th floor, on the Charlottenstrase side. The room was very quiet even though there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentBerlin, Manager at Regent Berlin, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Sara P,

it is with great pleasure to read your latest review here on TripAdvisor. Thank you for all your praise on the Regent Berlin and especially on one of our concierges Cem.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you even had the chance to explore the city the right way. So why don´t you return asap to get more of our vibrant city? We would love to welcome you back...

With best regards from Berlin,

Your Team of the Regent Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Fabulous Service! Wonderful staff. Loved the separate shower and tub. A wonderful base for our 5 days in Berlin. We had breakfast made to order everyday and really enjoyed the eggs. The Prosciutto selection table side was yummy. Outstanding location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTravels1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentBerlin, Manager at Regent Berlin, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear FamilyTravels1985,

thank you very much for your review on the occasion of your 5 day stay in our beuatiful city. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and even took the time to share your experience with the community.

Don´t let us wait too long for your return. It would be great having you back soon.

With best regards,

Your tema of the Regent Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in a 1 bedroom suite. The room was well appointed but the noise quality was very poor. Twice I was woken by banging noises coming from within the hotel. On one of those nights I was woken again at 4am by a noisy amorous couple. I know that's not something the hotel can control but it does demonstrate the poor noise quality. The front desk staff were a huge let down. I found them intimidating, pretentious and in one case rude. When I asked a question at reception, rather than patiently trying to answer, I was made to feel stupid for asking the question. I didn't ask again!! On another occasion I asked the doorman to point out a street on the hotel city map. He didn't know where it was. He went to the concierge to ask and was greeted with what appeared to be a rude brush off. I don't understand German but the tone and manner of the response appeared to be "don't bother me with your silly question - I have more important things to do". This was done in front of me. I was astonished. I have never seen such a thing in a so called 5 star hotel. The hotel looks 5 star and the staff are dressed to match. Im sure they would be all over an "A" lister but for the rest of us the attitude seemed to be that they were doing us a favour by letting us stay in their hotel. This is an overpriced, rude, noisy and pretentious hotel which has let down the Regent brand. Never again for me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentBerlin, Manager at Regent Berlin, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Tom L,

first of all we would like to take the opportunity to thank you very much for your review here on TripAdvisor, even though it is "only" two starred. Having you shared your recent experience with us lets us know where we have to initiate proper action.

Please be assured that the above mentioned circumstances are not our standard in treating our guests and even employees themselves. Please accept our sincere apoligies on that.

In this particular case, even having you written that you will never return, it would be more than great to welcome you again at our hotel to proof our usually well performed service in relation to our philosophy - the Regent TAO. It is deplorable that we did not meet your expectations in first place and could not satisfy your needs to the fullest.

Dear Tom L, we would love to welcome you again!

With best regards,

Your team of the Regent Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

On a recent trip to Berlin, I stayed in two hotels, here at the Regent and at the Ritz Carlton. Both flawed with strengths and weaknesses, almost the mirror opposite of each other. If someone could combine the best of both, it would be a super hotel.
Basically the best part about the Regent is the room. It is very comfortable, not ideosyncratic of course, so it's the usual 5-star repro furniture but in compensation the bathroom is terrific if you can get past the horrid marble colour and the deep soaking bath amazing. Shower was excellent, copious hot water and room cleaning was thorough and professional and beyond the call of duty (folding of shirts flung on a chair etc). Turn down service was nice (but where is the flower or the choccy from Far Eastern Regents?) and a decent TV was great. Unfortunately the DVD player didn't play blu ray so all the blu ray films I brought with me to catch up on were useless.
The other side of the coin is the barely adequate service front of house. Reception was correct and polite but there was no enthusiasm or friendliness. It was quite disconcerting and very 4 star. The lobby was always empty like a mausoleum with a "no photos" sign...what? are you a national monument? and how weirdly offensive...the concierge was haphazardly in attendance and often absent as was the doorman. The whole point of 5 star is the service and over-abundance of people. This was a desert. Breakfasts too were very weak. Yes, the spread is decent except when you come to the cooked stuff, because, put simply, they can't cook. I had 4 days of breakfasts and they were all poor on the cooking side (bacon and eggs, two omelettes, one pancakes). I complained to reception about the first omelette and was informed that many guests like them that way (i.e. rubberised into extinction). The next day after explaining I wanted it "runny in the middle" it was just barely better. It is impossible to get attention for more coffee or more service after your initial order when you sit down. There are lots of people in lovely waistcoats scurrying around and a few suits (managers?) but the whole thing is badly organised and chaotic
I'm glad I got a criminally good deal off an online hotel price site, but even at this price the service was barely adequate. I'd have been pretty annoyed paying rack rates.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Froggydatjive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentBerlin, Manager at Regent Berlin, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Froggydatjive,

thank you very much for your recent review here on TripAdvisor on the occasion of your trip to Berlin. We are glad that you appreciated the room as well as the service of our housekeeping department.

On the other hand it is with great regret that you did not receive the service standard at other departments which you were expecting, especially in comparison to our hotels in Asia. Please be assured that the above mentioned issues are not our standard at all. Serving our guests, guided by the Regent TAO, is our primary aim and most likely every employee is part of the team due his/her passion for our daily work.

We do hope to welcome you back someday and already insure you of our atmost attentive care while using the opportunity of that second chance.

With best regards from Berlin,

Your team of the Regent Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#5 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#12 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#11 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#16 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Berlin

Property: Regent Berlin
Address: Charlottenstrasse 49, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Berlin
#2 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#5 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regent Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Regent Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Regent Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing