We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to explore Berlin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel-Pension Wittelsbach
Ranked #600 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great location to explore Berlin”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

The hotel is located just about 100 meters from Konstancestrasse U Bahn. The whole of Berlin is covered by the U & S Bahn trains. Tip- Buy a Berlin Welcome card for 25 Euros, it gives 3 days unlimited travel on buses and trains right out to Potsdam and the airports, also gives great discounts on Berlin attractions.
The hotel staff were very nice and spoke good English, breakfast was excellent, cold meats, cheeses, salad, breads etc, all served in spacious dining room.
Our room was very large with a beautiful ceiling and chandaleir. It also had a seperate couch and work table. The room was not modern but was tastefully decorated and very clean. The room was well heated despite the freezing tempratures outside.
We had a large corner bath in a seperate bathroom, which was very nice but took about 30 minutes to fill. The bathroom also had a hair shower attached to bath with a short pipe. As the bath took so long to fill, in the mornings we had to hold the hair shower over each other to get a shower. All good clean fun and it made for a memorable hoilday experience. If you didn`t know your room mate too well before your stay, you will afterwards!
A very nice hotel full of character and charm that you don`t get in the big chain hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a Comfort room, if you want a spacious room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philstreet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    21
    26
    19
    37
See reviews for
23
42
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Hotel Wittelsbach in Berlin was definitely the best deal of our whole three week trip. Located in an old mansion, but now equipped with an elevator, this hotel is located just two minutes walk from the UBahn (subway) and ten minutes walk from the Kurfürstendamm. We had a spacious room and a four piece bath, and every morning we were treated to a fantastic breakfast buffet, which included everything from yoghurt to juice, cheese and cold cuts, cereals, breads, tea, coffee and cake. And for all of this we paid €49 a night for both of us. The only problems: no internet in the room. For that we had to come down to the dining room and pay €5 a day extra.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EEM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tepic, nayarit, mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

we had made reservations at the Comet Hotel. upon our arrival we were informed that they did not have a room for us but would transfer us to the Wittelsbach. Elizabeth, the receptionist at Wittelsback, was waiting for us and did everything possible to make us comfortable and welcome. we were in a rather small triple room the first night, but were up graded to a suite for the rest of our stay. the breakfast was much better than in most places. a good, well-located hotel with excellent personnel. an extra thank-you to Elizabeth!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toronto4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Excellent staff. VERY friendly and helpful. Rooms are outdated, but adequate. It was hot in Berlin (90's) and very hot in the rooms. No fans available. Breakfast is good for most people. If you tend to be vegetarian, there is a store around the corner with soymilk, fruits, vegetables, etc.

They require all CASH up front. This means that is you change you mind, you can't go anywhere else. It also meant I had to carry lots of cash around.

The internet was an extra 5 euros a day, but did not work for me. It did work for some others.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank humbledbyexperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, and we had several problems. We arrived in the morning and we just left the luggage, since they told us to come back at 3 pm to check-in, that's fine, but....when we come back at 3 pm, we could get the luggage only after 45 min., it seems they had problems with the key of the storage room. We booked asking for a double-bed but the room they gave us had twin beds. We complained and they told us that unfortunately on that day they did not have any more the room we asked but on the day after we could have switched room. If you stay only two nights it is very annoying to change room. We payed to have an internet access but, it was not working!... unfortunately, they just had problems with it...they did not charge us but we had to look for an internet place elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LetiziaStuttgart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Hannover
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

First of all - the pictures shown in the internet are misleading. I have seen two rooms and they looked very different: smaller and a kind of shabby.
I have booked a single room and was given a very small room right behind the reception. There was a gap between door and wall, so you could hear everything from the reception desk including the radio.
Sleeping was impossible, so I asked for another room. The receptionist first told me that they are fully booked. As I wanted to check out and move to another hotel suddenly there was another room. The smell of smoke was unbearable, the hotel homepage tells about nonsmoking rooms...
I ended up in Motel One and highly redcommend it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coxiella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2010

hotel and staff were excellent. The breakfast was very filling and a very good selection. It is in an ideal location and would definately recommend this hotel to anyone and will definately go back .

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank therock59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel Spreewitz
Hotel Spreewitz
#416 of 634 in Berlin
96 reviews
Schoneberg
Ambiente Hotel
Ambiente Hotel
#367 of 634 in Berlin
173 reviews
Hotel-Pension Rheingold
#490 of 634 in Berlin
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Hotel Lichtenberg
#375 of 634 in Berlin
298 reviews
Charlottenburg
Leonardo Hotel Berlin
Leonardo Hotel Berlin
#102 of 634 in Berlin
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Pension Wittelsbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Pension Wittelsbach

Property: Hotel-Pension Wittelsbach
Address: Wittelsbacherstr. 22 | Wilmersdorf, 10707 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #600 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Pension Wittelsbach 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel-Pension Wittelsbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing