We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for exploring + clean, comfortable and stylish!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of art'otel berlin mitte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
art'otel berlin mitte
Ranked #110 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location for exploring + clean, comfortable and stylish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We chose to stay at this hotel after trawling lots options and it was by far a great choice! Less than 1 min from an S bahn station which is on a very good line, 10 mins walk to the Alexanderplatz and well positioned for exploring the rest of Berlin this was a great stay. Pleasingly the hotel exceeded our expectations from the photos posted, the bar was very cool, the hotel exceptionally clean and well presented and the room a good size. The bathroom was a 'wet room' style shower room which would be my only criticism - the shower curtain did little for keeping the water in the shower enclosure but if that's the only fault I can find then that's pretty good!!! The air con in the room worked well, we had a room facing an office (?) and there was some building work going on at the end of the road but the windows blocked out any construction noise. Although this is one of a chain, the art theme gave it it's individuality and character. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemmabib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    399
    141
    37
    32
See reviews for
112
408
39
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
211 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

A really nice hotel. Excellent, friendly and efficient staff. We stayed 5 nights from 27/08 and found it great value for money. Close to the underground ,,it was minutes to anywhere.
The food was excellent as was the bar and service. Can confidentaly recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rodney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We arrived at the art'otel fairly late in the night due to bad traffic from Munich. As this is our first time in Berlin, we didn't know what to expect in terms of the hotel and its surrounding areas. When we drove up the road that the hotel was at, we were a bit apprehensive as it was on a quiet street and looked fairly industrial (in the dark). We had to get a parking garage key from the front desk, which was used to unlock a car lift door. Trying to get the car into the lift is pretty hairy - it fit our 4-door Ford pretty snugly on both sides, so we're not sure how people with bigger and wider cars would have managed it. Once we arrived in the basement, it was a very sharp turn immediately out of the lift - again, it was something that took a lot of driving skills. Or maybe Germans are used to these lifts and angles?
The front desk check-in was friendly and painless, we were in our rooms within 5 minutes. We got walking directions to a nearby area by the river where we could have dinner - there's a square near the St. Nicholas church, right next to the river. It was a great area for food, any time of the day. There was a mix of German, Italian and 'international' restaurants, as well as cafes and drinking holes within a small area.
Our room was on the 4th floor, facing the main road. Good air-conditioning, spacious, well-lit and clean. The bathroom was big and there was an 'old-fashioned' shower area, i.e. there isn't a proper stall and instead had a shower curtain drawn across the shower area. It wouldn't have been a big problem if the curtain actually extended all the way down to the floor, but it didn't. So the floor would get wet after every shower. And there was no soap dish or ledge to place your toiletries within the shower area, you had to stretch your arm out from the shower area to a ledge just outside of the curtain to get to your toiletries. Which meant that more of the non-shower area got wet than was necessary. It took getting used to, but it wasn't a pleasant experience to walk into a bathroom with a wet floor and wet floor mat.
The two things that we noticed (not only for art'hotel but all three hotels we stayed in):
1) Pillows are squarish in size, rather than the 'regular' size pillows that we're used to. And they are far too soft for good neck support
2) Two single comforters were given for a double bed - guess this is good for couples who prefer to not have to fight their other halves for enough bed covers!
We had family travelling with us - two ladies in their 70s - and they got placed in a room on the 1st floor, facing the main road. By the next morning, they had complained at the front desk to be moved to a room facing the inside courtyard, as the morning traffic started from about 6am with dump-trucks and buses roaring up and down the street. The front-desk staff (different from the one we had the night before) was apparently not very friendly or happy about making the switch. According to our relatives, not only did they have problems with the noise, their bathroom lights were too dim for them to see. And they had a 'step'/'ledge' of some sort in their bathroom that they had to step in and out of. So all of these added up to an unpleasant first night for them.
By the end of the stay, we were all very happy with the hotel. It's location is great - there's a U-bahn station a stone's throw away and we could get to restaurants with a 10-minute walk. The 'boutique chain' feel of the hotel makes it different from other hotels, overall service standards were good (although one or two of the front-desk staff may be less pleasant than others). We noticed a sign in the lift that offered a room upgrade to the top floor with a balcony, more space and complimentary bathrobe and slippers at 30 Euro per night. We skipped that offer, but if we were staying for longer, may have been tempted to do so.
Would definitely return to this hotel, unless we wanted to stay at a different part of Berlin - this was fairly far east, so would stay in the art'hotel in the west of the city for the same experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joannetan03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Nice hotel in a quiet but very central part of Berlin. The room was pleasant and adequately equiped with a good sized bathroom. The underground so close it made it very easy to get around but you could also walk or cycle to most of the central tourist attractions. Staff very friendly and helpful. Went to an Indian restaurant round the corner which I wouldn't recommend but all the other meals we had were good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fkal50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Clean, pleasant room, rather large, with retro-style shower room, all our requests were quickly fulfilled, and with an accompanying smile.
Also - fabulous elaborate breakfast, and reasonable prices for dinner at the restaurant. Another option is the Indian resto on the street corner called "Shezan" right on the canal, with lovely food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orit_Yaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel room was kept clean and had all the necessary items, shower gel, shampoo, body lotion, tea bags, coffee, kettle etc. The staff were very helpful and friendly, even at 1.00am [thanks to Easyjet]. This hotel is situated perfectly for exploring Berlin either by tube/train, walking or bike. I recommend hiring a bike as this is a bike friendly city [careful on left turns] and you can explore the whole in a couple of days. The biggest down-side was that most Berliner's smoke so avoiding the secondhand lungfulls of smoke and fag-ends was a big distraction even when eating out. Our stay was for 5 nights so we ventured further afield to the lakes and palaces. I’ll book this hotel again…

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljay198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We booked here as a result of TripAdvisor reviews and were not disappointed. If we were to return to Berlin we would probably stay here again.

Stylish and well (if modern stark style with artwork) furnished, the room was fine with good a/c (v. important when we stayed a it was 35C). If you want chintz and flowery wall paper go elsewhere.

Comfortable bed (well bed/mattresses hitched together), good shower, decent toiletries, and tea/coffee making facilities pus a bar fridge to keep milk in. Staff are fine.

It was SO good to be only 50 yards from the U-Bahn station. Being Berlin with a proper state owned public transport system it was very cheap to get around..6.80 EUR for an all day ticket for all zones of U-Bahn, buses, trams etc. If you are going by U-Bahn o S-bahn in summer though dont wear a jumper - there is no air-con so it is free sauna time.

We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel, but used a cafe just opposite to the left where you can sit out when the sun shines..very good..excellent coffee and a good light b/fast with bread/olives/cheese/hame/boiled egg etc..recommended.

Downside? well maybe it was us we didn't find ay eateries near the hotel. We found a pub down the road where you could sit out, have coffee/drink and I think they served food, but if you arrived late the waiter seed to delight in letting a party sit down, peruse the menu and then come and tell them they had missed last orders. Berlin is great and v.relaxed, but it was quite refreshing to see a surviving bit of British dedication to lack of customer service and sad delight in disappointing people in Europe!

Excellent "breath of fresh air" (smoking) facilites as you can sit in comfy chairs/sofas just outside the bar between the bar and reception..not sure how it is if it rains but it is probably fine as it is Germany and it will be sorted.

TOP TIP. When we aririved at the the cheapo airport via Jet2 from Leeds Bradford at c. 10pm, we were struggling to buy the all day transport tickets.. the machine wouldn't take my credit card..this was after waiting some 5 minutes while some Japanese visitors struggled with the same machine. A young lad came up and offered all day tickets or 2.50 EUR each..i.e. valid unil 3am next day. Was a bit suspicious but went with it..No problem.

When we left on way from railway station to airport the same guy was asking for spare all day tickets..we gave him ours...re-cycling combined with entrepreurship?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorbertTheNark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Park Plaza Wallstreet Berlin Mitte
Mitte
Derag Livinghotel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
art'otel berlin kudamm
#191 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Mitte
Catalonia Berlin Mitte
Catalonia Berlin Mitte
#83 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
#52 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to art'otel berlin mitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about art'otel berlin mitte

Property: art'otel berlin mitte
Address: Wallstrasse 70-73, 10179 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in Berlin
#82 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#155 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — art'otel berlin mitte 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your art'otel berlin mitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art`Otel Berlin Mitte Hotel Berlin
Park Plaza Berlin
Berlin Park Plaza
Art Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing