We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
art'otel berlin mitte
Ranked #50 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 14, 2011

We had a really good experience at this hotel. Clean, bright, very well situated with a U Bahn metro stop right outside the door. Staff were friendly, helpful, spoke excellent English. Food in the hotel was good, and bar prices, room service prices and even mini bar prices were very reasonable for a hotel in a major city. We found the room price etc very good value for money, and its really well placed to see the major sights, pretty much all of which are in Mitte and the former East Berlin.

We had a nice spacious room, well equiped with everything we needed. they will also give you a code for free wifi if you ask at reception.

There are a couple of points other people have made that need answering. When you arrive, you are told that there are two breakfasts, one for about 6 euros, one for 16. The former is basically croissant sand coffee or tea, plus yoghurt I think. Everything else is the 16 euro breakfast,so if they see you eating it, they will charge you 16 euros. Its not an underhand thing, but a lot of people seemed confused by what they could and couldn't have, so check with the staff. They were all charming and helpful and spoke really good English, so no real problem.

The rooms, as with most hotels, are very warm. The aircon seemed to be set to winter, and so sent out warm air when we switched it on. That just seemed to be the way it works. The windows open wide, so it wasn't a problem, but the street at the front can be noisy - its not a major road, but it is bus route, short cut, and people arrive by taxi at all times of the night. So, ask for a room at the back, or take earplugs (never travel without them, all hotels are noisy!)

But all in all, a really good choice, and we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgoericke, Front Office Manager at art'otel berlin mitte, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2011

Dear DianeHampshire
Thank you very much for taking time to write this review.
It is really nice to hear that you had a wonderful time at the Art’otel Berlin Mitte and Berlin.
I am glad that we did exceed your expectations in service and product, it is really important to us to give our personal touch to it. Also thank you for the explanation regarding our breakfast and rooms, I could not have said it better. I am looking forward to welcome you back really soon.
Sincerely
Dominique Göricke
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,088)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

529 - 535 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2011

We had a dinner in this hotel which was really great. The taste of the food was really good and the waitress was really kind.
Beautifull location as well...the Ermeler Hause is a very beautiful location if you have a party or something to celebrate.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CVISSER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgoericke, Front Office Manager at art'otel berlin mitte, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2011

Dear Cvissers1
Many thanks for writing this review. It is nice to hear that you have chosen to eat in our restaurant and that you received a really good service during you meal. I will pass on the nice things you said about the food and service.
We looking forward to welcome you back really soon, maybe next time you will decide to stay with us.
Sincerely
Dominique Göricke
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

We've stayed in this hotel over new years 2010/2011. I booked the hotel because I wanted something nice, in the middle of Berlin, with a good service and a little style. The personal at the check in was not very friendly but arrogant. The room was very small, totally worn out and dirty. Style or art was not in sight. During check in I was told that breakfast is an extra € 16,-- per person. So we decided to have breakfast somewhere else. When we checked out, I saw on my invoice that breakfast was included in the room charge. On new years day I ordered some coffee to the room. They charged € 15,-- for a small coffeepot. The bathroom was worn out and filthy. The desk and chair where worn out and dirty. Especially the chair had stains all over it. The closet was just a big wooden box with a hole a doorhandles. When we arrived we had about 30cm of snow. They have cleaned a part of the sidewalk, but there was no chance to get from the car to the hotel lobby with clean and dry shoes because they simply shoveled the snow to the sport where the cars parked. I expect much, much more from a 4 star, so called design hotel!

Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank WorldClient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artotelwallstreet, Front Office Manager at art'otel berlin mitte, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2011

Dear Wourld Client
Thank you very much that you took time to compleet this form.
I am really sorry to hear that you did have such an unpleasant time in our house.
I did go through you booking and you did indeed have no breakfast included in your rate.
And I did not see any charges of any rooms service on your bill. We charge €3,20 for a coffee pot. We are suprise to hear that, because on check out you did not mentioned any of these things.
We wish you all the best
Sincerely
Dominique Göricke
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

We stayed there for several days and really enjoyed it. A metro-station is just around the corner, so that you can get everywhere easily.
We got one of the bigger suites: really nice, but the second room ( to hold meetings??) is totally useless. Facing to the street, it's rather loud so that you can't leave the window open during the night.
Nice and spacious bathroom!!!
Free wifi access in the room - you have to ask for it...

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smilix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

For approx 90-100 euro a night, I found art otel a true bargain. I can't think of any comparable boutique hotel in this price range, anywhere in Europe or Asia. I really don't know what some of the other reviews are complaining about, as I didn't experience any problems here. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful (they helped me with printing, scanning of documents - at no charge; they even lent me an umbrella when it was raining), and there are many delightful touches which i really loved - a delicious caramel dessert in a shot glass left for you on your first night, swanky toiletries... the breakfast spread is terrific - there are LOADS of choices. The rooms aren't very big but what do you expect for the price... The entire hotel is very stylish and very clean. Heating level was fine for my purposes. I really like the bar and restaurant, which is a great place to spend some time (and the prices are very reasonable).
Like some of the other reviewers, I did experience a bit of erratic bookkeeping when it came to managing my booking (my work paid for some of the trip, so the arrangement was a bit complex...), but the problems were easily fixed with a bit of patience.
I would absolutely stay here again and I certainly recommend it to anyone who wants to stay somewhere a bit different, rather than the usual generic budget/mid-range hotel -- but just bear in mind it's not a five-star place... If you want that you should cough up the euros for the Intercontinetal or whatever. If you're not a diva you'll have a great time here

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_from_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artotelwallstreet, Manager at art'otel berlin mitte, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2010

Dear R_from_Melbourne,

We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Park Plaza Hotels & Resorts we like to thank you for let us know about your experience at this hotel. We also would like to thank you for the nice comment you have made.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations ans upon your next visit, we can exceed your expectations. We hope to welcome you back at the hotel.


Sincerely,

Dirk Gruhn
General Manager
art'otel berlin mitte by Park Plaza
dgruhn@pphe.com
+49 (0) 30 240 62 0

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Boiling hot rooms, with no temperature control. We asked for a refund as we could not sleep - even with the window and the fridge door open! We were told that they would authorise this through Expedia. When we got back we were told by Expedia that they would only refund 10%. This is supposed to be a 4* hotel but it seems that this issue with broken heating and no aircon has been a problem since July! The manager and other staff were underhand and dishonest and care nothing about their guests. NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dolores186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artotelwallstreet, Manager at art'otel berlin mitte, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2010

Dear Dolores186338 and dontcomeback,

we appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Park Plaza Hotels & artotels we like to thank you for the information and are very sorry for the circumstances and negative experience, which you have made during your stay at our hotel.

We appreciate the feedback and, as a good will gesture, like to offer you a stay including breakfast for two persons in one of our artsuites with a special discounted rate for your next stay in Berlin at art'otel berlin mitte.

Dear Dolores186338 and dontcomeback, please accept our apology and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area. If you would like to discuss your experience further with me, please don't hesitate to call me at the phone number or e-mail listed below.

Sincerely,

Dirk Gruhn
General Manager
art'otel berlin mitte by Park Plaza
dgruhn@pphe.com
+49 (0) 30 240 62 0

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2010

So the heating appears to be left on full at all times - with no aircon (apparently turned off for the winter, although previous reviews would suggest that it had given up in July at least). While outside is about 4 degrees, the inside of our room, at night, with the window open as much as we could, topped 30 degrees!
And with the window open as much as we could the noise from the 'quiet street' went on from late night (taxi drop offs outside the hotel and enough passing cars to make the noise constant) to early morning (work site opposite and hotel deliveries to the hotel).
It was so bad that we would have changed hotels after the first night, but the staff were dishonest about the problems - sending us off after our first night saying that they would have maintenance look at the aircon. They also told us that they would call us if they could not fix it. No call, so when we arrived back in the evening we expected the aircon to be fixed - rather than being met with a wry 'Oh, no, we do not put the aircon on in the winter. Just sleep with the window open.'! Now they are refusing to offer more than a 10% refund for a sleepless trip that was completely ruined by their thoughtless uncaring attitude.
There were other gripes - smell of the bathroom, pillows, rubbish and uneaten food was left in the corridors by housekeeping for more than 24 hours... but really - there is no need for anyone to stay here for long enough to find these. It is basically not suitable as a place in which to sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artotelwallstreet, Manager at art'otel berlin mitte, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2010

Dear Dolores186338 and dontcomeback,

we appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Park Plaza Hotels & artotels we like to thank you for the information and are very sorry for the circumstances and negative experience, which you have made during your stay at our hotel.

We appreciate the feedback and, as a good will gesture, like to offer you a stay including breakfast for two persons in one of our artsuites with a special discounted rate for your next stay in Berlin at art'otel berlin mitte.

Dear Dolores186338 and dontcomeback, please accept our apology and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area. If you would like to discuss your experience further with me, please don't hesitate to call me at the phone number or e-mail listed below.

Sincerely,

Dirk Gruhn
General Manager
art'otel berlin mitte by Park Plaza
dgruhn@pphe.com
+49 (0) 30 240 62 0

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Park Plaza Wallstreet Berlin Mitte
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
#86 of 635 in Berlin
2,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to art'otel berlin mitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about art'otel berlin mitte

Address: Wallstr. 70-73, 10179 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in Berlin
#42 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#155 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $98 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — art'otel berlin mitte 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your art'otel berlin mitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art`Otel Berlin Mitte Hotel Berlin
Park Plaza Berlin
Berlin Park Plaza
Art Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing