We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gemaldegalerie

Gemaldegalerie
Book In Advance
More Info
$106.79*
and up
Berlin Pass Including Entry to More Than 50 Attractions
Ranked #22 of 806 things to do in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A wide selection of European artwork, dating from the 1200s through the 1700s, can be found at this popular museum.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“fabulous”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Never understood why this gallery is so quiet, it has an amazing collection beautifully laid out and a really helpful (free) audio guide.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank scotcan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,076
    358
    82
    15
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“collection of international masterpieces”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Walk on to the last rooms, some of the real treats are there.
Large collection of international masterpieces, limited choice of local paintings.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank anna232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Amazing museum with loads of masterpieces, pity about the staff...”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I went to Berlin last week and bought a museum pass so that i could visit as many galleries as possible in 3 days.
By the way, the museum pass is great value if you plan to spend your time adimiring the many masterpieces this city has to offer.
The Gemaldegalerie is amazing: about 1,000 masterpieces including portraits by Caravaggio, Rembrandt, Rubens, Cranach, Titian, Vermeer, Van Dyck and the list goes on.
The building is an imposing structure part of the Kulturforum in Potdamer Platz: it's luminous and the perfect space for displaying the wealth of riches the gallery has on show.
So far, so amazing.
Then there's the museum staff and, as Hamlet would have it, there is the rub.
They are rude, and this seems to be the constant for most tourist attractions in Berlin.
During my visit to the museum I was:
1) Told rudely 9and I mean rudely) to put my (small) bag in the locker
2) Forced to ask twice for the audioguide, despite the place being empty, so the staff weren't doing anything
3) Followed (!) around by two museum attendants who wanted me to put the floor plan back!?!
4) Forced to put my cardigan back on when I took it off. What did they think I would do with a cardigan, throw it against the Vermeers???

The place was empty despite being an Aladdin's cave of art and I am not surprised.
Tourists should be treasured, as they bring money, but this is not the case in this (and other) Berlin's museum.
Besides, somebody should explain to this people that art is there to be enjoyed and engaged with, not to be admired from a distance in frigid solitude. Lighten up, people!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank hermione08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure - a mini Louvre”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Wow - this museum has a very impressive collection. It has 2 Vermeer painting, there are only 34 confirmed, as well as a handful of Botticelli paintings, the Malle Bebe by Franz Hals, several outstanding Hans Holbein portraits as well as Caravaggio's Cupid. For those of you on the hunt for female artists - they do have one each for Sofanisba Anguissola, Elizabeth Vigee Lebrun and Angelica Kaufmann. Go here do NOT go the Altes Museum on Museum Island, except for the 3rd floor that has the Caspar David Friedrich painting - you can skip the rest of the collection. This museum is just around the corner from the Neue Nationalgalerie which is also excellent if you are interested in modern and contemporary art.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Food-Art-Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
142 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Do not miss this”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

An awesome collection of early European paintings, covering all the main schools until about the 18th century. Big - you can easily spend half a day here. Just don't expect too much from the canteen....

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HoppyEu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gemaldegalerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing