We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we got to see its last exhibition”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tacheles - CLOSED

Tacheles
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This trendy art gallery is located in a dilapidated building, a symbol of the manner in which art thrived in the bleak atmosphere of Cold War Germany.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
381 reviews
233 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Glad we got to see its last exhibition”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We came here as part of the Alternative Berlin Twilight Tour as a replacement of the Monster Kabinet as they had a one night only exhibition before it closed. We learnt a little bit about how everything came to be in there and that the people who had acquired the building to demolish it had found all of the art inside and invited the artisit to told one last big exhibition.

The atmosphere was absolutely electric and the art on display was no less than amazing. It is a real shame that the place is now shut and we feel really lucky that we managed to see the place before it was too late... We came to Berlin on the perfect night!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank G3ck0-Trav3ll3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    27
    12
    4
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Closed - almost”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just one small studio on the ground floor open, along with some art installations behind the building, accessible via an alleyway which runs down the side of the car park. A few bits of interesting stuff and quite atmospheric at night when some of the exhibits are lit. No entry fee but €1 donation requested.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank dianewailes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sad it's closed.”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Worth seeing because of its history. Sad it's closed. I'm sure something will pop up there at some point, though.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BarbsBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
409 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Closed! :(”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This place (squat) was brilliant - unfortunately, the authorities have closed it down to the benefit of property developers. Lots of crazy/quirky art - always felt the area was safe & friendly. It's sad that it has gone. I think some of the mad bars down the end of the street are still open - there's a tiki bar, complete with DJ's & sand out the back the flats - worth going down there for a drink if you're in the area.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interesting. Lots of art”
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Tacheles is a large squatter community that makes art. Most of the street-level parts of their building have been turned into art galleries and small shops selling art, jewellery and bric-a-brac. If you'd like to see and feel what a squat is like, check it out. Some of the inhabitants are friendly, so don't be afraid to ask questions or say hello!

Helpful?
Thank Rimua
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Tacheles also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing