We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful inside and out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berlin Cathedral

Berlin Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.60*
and up
Berlin Highlights Sightseeing Cruise Including Coffee and Cake
Ranked #16 of 798 things to do in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This ornate Protestant cathedral is one of Berlin's best known landmarks.
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful inside and out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

One of the most beautiful monuments in Berlin is worth a visit inside as well. The chapel is beautiful and has so many details worth exploring. After taking in its atmosphere, you can go upstairs to the exibition rooms telling the story of the cathedral and then climb the dome for a wonderful view of the city.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank adizush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,469
    2,003
    545
    76
    52
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
236 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We decided on our last day to visit the Cathedral and were not disappointed it was amazing. There is what we consider a small fee to go in and it was well worth every cent. Inside the cathedral apart from the amazing dome which you can access via stairs there is the opportunity to see where the a Kaiser and his family would have sat during the services. I was amazed at how new the cathedral was to how old it looked, I compared it to the age of St Paul's Cathedral but it was actually built in the early 1900s. Another amazing area was the vault where many of the previous Kaisers and Queens are buried in huge marble caskets.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jacqui43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

It was my first time to see Luther, Calvin and Zwingly's statue inside a church, so I was shocked for a second, but it only makes sense. What am I thinking? I am in germany. The church is simply GRAND. They were selling Mozart Requiem Concert tickets for next month and that only made this american tourist very jealous. The pipe organ sound was amazing with natural sound system, which makes this church amazing concert venue. You can walk up all the way to the top of the Dome and enjoy the view of the whole city. On the Dome walk way, I could see pictures of restoration work. It is amazing engineering efforts. Ah, and also don't forget to visit Crypt on the basement and check out the grand coffins of emperors and the queens. You can see that the emperor who built this church had many functions in mind ; venue for prayers, performances(political or theatrical) , burial grounds, and also show national pride. It is a must see in Berlin.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jk109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Must Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Really need to walk around and get the view from several angles. So easy to find and tour on your own.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank taycp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stunning cathedral”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Amazing cathedral with stunning architecture and history. The view from the top of the dome is probably one of the best in Berlin but be mindful it is approx 250 steps to the top but worth every aching muscle. The crypt area is very moving and thought provoking. The main body of the cathedral is so beautiful that words cannot do it justice. A must visit place in Berlin!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank miles2784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berlin Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Berlin Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing