We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Architecture”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Berlin Cathedral

Berlin Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.85*
and up
Berlin Highlights Sightseeing Cruise Including Coffee and Cake
Ranked #16 of 808 things to do in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This ornate Protestant cathedral is one of Berlin's best known landmarks.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
133 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful Architecture”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Berlin Cathedral or Berliner dom is one of the main attraction of Berlin. It's situated one side of the Lustgarten and in the bank of river spree.. You can easily reach there by bus (For example 100).

The architectural view is simply wonderful. The structure itself and its surrounding is a wonderful place to see. If you want to enter, you need to pay around 7 Euro.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank mmsbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,595
    2,058
    561
    79
    56
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yantai
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Just awesome...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The structure is remarkable and makes you want to take too many photos. It is set in picturesque surroundings with all you would expect from a romantic era fairy tale. Noticed a few beggars around the park - not sure if they are genuine or good actors! The coffee shop next to the church seemed somewhat misplaced though and made me question the real purpose of the building.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lars B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Gorgeous church & interesting crypt”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

If you are fascinated by architecture, you'll love this church. It is very beautiful, from top to bottom. Be sure to get the discount if you get the Berlin Welcome Card. We stopped here on a Sunday afternoon, and the crowds weren't bad at all. It was a nice relief from the heat outside, and it was nice to be able to sit on the pews to take a break from walking around. You could spend a good 30 minutes just marveling at the inside of the church, though you may want to allot about 2 hours for the full experience. Just a tip: the higher up you go within the church, the more narrow the stairs get. If you want to go to the very top, make sure you're not already tired out. Be sure to go down to the bottom of the church to the crypt, where many members of royalty lay. We found it to be the most interesting part of the experience, and we almost skipped it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank deebeeinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
428 reviews
184 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Another beautiful Cathedral in Germany”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

When in Berlin this is worth visiting this Cathedral if you have the time. It is beautiful on the outside and not so impressive on the inside. There is a beautiful lawn in front of it which makes the Cathedral look even grander. It makes for a great picture with the group on the lawn with the Cathedral in the background.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gregmNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niedermohr, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breath taking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

The cathedral was so magnificent! It was worth the money. The only thing is that I ended up having a panic attack when I reached the Dome. I didn't know we had to walk outside to reach the exit, and we walked very high up! As long as you are prepared for that, you can get some amazing sky high photos of the city. Luckily my husband took over the camera duties as he tried to drag me around the dome to the exit lol. But I recommend it. I wish I had not gotten a bout of vertigo and had enjoyed making it to the top of the cathedral more.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank songbirdmgmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berlin Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Berlin Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing