We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what you think”

The Story of Berlin
Ranked #67 of 825 things to do in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: THE STORY OF BERLIN is the interactive museum of the capital. Spread over 6.000 square meters visitors can explore 800 years of Berlin history. In 23 theme rooms – each of them designed individually and equipped with modern multimedia technology – everyone can experience everyday life of the people of Berlin during different eras. One highlight of the exhibition is a guided tour through an original nuclear bomb shelter from the Cold War below the Kurfurstendamm which still can be used by 3.592 persons in case of an emergency. We offer a special search game called "Pinky & Fox". Carrying a pencil and the treasure map, kids go on a discovery tour through the museum. On request older children get our STORY-Quiz leaflet with some puzzle games and thrilling details about the Berlin history.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Not what you think”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Having visited Berlin many times and even living there for a while we had seen the part of a plane wing outside the run down shopping centre, funny how the old West Berlin is looking quite tacky these days, advertising this attraction but had always dismissed it as a tourist trap.

How wrong can you be. We had time to spare on the last Sunday of our latest trip so not wanting to go to far but having heard about the tour of the fallout shelter included in the entry price thought we would bite the bullet. We used one of the "minicard's" we found in our hotel and got a reduced entrance fee. These little cards are always worth a look.

We were glad we did. I was personally amazed by the amount of information and the way the exhibits were arranged. We were in the museum for well over two hours and were only about two thirds of the way around, but the time for our trip around the fallout shelter was due.
We met the guide whose English was very good. The fallout shelter is actually built into the basement of the car park of the shopping centre.
It is advertised as a nuclear bomb shelter, one of the first things we were told is that it was in fact never intended to be a bomb shelter (it is not deep enough) but as a fallout shelter. Given that the tour of the site, intended for 3,500 people, was very interesting. The guide also then lets you back into the main museum.

We carried on and were still in the museum after another hour.

There is lift access for the less able and I believe there is even lift access to the fallout shelter.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    261
    102
    31
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Well Worth The Trip”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a great place to learn a great deal about Berlin, its origins and its multifaceted history. It is well laid out and the infos in the various rooms are in both German and English. There are also guide leaflets in many more languages available. Included is also a tour (English or German) of a underground nuclear shelter. Really is worth the time!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sangcailloux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Worth the hunt”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We found the Story of Berlin museum purely by chance on our last evening in Berlin. And what a find; it turned out to the most interesting part of our break.

We found its location a bit surprising; a rundown shopping centre. Directions are by way of printed footsteps on the ground.

Arriving just before 6pm, we waited for 5 minutes before the 10 euro tour started. 6pm is the last admission and didn’t appear to be as busy as it could be.

The tour of the nuclear bunker was pretty scary and thought provoking. You get a real eerie feeling being down there with row after row of hammock type beds, dimly lit and that musky smell hovering.

This museum itself has a lot of information explaining the 800 years of Berlin's history.

The exhibits guided you through the rooms (and there are many rooms) and some were interactive. There is so much to read, but it all seemed so interesting. The information is in English as well as other languages.

We spent around 3 hours in the museum and came out feeling it was well worth the money. Not once during that time had we been bored.

The staff and guide were all pleasant, knowledgeable and friendly.

We would highly recommend this museum to anyone visiting Berlin.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank pecanpie2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, England
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“A very good museum”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This multimedia museum tells you about the development of Berlin from the Middle Ages through to when the Wall came down. There are 20 or so rooms, each with there own theme and all of them most interesting. As part of your visit you are also taken on a guided tour of an underground nuclear bomb shelter that was built during the Cold War, but never used. It was designed to hold up to 3,600 people. Add this museum to your Berlin itinerary.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trevor93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This should be your first stop in Berlin”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is my new 'favourite' museum in Berlin. It does what the name suggests - it gives an excellent and engaging overview of Berlin from the 13th century through to reunification and beyond.

The bunker visit is *essential*. We came with a school group (13 years old) and my students were fascinated that they bother to build a bunker under an unassuming car park off Berlin's most popular street. It lead to some good Cold War discussions, and what it must have been like living in the tug-of-war that West Berlin must have been.

The cinema is great fun (especially if you know a little bit about German cinema, but even if you don't...), the industrial revolution history is great, and the descent into the basement in order to learn about the Nazis in Berlin is very well curated and thought through.

Highly recommended for all ages. The staff are friendly, and it's good value for money. I'd especially put this forward as the 'first stop' for anyone wanting to get a broad overview of the city before delving into other museums.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank roverlei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Story of Berlin also viewed

 

Been to The Story of Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing