We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A must see slice of history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brandenburg Gate (Brandenburger Tor)

Brandenburg Gate (Brandenburger Tor)
Book In Advance
$28.53*
and up
Small-Group Berlin Wall Bike Tour: Brandenburg Gate, Checkpoint Charlie...
Ranked #3 of 743 things to do in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Located in no-man's land between East and West Germany during the Cold War, this famous monument, built during the 18th-century reign of Friedrich Wilhelm II, has long been a defining symbol of Berlin and both the city's division and unification.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A must see slice of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Do not miss during your visit to Berlin - I was lucky enough to see this area also when active as the fan mile during the World Cup, when it was full of life. Iconic, brilliant!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank djdpearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23,974 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13,577
    7,957
    2,207
    192
    41
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta Georgia
Level Contributor
313 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 601 helpful votes
“Brandenberg Tor (the station)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Tripadvisor does not have a review category for the Brandenberg Tor U-bahn station. Yet it is as interesting as the gate. The Brandenberg Tor station has existed since before WWII. It was vacant during the Cold War, so it is perfectly preserved.

I love going into the Brandenberg Tor station and seeing the well preserved 1930s station. (If you ride U-55 Hauptbahnhof to Brandenberg Tor, walk toward the Brandenberg Tor exit and watch for the tiled portion of the station. That is the old part of the station.) The tiled portion of the station sat idle prior to unification.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank twinkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Busy Gate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Just one of the many sights to see in Berlin, yes it's busy, but that's the atmosphere there, great to sit and people watch

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
284 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“A Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My first view of the Brandenburg Gate was probably different from most visitors. I approached the gate from afar while wading through 100,000 soccer fans. I was on the Fan Mile the night of the Germany- France World Cup match and the gate really was the last thing I was thinking about. Later, I returned a couple of different times. During the afternoon I found the area to be aggravatingly crowded, so I made a point to return very early one morning. I basically was the only one around and found the gate to be very impressive. What a witness to history this structure has been. Go see it, but go very early in the morning if crowds are an issue to you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MontanaTraveler643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wow!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

One of our favourite attractions in Berlin!! This was one of the first attractions we visited in Berlin. We walked up Unter den Linden to Brandenburg Gate, quite a walk but it was well worth it. I love seeing famous buildings and structure and this is definitely one of them. I didn't have time, but have a drink in the Adlon Hotel while looking at the gate!! Have Fun!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Il_Gatto_786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brandenburg Gate (Brandenburger Tor) also viewed

 

Been to Brandenburg Gate (Brandenburger Tor)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing