We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great steaks cooked to perfection” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Block House Am Alexanderplatz

Block House Am Alexanderplatz
Ranked #86 of 8,000 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mitte
Manchester, Lancashire
Level Contributor
133 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great steaks cooked to perfection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We visited this restaurant on a recent visit to Berlin on a Tuesday evening and it was relatively quiet inside, the staff were pleasant and spoke fluent English, and we were seated straight away inside the restaurant.

My husband ordered a rump steak and I ordered a barbecue steak platter which were cooked perfectly, they both came with a jacket potato with sour cream and a slice of garlic bread - which was delicious.

we also ordered some desserts and the bill along with drinks for the 2 of us came to around 45 Euros which seemed pretty reasonable. We would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    538
    512
    148
    34
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best steakhouse in Berlin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

is probably a bit over the hill, but this restaurant does not disappoint. Originating from Hamburg, this chain of steakhouses focuses on quality. Fairly popular judging by long waiting lines throughout the entire evening (Saturday in April), and luckily we had reserved tables, quality is indeed in order at this place near Alexanderplatz.

The menu card is rather traditional but comprehensive with a great selection of steaks, cooked to order, served with salad and potatoes (baked, French fries etc). My steak (rum-steak) was tender, cooked with a mix of spices, had great taste and of high quality. It was a busy evening for staff, but we were served with efficiency and a smile. Also fairly decent prices, check their website, and is much recommended for a casual night out in Berlin. Good for bigger parties, but do reserve in advance. Will return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nordic_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent steakhouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

My daughter and i visited about 7pm on a friday evening. Certainly it was not busy but the staff were attentive and friendly and the service was fast. We had the steak medallions which were delicious. I would recommend the green pepper sauce. All in all great Value for money. I would definitely return if I visit berlin again

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JaniceMackintosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Yummy steak as we hoped”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Used the Trip Advisor 'City Guides' app again to find a restaurant close to where we were, and weren't disappointed.

The steak was delicious, melt in the mouth and served with nice fries and sides. A bottle of nice red wine and the obligatory apple strudel completed our meal.

Would certainly go back again, in fact - we nearly did!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MazzerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stenløse
Level Contributor
130 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A good night on the town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We went 17 people for dinner here and had booked a table in advance which was no hassle. We needed 5 separate bills and this was no problem, either. It was a bit of a handful to handle all our various orders and preferences but the staff was cool and courteous. We had all sorts of steaks and also one fish course. The beef was of a high quality - as it should be in a steak-house that boasts of its own in-house butchery - and all was cooked to order. One T-bone was a bit to rare and had to be re-done and this was no problem.
You should come for the steaks - the wine list was Not impressive...
I would go here again - it was a highly positive experience - and I would book in advance again, as there was a queue at the door all night long - perhaps due to the Berlin half-marathon taking place the next morning from the Alexanderplatz with a resulting vast number of overnighters in the area.
The Block House is situated right on the fringe of the Alexanderplatz and is easily reached by train and bus.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nils Holm Jørge... E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Block House Am Alexanderplatz also viewed

 

Been to Block House Am Alexanderplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing