We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait”

Block House Am Alexanderplatz
Ranked #78 of 8,445 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mitte
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We visited 1st March, the queue was out of the door but we only waited around 25 mins, the last 10 we were invited inside and given complimentary white wine.

Service was not quick, but it was busy, we were in no rush.

Simple menu, friendly staff, good steak. What else can you want?

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1an3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    677
    610
    166
    40
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
clevedon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Steak House”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great place to eat and if you are lucky you wont have to queue outside as very popular....steaks amazing but not cheap, but one of the guaranteed good palces to eat in Germany

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CliveB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
641 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Great steaks”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We went on a friend's recommendation and it was well worth it. The steaks were excellent cooked perfectly, not cheap but good value for money given the quality of the meat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
137 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“It and joy”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We where at Berlin on October 2012. At the last lunch we have found the Block House that was very close to our hotel. We first thoght it looked as a very exlusuve, so we passed...
Whel we where wrong !!!
It was the one of, if not the best resturant that we visited ever.
The fodd was grate. The service exalent, and the price - not to expancive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oded H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilseck, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fantastic steak house”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My friends and I had a dinner here and just wish we went once more before we left Berlin.
It is a bit pricey, however, worth every penny as the food is simply incredible.
It was a busy night when we went so it took a while to get a table which we did not mind but the hostess was not very welcoming or informative.
Our waiter was great, well spoken, friendly but had a bad body odor which I guess is not uncommon in Europe.
I can definitely recommend the steak of lamb that came with spinach and mashed potatoes.
This is a must place to go for dinner if you visiting Berlin!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KandPtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Block House Am Alexanderplatz also viewed

 

Been to Block House Am Alexanderplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing