We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great price and location, functional hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Berlin Alexanderplatz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ibis Budget Berlin Alexanderplatz
Ranked #142 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great price and location, functional hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Trying to book a weekend in September in Berlin can be an expensive business, so it was with caution we booked the Ibis budget. If you book looking for all mod cons, glamour or added extras you will be disappointed. If you book solely for location, price and a clean, functional roof over your head, you cannot go wrong.

The hotel is in a great location some ten minutes walk from the Alezanderplatz. The rooms are as expected small in size, but have space to put clothes, plug sockets and even free wifi. Each room has a very small en suite also, which provides opportunity for a shower, if not luxury.

The staff at the hotel were friendly and the location was ideal for our needs. It would be a strain staying here for more than a few days, simply as space is at such a premium. For a weekend away however it is perfectly adequate and I would happily stay here again, rather than paying more money for a large room I would use simply for a few hours sleep

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lndntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    639
    229
    36
    21
See reviews for
205
466
187
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

If you are in Berlin for a city beak this is the perfect place to stay. It's central, clean and very has helpful staff. It is a former etap so if you are familiar with the rooms in an etap then you will know what to expect. I think ibis have done a good job taking this place on and the standard has been raised from its former owner. She'd doing our search for a hotel in Berlin this by far one of the best value and we were not disappointed. I would definitely stay there again, give it a try!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlyfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed here over the weekend and the hotel was ideally located to visit the main areas of Berlin, such as the Brandenburg Gate and the Reichtag both within a couple of miles from the hotel.

Easy walk to the Alexanderplatz stations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Very pleasant stay for one night. Great value, great location, clean rooms, Wifi that works better than in higher priced hotels. Only 5 blocks from Alexanderplatz, bus to Museum Island meters away. Across from the Mercure hotel and coffee shop and in two busy boulevards but with a wuiet little entrance on the side. Would stay there again. There are areas that are nicer but for a few nights and easy access, this little, easy to find hotel is perfect. All 2 star hotels should be run so efficiently.

Room Tip: Higher floor, corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yurisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONG ISLAND, NY
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Clean and cheap modern rooms with $5 garage parking. Close to shopping and an average walk to historic area. Great breakfast worth the additional charge. Shop at Alexanderplatz and enjoy the LOXX miniature Berlin train layout while you are there. Enjoy Berlin on the cheap at Ibis Budget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NBLINY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I knew it was a budget hotel but didn't expect the so called hotel had no air conditioning and no hair dryer. Shouldn't be called a hotel at all. Anyway the location is good close to subway and tram right in front. But I wouldn't recommend people that want a hotel in berlin to stay there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pemba K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I are taking a 6 week European road trip and so have booked several Ibis's as we know they are competitively priced and are generally comfortable. We stayed in the Ibis Budget Alexanderplatz for 3 nights (6th - 8th) in early September. The room was similar in configuration to other Ibis budgets we have stayed in so we knew what to expect. However what the Ibis budget brand lacks in refinement they make up for in location, which as we spend most of our time sightseeing, was the primary consideration. The location is excellent with Alexanderplatz and its metro/tram station about 5 -10 mins away, or just a few kilometers walk away from many of the main attractions.

That said the room was clean, the bed reasonably comfortable and staff efficient, if not overly friendly. If returning to Berlin I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
ibis budget Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Prenzlauer Berg
Ibis Berlin Mitte
Ibis Berlin Mitte
#131 of 662 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,434 reviews
Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schoneberg
Ibis Budget Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Mitte
Mitte
Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Berlin Alexanderplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Berlin Alexanderplatz

Property: Ibis Budget Berlin Alexanderplatz
Address: Mollstrasse 30, 10249 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Etap Hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Ibis Budget Berlin Alexanderplatz 1*
Number of rooms: 34

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing