We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utter waste of time and money”

LEGOLAND Discovery Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.97*
and up
LEGOLAND Discovery Centre Berlin Admission Ticket
Ranked #151 of 818 things to do in Berlin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Come and dive into the biggest LEGO(R) Brick Box of the world! More than 5 million LEGO bricks await your creativity-you can even build your own world! See Berlin as a miniature city in our MINILAND, join the dragon castle and even get swept away from reality and become part of our 4-D movies. Don't forget to experience our truly magical ride, Merlins Apprentice. Or would you like to become a real ninja? Then you simply need to complete the Spinjitszu master course. Visit our LEGO factory and create your own special LEGO brick to take home.... At the end of your exciting trip you will definitely be a LEGO(R)-Pro!
Useful Information: Activities for young children
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Utter waste of time and money”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Incredibly this "attraction" costs the best part of £50 for a family of four (2 adults, 2 children) - even though the youngest is only 3 years old (full price paid by all). However, this isn't about the entrance fee - they are perfectly entitled to charge what they want and profit is totally acceptable. What isn't acceptable is the shoddy, dated and somewhat tired interior. It reminded me of a dismal afternoon in a British seaside resort 20 years ago. There is the smallest "soft play" area (which was off limits due to the private kid's party being held), a single ride and a couple of piles of lego to play with.You also get the pleasure (as a parent) of trying to avoid the huge "pick 'n mix" sweet selection.

Contrast this with the Berlin Zoo and it really does become embarrassing. Entry to the Zoo is cheaper (including the hugely impressive aquarium) and there is more than enough to do for an entire day. The massive adventure playground is worth the entrance fee alone. Legoland ought to be ashamed of themselves as their offering is pitiful. Trust me, the Lego giraffe on display at the entrance is as good as it gets. Pop along, take a look at the giraffe and move on. Awful, awful waste of time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank pistolpete180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mia M, Manager at LEGOLAND Discovery Centre, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear pistolpete180,

thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience on your recent visit.

We value all feedback and have ensured your comments have been shared with the team. If you would like to discuss your visit further please don't hesitate to contact us on berlin@legolanddiscoverycentre.de

Many thanks,
your LEGOLAND Discovery Centre team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    264
    233
    140
    151
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A must go if you have children (or are a child at heart)”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

It is a big play place by the Sony Centre. Easy to book on-line, but you get a timeslot. Best to take the time-slot at the end of the day because you have more play-time. there is so much to do for children, from building their own little cars and racing the cars on a track against the other children, going through the laser beam without being struck, flying in a aeroplane-go-round while pedalling to go higher, a little jungle gym for the smaller children and much-much more. 3 hours disappeared so quickly. There is also a cafeteria where you can by light eats, cakes and cofee, tea and cooldrink.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sumara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mia M, betreuende PR-Agentur at LEGOLAND Discovery Centre, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hello and thanks for your comment! We are glad you enjoyed your stay! Cheers, your LDC-Berlin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor management”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The entrance is nice but downstairs is awfull. There is a funny smell. There are only couple of wheels where kids supposed to build cars. Looks outdated and not well managed.

Helpful?
Thank IsikAkcor
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mia M, betreuende PR-Agentur at LEGOLAND Discovery Centre, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hey there, thank you for your comment! We are sorry if you felt that our LEGOLAND Discovery Centre looked outdated and gave the impression of being not well managed. If there is anything in particular that you felt wasn't good value for your money, please contact us via berlin@legolanddiscoverycentre.de. Cheers, your LDC-Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Europe
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Probably fine for younger children on quiet days”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went with our children (7 and 10). The 10-year old was definitely too old and the 7-year old was on the edge. It is possibly fine for younger kids on days when it isn't so busy.

It is very impressive how they managed to get such a big site set up underground, but it really was too busy and chaotic to be a pleasant experience, especially after such a long wait to get in. Also, the selection at the Lego shop was worse that at the local toy store (and certainly not cheaper).



It was the one thing we regretted going to during our stay in Berlin.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank knergaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mia M, betreuende PR-Agentur at LEGOLAND Discovery Centre, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hello and thanks for your feedback! We know that it can get very busy sometimes. We do limit the capacity of the building, but we do recommend visiting us during the week or early in the afternoon to avoid the crowds. Your LDC-Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Only suitable for small children”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We book to go to the center online, were you can get 50% off. We had thought it would be something fun to do as two adults who were childhood fans of lego. This was a mistake. The initial section was good, which was a recreation of the city of Berlin in lego. However the rest of the attraction was aimed at children no older than five and the staff looked at us as though we were really odd.

Even with small children it is really quite small and would take 1-2 hour tops to get round, with possibly and hour on the playground. At one point you go on on the shortest train ride ever, lasting about 1 minute and, with very limited thrills and excitement. The brick workshop and 4D movie is in German, so unlike the other Merlin attractions it does not cater for other nationalities.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank potbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mia M, betreuende PR-Agentur at LEGOLAND Discovery Centre, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hello there,

thank you for your entry after your visit at our LEGOLAND Discovery Centre.
We take criticism and suggestions very seriously, so that we can make your visits even more fun.
If you'd like to give us more suggestions and ideas on what we can do to improve our attractions, please feel free to contact us via berlin@legolanddiscoverycentre.de.

Thank you very much!

Cheers,
your LDC-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LEGOLAND Discovery Centre also viewed

 

Been to LEGOLAND Discovery Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing