We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice food nice romantic”
Review of Das Bonito

Das Bonito
Ranked #272 of 8,583 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“nice food nice romantic”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

hallo Bonito.this is the best place of tapas in berlin. from waiter till food.we have a nice dinnertime in yours restaurant.Thank you.
we come back
Limbert

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronaldo l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    70
    23
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An intimate haven”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I discovered this place just hours after arriving in Berlin (an overnight flight) and was able to tempt my weary traveling companion to join me. The warm intimacy of the place helped revive us both. After we ordered an assortment of dishes, the owner (waiter) seemed to assume that of course we also wanted the potatoes (They did have their own line on the menu, in bold lettering.) It had crossed our minds, so we said, "Yes, of course." They were wonderful, with their red and green dipping sauces; as was the wine he suggested. We left happy, and with his enthusiastic hand-shake and "Happy New Year."

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jalz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Big let down”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

True its a cosy and a nice space to spend an evening. The service is good the food however is mediocre and disappointing. They have a limited menu of hot and cold tapas. Three options are offered small, medium and large. We went for the medium. The cold tapas plate consisted of 4 slices of paper thin cheese - so thin you could see through it, 4 slices of not very nice and equally thin cut salami and two of jamon. This for 9€ The hot tapas all tasted the same and had the taste of a spicy goulash as opposed to anything Spanish. Two meatballs, two small bites of meat, and this was a medium portion. The speciality the Rosemary potatoes consisted of 4 small boiled potatoes in skins with some chopped parsley and a out of bottle taste sauce on the side. These boiled potatoes worked out at a euro each. Come on people those who rave about this as being good dining need to get out more. My wife was shocked at the meaness of the portions. No wine list just a avearge wine peddled at 6€ a glass. Having spent some 70€ our combined meals would have been an adequate main for one person. Not for me if I visit Berlin again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank travelsuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Cozy tapas place”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a cozy little tapas restaurant very close to KADEWE. The concept is simplistic, 2 people running the place, only 20 seats, and a very small menu consisting of some cold and hot tapas, and a small selection of Spanish wines. No mains, no dessert.

The tapas itself were mixed. We liked the hot chorizo and the meatballs a lot. We also ordered the mixed cold tapas, but in hindsight should have ordered single portions, as the plate was quite small. The serrano ham it included wasn't very good. A selection of nice Iberico ham would be a good idea for a Spanish tapas bar, but not at Bonito. Some of the other tapas weren't really special. Considering that they only have a very limited menu, they should put a little more focus on the quality of the food.

The atmosphere of the place is its main asset. It's small and intimate and the service personal and friendly. If you are looking for some tapas and wine in a casual and cozy place, you will enjoy it. If you are looking for a full meal of great food, this place is not for you.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael-Traveller-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant in Berlin”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The second that we walked in the door it was clear that we would have an extraordinary evening. The charismatic waiter/owner, alluring smells from the kitchen, soft candle light, smiling faces, wine bottles adorning the walls and huge chandelier all combined to create a memorable and intimate atmosphere. It was one of those rare restaurants where because of the intimate space you end up engaging with the other patrons. The real challenge was choosing what to eat from the assortment of tasty tapas...definitely try the dates wrapped in bacon! Wow! We walked in not too hungry but the food was so delicious that we ordered a second round of dishes. The waiter recommended the perfect wine and had a remarkable presence which made us feel right at home. This was by far our favourite restaurant in Berlin and we will go back again and again. It was not just a meal but an experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemima H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Das Bonito also viewed

 

Been to Das Bonito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing