We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great experience.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cantina in der Bar Tausend

Cantina in der Bar Tausend
Ranked #544 of 8,005 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Mitte
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

One of my best experiences ever. The food in the resturant was superb, cool mix between Japanese and Latin-american. Great ambiance. We moved into the bar for drinks after dinner. There was a live band playing, drinks was great, the bartenders was very pleasant with great skills and the people were urban and cool.
As mentioned by others the place can be hard to find, however our taxi driver knew the place and guided us directly to the unmarked door with just an anonymous door bell.
This place just has to be experienced.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PetterHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    50
    11
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Totally overpriced and a snob place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Not only were we seated at the bar, which was meant to be "our table" but had to wait for about an hour for our food. When it finally arrived we could hardly find it on our plates....soooo small portions and the price was horrendous.

To finish it off our waiter charged me EUR 75 instead of EUR 57 by "mistake" hmmmm. Will never ever go back and warn everybody about this place.
Besides it stinks of cigarettes as its apparently allowed to smoke in the bar next to the restaurant

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gitte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisse
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very cool location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I spent an evening in Cantina Tausend with a group of 30 people. Food and setting is just stunning. We took a selection across the different menues. Especially I did like Cevice, Sashimi salad and the beef. Everything was at top-notch quality.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ibex59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing food, cool location, great cocktails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

There isn't a lot to say... Amazing fusion dishes. We tried 5-6 different cocktails, each of them very unique and tasty. The bar had a good mix of guests.
Be sure to make reservations.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ladydeniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best restaurant in Berlin during our stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Yes we can confirm it was the best restaurant, a bit difficult to find but def the best option. Staff was really friendly and the food fantastic. Two people without wine 70 euros

Helpful?
1 Thank Franete1977
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Cantina in der Bar Tausend also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Cantina in der Bar Tausend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing