We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good location, Hampton standard.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Ranked #38 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
138 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good location, Hampton standard.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Reception staff speaks excellent English.

Convenient location. 10min walk from metro.

Breakfast is good.

Overall satisfied with the stay.

Gentle reminder. A German friend told me that the "East Germany" regions is not as safe as "West Germany" regions. We felt it 1st handed. 2 young guys approach me & my wife when we are moving lots of luggages (both hands full) from metro station to hotel. One guy suddenly grabbed my wife's hand. Luckily, rather than took her hand off from her luggage (natural reflex), she screamed at that man instead and scared him off. Otherwise, we would have a very bad start of our Berlin trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ambambamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,155
    823
    136
    23
    9
See reviews for
436
739
198
386
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel was very clean and very comfortable. It was very convenient for the purpose of our visit to Berlin, which was to see 4 operas at the Schiller Theatre, necessitating a 7-night stay. The hotel was affordable for this purpose and ideally situated.

Everything was fine - the room was immaculately clean, and spacious; the breakfast was varied and plentiful; the staff were helpful and courteous, and the place ran very smoothly. The free wi-fi in the room worked with no difficulty. What more can you ask?

Room Tip: high floors. The street side. Apparently just level with the railway track can be disturbing, howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

THe hotel is very clean, nice breakfast, i loved the location. It doesnt have room service or the vanity kits (shower caps or cotton balls and stuff like this). Staf very helpful. Overall loved the experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linlin22_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
276 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 685 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked directly through the Hilton website and reserved a quiet room with a balcony. In the warmer months, it must be really pleasant to sit outside on one's private terrace and look out at Berlin. In our case, with March snow several inches deep, we used it as our big 'walk-out freezer'!

This hotel is on a quiet street but some of the lower, back-facing rooms look out onto the train line. If you're a light sleeper, make sure to request a room above the 6th floor.

Service at the Front Desk was excellent! Everyone was friendly, efficient and spoke several languages fluently. There's a big luggage storage room near the Front Desk and a 24 hr bar inside the hotel. I noticed some regulars carrying pizza from the bar up to their room for dinner.

Breakfast is usually included and it's served efficiently in a very large open area. Lots of cold and hot items to choose from. A great way to start the day.

The rooms are not huge but neither is the price!

Location-wise, the hotel is about 10 min from the big S+U bahn station, Zoologischer Garten (exit hotel, turn right and right again onto Kantstrasse, pass Motel One and turn left). On Kantsrasse, there are several nice-looking restaurants and closer to the train station, there's a big supermarket.

If you exit the hotel and turn left, you'll be on Ku'damm within minutes. The closest U-bahn station is the same name as the hotel's street: Uhlandstrasse (U1). If you walk left along Ku'damm for a few minutes, you'll arrive at the Ku'damm U-bahn. This is more useful since it is served by both U1 and U9.

Most people stay in Mitte or in East Berlin but we chose to stay in both west and east. Berlin is a huge city and we wanted to experience it from more than one angle. The Hampton is near Savignyplatz, a pretty green park area. Lots of cafes and restaurants here. The hotel is also very near The Story of Berlin, Kathe-Kollwitz Museum and of course, the Berlin Zoo.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on a higher floor if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gigis_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binbrook
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Bright modern and extremely clean hotel located within easy reach of Tegel Airport and Zoo station. Large room with a very comfy queen bed, desk and sofa. My room faced the street, 5th floor, and no street noise, just an occasional soft rumble from the Stadtbahn which runs next to the hotel.

I used public transport and Zoo S-Bahn & Regional station was only a 5 minute walk. Good restaurants located all around the hotel. I was happy with the price and used an AAA/CAA discount.

Huge breakfast buffet included pancakes, scrambled egg, bacon, sausage, fresh fruit, cereals, cold meats, cheese and breads and rolls. Friendly bar with reasonable drinks prices and wonderful draft beers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 21123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Ten of us booked into the Hampton in April and all of us found this hotel an excellent choice. The hotel looks quite new, is spotlessly clean, with a bar and a gym. All the rooms have everything you need, comfy beds and pillows, towels, TV and a free paper in the morning. The price was very good plus it included a free buffet breakfast that had a wide array of food. All the staff was fantastic, very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The sights in Berlin are spread over a large area and the train network is very good. The train station is only a few minutes walk from the Hampton and the hotel is surrounded by plenty of restaurants that cater for all budgets, thus making this hotel a great location. There are high end shops just a few minutes away. We had a couple of friends that wanted to come with us at the last minute but the hotel was full. As it offers great value I was not surprised. My only tip is if you like your tea there is no English breakfast tea….(In fact could not find any in Berlin) However they have plenty of other tea’s and coffee on offer. Great choice.

Room Tip: All rooms were the same top quality But there is a train line that runs by you might wish to be lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IssyBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardek
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The hotel justifies the reputation of the Hampton line, a subsidiary of the Hilton group. It offers excellent service without any unnecessary add-ons, it focuses on practicality so to speak. I've spent four beautiful days there with my twin daughters (age seven) and we barely managed to check out at the end, the girls really got attached to the hotel. The breakfast is fabulous, the food fresh and very tasty. The location is perfect, around the corner from "Bahnhof Zoo" and "Kurfürstendamm". Adjacent lies the railway but it is barely noticable thanks to the excellent soundproofness of the windows.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristjan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
#28 of 663 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,625 reviews
Mitte
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Schoneberg
Ibis Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel OTTO
Hotel OTTO
#17 of 663 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,065 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Q!
Hotel Q!
#14 of 663 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
Charlottenburg
Novotel Berlin Am Tiergarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West

Property: Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Address: Uhlandstrasse 188-189, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Berlin
#38 Family Hotel in Berlin
#40 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Berlin City West Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing