We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel with bad practices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Ranked #15 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This hotel is really outstanding. It is well-located, comfortable and has friendly staff. The apartments even contain a washer and dryer, which is a godsend for those like us, who had been travelling for a while.

The restaurant is OK, but not great.

Our problem with the hotel, which we have taken up in detail with the management (and with booking.com-through whom we booked the hotel) is that the hotel charged our travel money card 530 euros to hold the reservation and didn't release the money until eight days after we had paid our bill in full and left Berlin.

This practice makes it very difficult to manage finances on the road.

We do not recommend this hotel solely because of this practice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheLonePilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajost, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear TheLone Pilgrim, thanks for your comment on your stay and the fact that you liked our hotel. Regarding the mismatching of your credit card reservation I am very sorry, but this was really a lack of communication of computer systems between creditcard provider and your bank. In 99% the reservation on your creditcard taken upon arrival is automatically released by the final payment upon your departure. Why this technical wise did not work the bank could not tell us and we cannot see that the reservation is still on. Once you informed us about this issue, we asked the creditcard institute immediately to inform your bank in Australia about the release of the reservation and it worked out. I really apologize for this miscommunication of computer systems, but unfortunately this was not under our control. It would be great if you could give Adina a second chance to show, that also payment wise everything is working fine. Kind regards Annette Jost

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,741)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,474 - 2,480 of 3,741 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

I just stayed here for 5 nights and it was in the best location in Berlin. It is about 1 min walk from the S-bahn which is only 2 stops from the Berlin Hbf and very easy to get to/from. Also, Hackescher Markt is the best area for cafes/bars/restaurants which are all so close to the hotel. Alexanderplatz is also only about 5 mins walk from the hotel or a stop away on the S-bahn.

The hotel is awesome. With the rooms being very roomy and the benefit of the kitchenette, lounge area and separate bedroom which gives you room to think in a European hotel room! It also has the best feature of a washing machine & dryer in the spacious bathroom which when you are travelling is an absolute bonus and so convenient. (some English translations for the actual machine would be helpful but there are english instructions to help you use it)

There is a terrific bar downstairs which is a welcome treat when you return after walking the city and knowing you can sit down and relax and then go up to your room when you are done. Breakfast is served in the same room the next day which you would never know. It is a full breakfast which gives you a great start to the day and for the Aussies they also have Vegemite along with a vast selection of jams and honey.

Everything was terrific at this Adina and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a 1-bedroom or bigger if you want the washing machine facilities in your room. The studios don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LYNDHURST4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajost, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Lyndhurst4, many thanks for your terrific review of your stay with us. It really looks like that you had the chance to enjoy all the services and commodity we have to offer. So nice that we could give you a kind of home away from home feeling by providing the vegemite in the morning. We would love to welcome you back again one day. Kind regards Annette Jost

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

These stylish serviced apartments are located in the Mitte District of East Berlin, 2 minutes walk from the S-Bahn, 5-10 minutes walk from the local supermarket, 10 minutes from Alexanderplatz, 15 minutes from museum island (Pergamon etc) and 30 minutes from Brandenburg Gate.

The apartments are serviced daily and are fashionably furnished and immaculate. Stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment - large wardrobe in the bedroom, good size living /dining room with sofa-bed & dining table to seat 4 people, small balcony with chair & table, fully equipped kitchenette including dishwasher and a washing machine & dryer in the ample sized bathroom. Dishwashing liquid & powder for the dishwasher & washing machine all replenished daily. Large flat screen TV in both the bedroom & living room.

Very nice bar & restaurant on the ground floor so there's the option of having meals in either the apartment or the restaurant. Free wifi in the lobby & restaurant & 2 free computers in the lobby. Pool, sauna & small but adequately equipped gym on the lower ground floor.

Staff very friendly & incredibly helpful. Plenty of small restaurants & interesting shops in the Hofs nearby, all very reasonably priced.

Highly recoomend this property & can't wait to return to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyToscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajost, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Sydney Toscar, many thanks on your compliments to our property and team. I am happy to read that you liked staying with us so much, that we will be seeing you soon again. Looking forward to your next stay. Kind regards Annette Jost

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the Adina Apartments for 3 nights in September. The room was modern and spacious and the front desk staff were friendly and helpful. We loved that the hotel was just around the corner from the lively Hackescher Market with lots of places to eat and shop. Adina proved to be a great base for sightseeing, we were able to walk everywhere in central Berlin. S-bahn station was less than a block away too.

The mini suite we had (fridge, stove, microwave and dishes) allowed us to buy groceries and have breakfast and snacks in the room. There was a cafe just around the corner that we bought cappuccinos at in the mornings.

Wifi was free in lobby and if you left the connection on, you could still use it in the room.

Definitely recommend the Adina Apartments for anyone travelling to Berlin.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajost, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Nicole F, it seems that you discovered pretty much the location and what it offers. You are right the equipment of our kitchenette is ideal to prepare your own breakfast or some small meals as the supermarket is not far away. Thanks for recommending our hotel. Kind regards Annette Jost

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Pro's: Wonderful clean and new room with all the amenities one could want. Location can't be beat. Many dining opportunities nearby as well as transit.
Con's: Expensive breakfast but many other better value options are nearby. Free WIFI is only available in the lobby and you have to get a new passcode every day. Rate is higher than other nearby properties but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freddy484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajost, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Freddy484, thanks for your pro`s and con`s. It is great that you liked the location. Hopefully we might see you again. Kind regards Annette Jost

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Cant rate this place highly enough. Accomodation is excellent and nothing is too difficult for thr staff. Ursula in reception is fantastic and extremely helpful. The only thing that I am not excited about is the cost of wifi in the room. I suggest buying a German sim card (iPhone) and using the hotspot feature to set up your own wifi which works out cheaper. Cost my 20 Euros for the sim card and allowed me to call back to Australia as well for a week.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Liked that they have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_12325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajost, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear Peter_12325°, it is great to see, that my team does everything to assist our guests needs. And many thanks for the compliment on Ursula. Your advice regarding the German sim card sounds very useful, it was never mentioned before. We hope to welcome you soon again. Kind regards Annette Jost

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

After reading way too many reviews, we settled on a studio room at Adina Hackesher Mkt for our 3 day stay in Berlin. We hadn't been to the city before and wanted a comfortable, nice place to stay in a great location for touring the city in a short time. This hotel was perfect! The hotel is 1 block from the S Bahn station that will take you almost anywhere. The bus to Tegel airport is 2 blocks away and comes every 15 minutes.

The hotel is modern and clean. There is free internet in the lobby. Our room was on the 2nd floor and we were still able to get the wifi signal, so we grabbed the password cards from the desk and would go to relax in our room. The kitchen is awesome! We didn't use it, but if we were there for longer, it'd be more than enough to cook with a fridge, stove and dishwasher! The bathroom had a huge shower. The closet is very large and the bed is comfy (2 twin beds put together like many european beds) There were plenty of english channels to choose from. We enjoyed the jacuzzi spa at the end of the day. The front desk was very helpful. We bought a 2 day berlin pass that covers all public transportation and discounts at museums and other tours. Berlin is such a great city with a mix of new and old. One day when we go back, we will stay here again. It's way nicer than a hostel, but not as expensive as the luxury hotels by Brandenberg gate.

A little more about the area . . . Hackesher market is full of great restaurants that have endless tables and chairs to sit outside at while you dine and enjoy the summer weather. Hackesher Hofe is great to stroll around in and eat as well and is 2 blocks away. There's a bank nearby that gives a good exchange rate if you get money out of the ATM (much better than exchanging money at the airport!) We went to a great Thai place nearby as well. We never ate at the hotel, because there were so many choices within a 2-5 minute walk, that we wanted to experience everything. Make sure you try the traditional german breakfast, it's great! You should also definitely try the local beer and pork knuckle. We took a 3 hour river tour, visited the Pergamon museum, Berliner Dome, Brandenberg gate, and checkpoint charlie and much more. What a great trip!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mzqb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajost, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear TRV_1957, what a detailed report on your trip to Berlin, Hackescher Markt , our Adina Hotel and its surrounding. Your infos are definitely good advices for guest coming for the first time to berlin and want to check out the eastern and western part of the city. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the facilities of the apartment. I am sorry that housekeeping needed one day a little bit longer until they could do your room. It would be great, if we could accommodate you soon again. Kind regards Annette Jost

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,938 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 634 in Berlin
550 reviews
Mitte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt

Address: An der Spandauer Bruecke 11, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $104 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt is situated right in the heart of the historic Mitte district, close to Berlins famous Hackesche Hofe area which boasts ancient courtyards and an exciting selection of shops, restaurants and theatres. Other nearby attractions include Red Town Hall, the Berlin Cathedral, Boulevard Unter den Linden, Alexanderplatz and Staatsoper Unter den Linden. The underground and tram are located just minutes walk from the hotel. Berlin Tegel Airport is 25 minutes and Berlin Schoenefeld Airport 40 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Toga Hotels, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing