We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay in Berlin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Ranked #17 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Cant rate this place highly enough. Accomodation is excellent and nothing is too difficult for thr staff. Ursula in reception is fantastic and extremely helpful. The only thing that I am not excited about is the cost of wifi in the room. I suggest buying a German sim card (iPhone) and using the hotspot feature to set up your own wifi which works out cheaper. Cost my 20 Euros for the sim card and allowed me to call back to Australia as well for a week.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Liked that they have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_12325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajost, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear Peter_12325°, it is great to see, that my team does everything to assist our guests needs. And many thanks for the compliment on Ursula. Your advice regarding the German sim card sounds very useful, it was never mentioned before. We hope to welcome you soon again. Kind regards Annette Jost

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,826)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,525 - 2,531 of 3,826 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

After reading way too many reviews, we settled on a studio room at Adina Hackesher Mkt for our 3 day stay in Berlin. We hadn't been to the city before and wanted a comfortable, nice place to stay in a great location for touring the city in a short time. This hotel was perfect! The hotel is 1 block from the S Bahn station that will take you almost anywhere. The bus to Tegel airport is 2 blocks away and comes every 15 minutes.

The hotel is modern and clean. There is free internet in the lobby. Our room was on the 2nd floor and we were still able to get the wifi signal, so we grabbed the password cards from the desk and would go to relax in our room. The kitchen is awesome! We didn't use it, but if we were there for longer, it'd be more than enough to cook with a fridge, stove and dishwasher! The bathroom had a huge shower. The closet is very large and the bed is comfy (2 twin beds put together like many european beds) There were plenty of english channels to choose from. We enjoyed the jacuzzi spa at the end of the day. The front desk was very helpful. We bought a 2 day berlin pass that covers all public transportation and discounts at museums and other tours. Berlin is such a great city with a mix of new and old. One day when we go back, we will stay here again. It's way nicer than a hostel, but not as expensive as the luxury hotels by Brandenberg gate.

A little more about the area . . . Hackesher market is full of great restaurants that have endless tables and chairs to sit outside at while you dine and enjoy the summer weather. Hackesher Hofe is great to stroll around in and eat as well and is 2 blocks away. There's a bank nearby that gives a good exchange rate if you get money out of the ATM (much better than exchanging money at the airport!) We went to a great Thai place nearby as well. We never ate at the hotel, because there were so many choices within a 2-5 minute walk, that we wanted to experience everything. Make sure you try the traditional german breakfast, it's great! You should also definitely try the local beer and pork knuckle. We took a 3 hour river tour, visited the Pergamon museum, Berliner Dome, Brandenberg gate, and checkpoint charlie and much more. What a great trip!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mzqb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajost, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear TRV_1957, what a detailed report on your trip to Berlin, Hackescher Markt , our Adina Hotel and its surrounding. Your infos are definitely good advices for guest coming for the first time to berlin and want to check out the eastern and western part of the city. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the facilities of the apartment. I am sorry that housekeeping needed one day a little bit longer until they could do your room. It would be great, if we could accommodate you soon again. Kind regards Annette Jost

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Facilities in this hotel were excellent. I read the reviews before and was not disappointed. It is in a central location and close to the stations. We had a one bedroom and everything worked perfectly from dishwasher to washing machine with all supplies needed. The staff were friendly and helpful and the bar restaurant stays open very late serving food. a real plus when you arrive late , hungry and tired. i would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: the one bedrooms are much better value than the studio rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheilajenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajost, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear sheilajenn, thanks for compliments. So great to read, that we did not disappoint you. It is nice that you noticed that the kitchen is open late until 23:30 h, as we thought people might be hungry after a long trip and would like to enjoy a good drink and some freshly made food. Looking forward to your next stay. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights.

Perfect location with transport by tram, train, and bus within 1 minute. Bars and restaurants aplenty close by. Staff very pleasant and attentive. Apartment was well equipped and had all you need for a good stay. Very clean. Hope to go back to Berlin November 2012 and stay here again. I can not recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajost, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear DPM64, thanks for your kind review. It looks like that we did everything fine, when you are returning in November. Kind regards. Annette Jost

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just returned home from having spent a weekend break in Adina Apartment hotel Hackesher Markt. I agree with all the positive reviews preceeding this one - ,excellent check in staff, our one bedroom apartment was spotlessly clean, well equipped (though we didn't use the cooker, dryer or microwave etc) and very very peaceful. The beds were clean and comfortable. Our apt. was on the 8th floor overlooking the street and Sbahn tracks and I heard nothing, no noise, all night. I would definitely stay there again.

Two small complaints I would have are that the website does not give vital written directions on how to get from the Hackescher markt bahnhof to the hotel or what S-bahn to get on from (for example) Hauptbahnhof or Alexander platz, nor does it give information about how to walk from the station to the hotel which is really only a 2 minute walk. My second complaint is that while the wellness area is very nice, very clean and relaxing, the jacuzzi is not warm enough, in fact it isn't as warm as a warm bath. It's about 5 degrees too cold and it makes it uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cardigan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajost, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear cardigan24, thanks for the time taken to write this review. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and could find a good sleep although the room was facing the tracks. The windows are really solid soundproofed. Your comment regarding more information if you come by foot is very important, as we always intent to forget this. We will amend this shortly on our website. Regarding the whirlpool it has 32° C degrees which is the dedicated temperature in Germany, but we will have another look at it. I hope we will be able to accommodate you soon again. Kind regards Annette Jost

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I had never heard of Adina hotels and had not been to Berlin since the city was reunited, so I was very unsure about what and where to book. But my research suggested that the hotel and the location would be OK--and it turned out to be much better than expected. First, the hotel: We had a standard room which is really like a studio apartment with a couch, stove, fridge, even a small dishwasher. The room was very comfortable. The hotel is clean and modern with a bit of whimsy. The bar serves great cocktails for 5 euros during happy hour--an unexpected bonus. I would choose Adina again for certain. Now for the location: It is perfect. It's half a block from the S-Bahn and Hackescher Market with many, many good restaurants and shops. We passed up the 15 euro hotel breakfast and had no trouble getting good coffee, pastries, sandwiches, etc. just a few steps away. Our walking tour of Berlin, which I also highly recommend, assembled at the Hackerscher market, and Museum Island is easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolynP598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajost, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear CarolynP598, it is good to read that we did not disappoint you. Nice that you took advantage of our bar and the happy hour. The cocktails served are just great. We hope to welcome you soon again. Kind regards Annette Jost

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Overall, this was a great property, where we stayed for 4 nights. We would stay here again without hesitation. Berlin is edgy and alive – filled with history but authentic. No looking back here because it was all obliterated in WWII and compounded by the effects of Soviet domination and Communism. I found it painfully ironic that Hitler’s Reich Chancellery (1937-1945) on Vosstrasse is now the site of a preschool and the site of his Fuhrerbunker on Gertud-Kolmar Strasse is a non-descript DDR-style apartment complex, both only a few blocks from the powerfully moving Memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe.

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment at the Adina Hackescher Markt, which was compact but spacious by European standards. The kitchenette was immaculate and quite functional, and the eating area ample sized, allowing us to take breakfast and a light dinner a few nights in our room. However, I could not see cooking a full meal. The sitting area was cozy, with a loveseat and work desk. Our 8th floor room faced away from the street and overlooked a courtyard shared by the adjacent office building. It was very peaceful with only a hint of city noise with the windows open at night. It had a small covered porch, really only big enough for one. Large door-size windows allowed for plenty of fresh air – but the AC also worked very well on a few warm afternoons. The bedding was very good; though the mattress was quite firm and the king bed was actually two twins pushed together. The bathroom was adequate in size and immaculate, with plenty of hot water and pressure. Housekeeping one day was not performed until nearly 5:00 PM, but upon request, subsequent days it was done much earlier. The front desk staff was generally very professional, but not overly friendly. Breakfast is not included and is 19 Euros. My other gripe is that Internet is only free in the lobby and bar area but 13 Euros per day in your room. For the rates charged (especially on weekdays) it should be included.

The hotel is about a block away from the Hackescher Markt S-Bahn station, serviced by the S5, S7 and S75 lines (but with no escalator or elevator and a long flight of stairs). It is two stops on the S-Bahn away from the Hauptbahnhof, where we got off the TXL Express Bus from Tegel Airport. Until Berlin opens its new airport, now delayed until well into 2013, for 2.40 Euro you take the TXL Bus from Position #2 (I think the ticket machine only takes coins) – it was a wild ride and jammed with people and luggage. We elected to take a taxi back to the airport – 25 Euros with tip and 30 minutes at 6:00 AM on a weekday. The hotel is located in the former East Berlin but the Hackescher Markt is filled with energy, restaurants, cafes and shops. Be sure to check out the nearby Hackescher Hof restaurant – great German Fusion food and friendly, English-speaking staff.

There are a Kaiser Supermarket and a Rossman Drugstore in the Hauptbahnhof that are open until 10:00 pm, even on Sundays. The Berlin Hauptbahnhof is an amazing place – it is like a small city – and the most impressive European train station I have seen. The Berlin Ostbahnhof (three quick S-Bahn stops east of the Hackescher Markt) also has two supermarkets, located in the basement of its main entrance hall: Lidl (daily 8 am to 10 pm) and REWE (daily 8 am to 10 pm), with a wider selection of products to stock your Adina kitchenette.

If you feel like splurging – check out the great Restaurant Wintergarten on the 7th floor of KaDeWe Department Store for lunch (Winterberg-platz station on the U1 and U2). It is a buffet style arrangement but all very fresh, wonderfully presented and diverse – albeit pricey – like 40-50 Euros for lunch for two.

Room Tip: Upper level, facing the center courtyard, so you can open your windows and not hear street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRV_1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajost, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear TRV_1957, what a detailed report on your stay in berlin. It seems that you had already a plan laid out, what to dicsover in Berlin. I am thankful that you took our Adina as the right spot to explore the city and it looks like you enyoed staying with us. I am sure other guests will take your advices into consideration. Looking forward to welcome you soon again. Kind regards Annette Jost

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 635 in Berlin
588 reviews
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#28 of 635 in Berlin
5,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt

Address: An der Spandauer Bruecke 11, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $118 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt is situated right in the heart of the historic Mitte district, close to Berlins famous Hackesche Hofe area which boasts ancient courtyards and an exciting selection of shops, restaurants and theatres. Other nearby attractions include Red Town Hall, the Berlin Cathedral, Boulevard Unter den Linden, Alexanderplatz and Staatsoper Unter den Linden. The underground and tram are located just minutes walk from the hotel. Berlin Tegel Airport is 25 minutes and Berlin Schoenefeld Airport 40 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Toga Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing