We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to relax, chat and meet!”

Ampelmann Restaurant
Ranked #568 of 8,503 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $7 - $27
Cuisines: Pizza, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mitte
Description: The AMPELMANN Restaurant is located in Berlin Mitte (in the S-Bahn arches at Hackescher Markt).Located directly on the Spree you can take a relaxing break from the hustle and bustle and you can taste creative Berliner cuisine and international favorites here. Of course, there are also vegetarian and vegan dishes. At the AMPELMANN beach bar you can relax on comfortable deckchairs, with a delicious cocktail or a refreshing beer and enjoy the Berlin summer to the fullest with the unique view of the Spree and the Museum Island. Every day from 10 -12 a.m. we offer you delicious breakfast variations. The Ampelmännchen is one of the few things that survived the fall of the Wall in 1989. Meanwhile, the Ampelmann has become a Berlin ambassador. This was assured by the company AMPELMANN. In addition to the AMPELMANN Restaurant there is a café and six shops, where every visitor will find a piece of Berlin to take home with.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A great place to relax, chat and meet!”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

I really enjoy this restaurant, always ready to make a special order or something on the card. The owner is often there himself and takes care of you, he is truly interested in his guests.

The Sunday brunch meets have become legendary, I do miss them now that I no longer live in Berlin.

The location cannot be beet; a view of the river and the museum island, in summer they put out lounges, picnicking tables and children play things, it is like a neighborhood meet then, simply wonderful.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank stevenekuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    120
    36
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor Service and Lacked Character”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We picked this place because it looked fairly fun. We were a little disappointed at the lack of character. The food was good but nothing special. They had a good selection of food. The service was quite poor. It was very difficult to get the staffs attention and it seemed as if they were ignoring us. Overall I would say that, for the price and with such an interesting concept it was quite disappointing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cgimusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonkoping, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not as good as the price might suggest”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I visited Ampelmann for sunday brunch, so please notice that my views are only based on the brunch. Unfortunately I can't recommend this restaurant for brunch. The price of €18 does include a glass of Prosecco or orange juice and a cup of coffee but still, there are better and more price worthy options for brunch in Berlin.

The buffet is strangly enough located in the small kitchen area. Way too small. Felt very crowded. Vegetable, cold cuts and cheese selection were ok, but not much meat. Only chicken skewers were available besides the breakfast choice of one kind of sausage and bacon. Fish section only slighter better with salmon, prawns and crayfish. Some bins were empty a little too long.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeplate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A must-do for Berlin”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

If you're in Berlin in the summer you absolutely have to visit this place. There is nothing more fantastic than a giant beer in a beach chair by the river, with an optional throw blanket if it's a bit chilly. Best place to catch up for a relaxing afternoon with friends.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnyaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
597 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
“Sweet location, good food, service so-so”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

What got us to go there was a) a friends recommendation and b) free taxi bike shuttle from the shop.

I think the bike shuttle is a fun attraction in itself, but when you are a party of 4 adults and a kid, 2 adults have to walk (and they actually arrive faster)

The location right at the Spree river is great, if you do not mind the subway sound overhead from time to time. The menu is mainly Italian based and the food was good, but not outstanding. The service was in general nice, but could have been more attentive. Once we got our food we did not see our waitress for a very long time.

Great that they have kids' meals for 3€

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caipirina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ampelmann Restaurant also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Ampelmann Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing