We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel ”
Review of The Weinmeister

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Weinmeister
Ranked #244 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Amazing design hotel in the center of berlin (mitte). Close to alexanderplatz and in walking distance to museum Island as well as other important sights. Right next to the tube (with the same name) its easy to travel around the entire city. Clean and friendly staff! Most recommended.

Thank erkkii
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 497 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

More or less pseudo trendy 4 stat hotel in Berlin Mitte. If you want to hang out in the younger area of Mitte and go out to bars on Torstrasse, the hotel has a cool location. Breakfast is not good though and really expensive. The rooms are more or less ok, but ours was really dusty and had not been used or cleaned for a while, I assume.
All in all - you will find better places for better money in Berlin.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank notBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Great location: full or restaurants and bars, very clean. No issue with wifi or towels being changed. Friendly personel, great bar. Breakfast is slightly basic but still fine, breakfast was included though for us so I don't know the price of it but anything over 10 Euros would be a rip off. Live music on the Friday night and then a DJ: fine but too noisy for a room on the first floor. Bikes can be rented.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room on the first floor as you can hear the music from the lobby, the music is ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Excellent location in Mitte with a lot of nice cafes, bars, restaurants and shops close by. We arrived early in the day, so just one of the 3 double rooms we had ordered was ready. But we just left our luggage there and went out exploring Berlin. The three rooms we got were all on diffrent floors, it would have been nicer to have rooms closer together. But the rooms were nice, a bit small, but we weren't there much. Bed was big and comfy but felt a bit on the short side. The shower wasn't very private, so no use to be shy in front of your friends.

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel, but had some nice bloody marys one night. The hotel staff was generally friendly, some didn't have great English, but most did. As Berlin's nightlife lasts a long time, we were lucky to get a late check-out on Sunday. Staff was always helpful with ordering us taxis.

The house-keeping works opposite than in other hotels, you have to hang a sign with "I wanna be disturbed" when you want house-keeping to come. I see some reviewers were annoyed by this, but I liked the fact that we weren't woken up by knocks on the door.

The spa menu looked good and not too pricey, but didn't have the time to try anything. Maybe next time, will probably stay again for friends or couple holiday - not really a hotel for business travels.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tunhild J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel nice room (had the slightly larger medium sized room). Same complaints as most other reviewers - the fancy iMac does not work as a TV - had no signal my entire 5 day stay, my sheets were never changed for and €18 for a bowl of cornflakes and a coffee was a total ripoff! Other than that highly recommended for location, nice (if dead) bar, and cool design.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank anth0ny_l0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I did choose this hotel because of its location and it is great. It is very central and with many good public transport possibilities. Actually you can walk most of it and there are plenty of good restaurants, bars and shops in the area.

On to the hotel. The staff was very friendly, but the hotel seems disorganized. Many little things that didn't work how they should. The room not getting cleaned, short on towels, wi-fi not working at first etc. But all in all it was a good place to stay, we had a big room and we did enjoy the extra space and view from the 5th floor.

Would I stay here again? I probably would, if the price is right.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sussed_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Location:
- Excellent Location in Mitte, the trendy part of Berlin
- Weinmeisterstraße U- Bahn 10 metres from the hotel
- Hackescher Markt station and market 5 mins walking from the hotel
- 10 mins from Berlin Hauptbahnof
- Excellent reasonably priced bars like Adebar, St. Oberholz, Rocco all close by within 5 mins walking distance
- Museumsinsel, Cathedral and Lustgarten about 10 minutes walking from the hotel

Rooms:
- Double Standard room ideal for 2 people. A bit small though but definitely manageable
- Bathrooms are equipped with superior quality toiletries: Shampoo, Conditioner, Bath products all provided by the hotel
- The shower is one of the best parts about the room. It's quite massive like a rain shower
- Housekeeping service available for getting room cleaned
- Good wifi connection though in one room only one device can access the internet at a point of time. We were 2 people in a room and had to take turns to use the wifi on our smartphones
- Big comfortable bed, bedside plug points to charge phone on either side. All light switches built in the bed unit
- The only big problem was one set of rooms face the courtyard which has many offices which look into the room. So at all times the curtains should be closed to avoid looking into office spaces

Food & Beverage:
- Breakfast is a pretty decent spread though quite expensive at 18 euros per person compared to many other options close by at half the price
- Self Service breakfast concept: you have to make your own fresh orange juice, boil your own egg and make your own sausage
- Extensive muesli and cornflakes selection along with yoghurt, soya milk, coffee, tea, fresh fruits, cheese
- 24hr bar at the reception with quite reasonably priced drinks
- There's also a Rooftop bar with a great view though it's closed in winters
- Although the hotel advertises 24hrs room service the only option available in the night is nachos, hot beverages and you have to come down to the restuarant/bar and make your own Wiener sausage.

Staff:
- Very helpful English speaking staff
- Checking in and billing is quick and efficient

Spa:
- There's a spa next to the rooftop bar offering massage services

Room Tip: Please ask for the rooms facing the street not the courtyard. The curtains in the rooms facing court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scoutfinch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Lux 11
Lux 11
#210 of 635 in Berlin
527 reviews
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#93 of 635 in Berlin
491 reviews
Mitte
Hotel AMANO
Hotel AMANO
#109 of 635 in Berlin
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel MANI
Hotel MANI
#56 of 635 in Berlin
622 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Alexander Plaza Berlin
Mitte
Hotel Hackescher Markt
Hotel Hackescher Markt
#262 of 635 in Berlin
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Weinmeister? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Weinmeister

Address: Weinmeisterstr. 2 | 10178 Berlin, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#149 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $100 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Weinmeister 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weinmeister, sits in the heart of Berlin-Mitte and embodies its chic, contemporary attitude. “The Golden Cage”, as it is affectionately called due to its matte golden metal façade, is visible from every vantage point in the neighbourhood, alluringly drawing in guests and visitors alike. Conceived as the “big brother” of the well established Lux 11, also located in Mitte, The Weinmeister is aimed at business travelers from the film, music, fashion and other creative fields, as well as leisure travelers. Its core philosophy is simple: it focuses on rest, comfort, round-the-clock service and stylish rooms that highlight one piece of furniture - an oversized bed, which acts as a room within a room and suggests “cocooning.” Despite the convenience and excitement that the location affords, guests are very likely to give in to the temptation of staying in their endlessly comfortable rooms or in the luxurious hotel bar at the end of a busy day in the German capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Weinmeister reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Weinmeister Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing