We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Talking the talk, not walking the walk.”
Review of The Weinmeister

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Weinmeister
Ranked #233 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Rooms not cleaned sufficiently. Staff not really caring. VERY bad sound isolation of the rooms with early wakeup each morning as an effect. Not from outside but from staff working and other guests checking out..:-( average morning buffet.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mads K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 515 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

This is my first Review here on TripAdvisor. Not a great start with this hotel, unfortunately! I was here for a business trip to Berlin and stayed for 5 nights. A few pros, but many cons:

Good:
- very clean
- fantastic location for exploring Mitte and all the surrounding sites
- artwork on the walls.

However, sadly none of this beats what I can only describe as the 'difficulty' of staying at this hotel. In a nutshell:

- only one lift in a 6 floor, 60+ room hotel. I was on the 6th floor and had to wait several minutes every day just to get to the ground floor. If you hit 'rush-hour', expect to take a long walk down the stairs.

- they take self-service breakfast to another level! You have to prepare everything yourself, from squeezing out your own orange juice, to boiling your own eggs. Highly frustrating I you wish to have just a quick bite and get on with your day.

- breakfast area is crowded and in the same location as the bar and reception. Difficult to know who is in which queue and when.

- not enough tables for breakfast (on 3 of my 5 days there I saw people waiting with plates for people to leave so they could sit down). Expect a queue!

- no chair at the desk in the bedroom. Forced to sit on an uncomfortable box if working at the desk.

- no English-speaking TV channels, not even news.

- they have Mac computers instead of TVs in the rooms. Grey for Internet but not TV.

- room safe is hidden behind the sofa, requiring you to move it every time you want access (although the sofa is on wheels, it's a hassle and doesn't make for easy access).

- did I mention the lifts! Incredibly annoying!

For the same price, you can stay at just as good hotels if not better nearby. For holiday/leisure, it's just about bearable. But for the business traveller, go elsewhere.


not recommended for business travellers:

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BookingBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Great location, not particularly cheap. Good self-serve breakfast (you can make your own crepes on a special machine). Rooms are very modern but whilst the blue backlighting behind the bed gives ambience of urban cool, there's no overhead or decent lighting for working/doing hair etc. A case of style over function & at this price, it should really have both.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jade b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

the best place to see mitte and berlin- its very close to both alexander platz and hacksher markt. very interestingly designed and cool in its attitude it fit our 5 day stay in berlin very well. the staff, particularly verenna and johannes were warm and friendly- going that extra mile to meet our needs, including bringing reference books from home and recommending and booking several restaurants and places to shop. we did not feel like first time visitors with so much inside info! the rooms were adequate and the shower was lovely, though wifi connectivity was poor. all in all we would definitely go back next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rathna2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Weinmeister was a hotel that I picked purely because of an event that was happening in Berlin, had most of the hotels at a cheaper price booked. That being said, this hotel impressed me with its funky design, central location, and good service.

At first I ended up walking by the actual entrance 2 times before I realized where the actual entrance was. I thought it was just a wall of graffiti. Apparently not!

The room I stayed in was very spacious, and the shower was amazing. I liked the iMac computer they had available for use in the room.

The breakfast I found a little overpriced for what I got. But at the time I really didn't care... I was quite hungover!

The whole facility was clean, the staff was very helpful, and with the central location, and quiet rooms, I cant fault this hotel other than the price was a tad steep.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

A hip cool, stylish and "scene" type place to be, great service, great atmosphere and friendly, caring staff. We used the conference rooms and were happy with the service included. The hotel is a bit confusing as far as where to go for which area due to the many corridors and a small lack of signage.
All in all a great location dead center Berlin and within walking distance form the "cool" places to go like Hackischer Hof, Prenzlauer Berg and Kastanienallee.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenekuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Weinmeister - is actually a stupid german name. And so is the service, the interior and the infrastructure.
Why pay in a bad location a lot of money for this:

a) no fridge in the room, but two bottles of mineral water at summer temperatures for 6 € each that you get downstairs at 1€ but fortunately chilled.

b) bathrooms that do not work. shower head can be moved only by giant german ladies (you need to be higher than 180 cm to be able to do the same) actually the shower heads were not working, since there was too much chalk in the water. Hey guys and girls of wine pranksters you got chalk in the water of Berlin - so do the maintenance monthly.

c) that was only the start of a three day nightmare. second night ordered from the so famous bar a beer. Never came. Had to get up to buy it in the local turkish store - good thing about it was - prize was ten times lower

d) nightmare number three on the third night. The cheap Chinese installations in the toilet were not working anymore. We got the noise of running water for the night - of course no room keeping to take care of it.

e) Yeah it is nice to have privacy in a hotel - but do you need to go each time to three gates with a card??????? NO is our answer. Or- get your card readers clean. It was a nuisance to go through the first and second gate, since the card readers were not reacting!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


The Weinmeister is a bad joke - they should start to keep maintenance up, room keeping in time and room service as they say. Privacy in Berlin is nice, but we do not need three card readers for that. And your complete bathroom gear Made in China needs daily maintenance. That is the prize for using cheap gear.


Last but not least - Paint the walls in the staircase white again. The artist who have painted there are basically nobodies and for the hotel irrelevant.

cheers from Shanghai

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Lux 11
Lux 11
#201 of 634 in Berlin
549 reviews
Mitte
Hotel MANI
Hotel MANI
#56 of 634 in Berlin
662 reviews
Mitte
Hotel AMANO
Hotel AMANO
#115 of 634 in Berlin
1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#11 of 634 in Berlin
2,659 reviews
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#76 of 634 in Berlin
514 reviews
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#2 of 634 in Berlin
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Weinmeister? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Weinmeister

Address: Weinmeisterstr. 2 | 10178 Berlin, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#143 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $85 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Weinmeister 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weinmeister, sits in the heart of Berlin-Mitte and embodies its chic, contemporary attitude. “The Golden Cage”, as it is affectionately called due to its matte golden metal façade, is visible from every vantage point in the neighbourhood, alluringly drawing in guests and visitors alike. Conceived as the “big brother” of the well established Lux 11, also located in Mitte, The Weinmeister is aimed at business travelers from the film, music, fashion and other creative fields, as well as leisure travelers. Its core philosophy is simple: it focuses on rest, comfort, round-the-clock service and stylish rooms that highlight one piece of furniture - an oversized bed, which acts as a room within a room and suggests “cocooning.” Despite the convenience and excitement that the location affords, guests are very likely to give in to the temptation of staying in their endlessly comfortable rooms or in the luxurious hotel bar at the end of a busy day in the German capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Weinmeister reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Weinmeister Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing