We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different”
Review of The Weinmeister

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Weinmeister
Ranked #254 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Large beds - in fact you need to be tall to get in and out easily - with crisp linen and very comfortable. Lighting alternatives led to some challenges before lights out, but this was fun. Interesting furniture and ambience throughout hotel. Great location - near bars and restaurants and 10min walk to Museum Island. Clean enough, just, but hotel could have improved on this with a little effort and it was not easy to guarantee towel changes. Would return though. Didn't bother with the breakfasts because there were lots of cheaper and very good alternatives nearby.

Room Tip: Large room adds to the experience
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mol1957lie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
There are newer reviews for The Weinmeister
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 492 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

I asked for Room Service and after i read all the menu there wasnßt everything just at 9 pm, no vegetarian menu, just 2 dishes on a menu of 10 choices.No Tv in the room, just a MacBook with a no service, so i'm not able to see channels. No boiler in your room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eleonora c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

we stayed there with my husband. Such a wonderful place. Boutique hotel, so warm and friendly. The weather was nice and we spent the afternoon at the roof garden (?)- terasse with incredible view. The breakfast was nice and I remember that the coffee was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fofi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

There are certainly good and bad things to Weinmeister.
I was treated to a trip to Berlin for my 30th and my girlfriend booked the hotel on the basis of its 'designer hotel' tag and its location, which is fantastic.

As someone else has said I think the 'we won't disturb you' policy is just to get them out of cleaning... We turned up at 2pm to check in and were told that our room wasn't ready yet but should be by 4pm. Having just arrived in Berlin and only there for 2 1/2 days we didn't want to take up the afternoon waiting around so resolved to return at 7pm so we could have a proper afternoon sightseeing. We gave reception our bags, signed documents (which we thought checked us in) and went on our way. We returned at 7pm to a very confused receptionist. Our room, apparently, was not ready. Still. Rather fuming to say the least having been awake since 4am and needing a shower we were asked to wait and to be fair they offered us a drink on the house and said the room would be half an hour.

The barman refused to make me a gin and tonic, as it was 'boring'. This did not add to my mood. But he made a decent cocktail to my taste, I just didnt want one.

After an hour of waiting we were told that surprise surprise housekeeping weren't there (at 8pm? Surely not) so the manager was cleaning the room. We finally got our room at 8.30pm, the staff were apologetic, the barman a little bit in love with himself. I believe they actually sold our room during the afternoon as although we had booked a standard room, we were given a large one.

This is where the plus points start. The large room is lovely, though the floor was a tad dirty, a huge free standing bed with large bath behind, plus rain shower and double sink. The Mac is a great way to have a quick look on the net for weather, maps, restaurant menus etc just as you're heading out. Or to use for music etc - there is also an iPod dock.

We had a room at the front and didnt have any problemn with noise, though it was right over the front door and people smoked outside so when the window was open it was occassionally apparent.

We didnt try the breakfast; we went up the TV tower one day (amazing, very highly recommended and breakfast from 11 euros) and the other day we saw the breakfast at the holte was 18 euros which is ridiculously over priced.

To be honest if we didnt have the large room I do wonder whether I would have like it as much - other than the first day I had no real complaints and they were friendly. Architecturally it's interesting, and the chilli when you come in after a late night was quite a good touch.

Room Tip: Go for the large room, eat breakfast at the TV Tower rotating restaurant on Alexanderplatz
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

A classic example of style over function, from the over sized furniture to the imac tv , it all looks great but doesn't actually work very well. The shower head was mostly blocked through lack of maintenance, there was no towel rail, and nowhere to place your soap in the shower cubicle.They have a policy of not disturbing you which seems to be a cheap way not to make over the rooms ie you have to ask them to service the room. Breakfast is a way over priced self service affair with no hot food ooption . Lastly who wants a DJ playing the tiny hotel lounge, no wonder it was empty. I would not choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank judgedead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We loved our stay in the Weinmeister. Its cool, trendy, laid back, not pretentious, quirky. They gave us a chilled refresh flannel on arrival, the staff were friendly and helpful, the lobby had big comfy chairs with some great chilled out tunes playing. Our room was clean, had an unusual lay out, massive bed 'The White Room' shower gel/ shampoo and a mac computer to use for free in the bedroom. I dont understand why anyone wouldnt like this lay out, if you want a boring conventional standard hotel room then this isnt for you. If you want something different then this hotel is a must! The location of the hotel was perfect - right by the Weinmeister tube station. You can also walk to Alexandre Platz (10 min walk at maximum) which from there you can get the train to/from the airport and various other places. There are lots of nice cafes near by where you can eat some great food. There is also a roof terrace. We went on a bar crawl one night and the hotel was walking distance from loads of different bars in East Berlin (the bar crawl was by 'alternative bar crawl'). In addition to cafes there are quite a few boutique shops selling some great clothing. The area around the hotel was clean and safe. There is graffiti on the door on the way in, but this is Berlin, graffiti is part of Berlin and adds to the character of the place so I dont get why people are slating it on here! Just head to the wall, the graffiti is truely impressive. We will definitely be back to Berlin and definitely be back to this hotel! Thanks for a great 4 days!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bongoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Small boutique hotel, very design furniture, maybe a bit too big, but at least original. Bar with DJ in the lobby but a thick door separate it from the rooms so it is quiet. Good and friendly service at the reception. The main entrance is a hidden graffitted door, very original and sooo Berlin.
Good value for money, at least with prices during cold January.
Next door there is Casa Camper hotel with its good Asian restaurant.
Haven't tried the breakfast, we were going to a great coffee place called Luigi Zuckerman Deli, 5 min walking fron the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Lux 11
Lux 11
#224 of 635 in Berlin
518 reviews
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#83 of 635 in Berlin
481 reviews
Mitte
Hotel AMANO
Hotel AMANO
#106 of 635 in Berlin
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel MANI
Hotel MANI
#54 of 635 in Berlin
604 reviews
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#2 of 635 in Berlin
993 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Adelante Berlin-Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Weinmeister? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Weinmeister

Address: Weinmeisterstr. 2 | 10178 Berlin, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#149 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $106 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Weinmeister 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weinmeister, sits in the heart of Berlin-Mitte and embodies its chic, contemporary attitude. “The Golden Cage”, as it is affectionately called due to its matte golden metal façade, is visible from every vantage point in the neighbourhood, alluringly drawing in guests and visitors alike. Conceived as the “big brother” of the well established Lux 11, also located in Mitte, The Weinmeister is aimed at business travelers from the film, music, fashion and other creative fields, as well as leisure travelers. Its core philosophy is simple: it focuses on rest, comfort, round-the-clock service and stylish rooms that highlight one piece of furniture - an oversized bed, which acts as a room within a room and suggests “cocooning.” Despite the convenience and excitement that the location affords, guests are very likely to give in to the temptation of staying in their endlessly comfortable rooms or in the luxurious hotel bar at the end of a busy day in the German capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your The Weinmeister reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Weinmeister Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing