We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #72 of 358 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights (in the hotel area, not the hostel) . We found the hotel facilities good for the price we had payed (40 euros for a twin room): the room was not big, but was very clean and even had a desk, a hair dryer, shower gel in the bathroom.

The location is great, we walked from the train station Hauptbahnhof with our bags and it took us around 10 minutes and it was very easy to find the way with simple indications from the tourist office in the train station.

It was very noisy though: there was a crowd of teenager students, that were very loud: they put loud music on in some rooms (namely on the room next to mine, run in the corridors, bang doors and make all kind of noise. The walls are thin: when our next door neighbours eventually got quiet, we could hear someone snore in the room next to that.

The reception persons were polite and spoke good english, but didn't seem very interested in solving problems. For instance, when I tred to pay with a VISA debit card, I was informed that would cost me an extra 2,95 euros, but no one told me there was an ATM machine in the lobby in which I could have withdrawn the money with my VISA debit card.

Also it is important to note that the Internet access is free only in the lobby and bar. If you want Internet in your room, you need to pay (1 euro for 1 hour or 10 euros for 1 week).

In my trip we also used the conference room, which was nice, but everything we need was complicated: getting internet access, getting copies, etc. And the coffee break just included plain coffee and tea, absolutely nothing else.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the lobby are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaNeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 433 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

In my travelling experience, this hostel has...
the most number of beds in dorm and the craziest dormmates i ever met (the good, fun crazy)
so I had a good, fun with crazy people in the dorm
we mixed & blended in the dorm..even at irregular hours.
the neighbours guests from other rooms come to join too.
staffs are good and sensible. toilets are clean... everything is fine.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indcpps7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Not a place with soul but to be near main train station - it works ! Nice bar upstairs with nice views around the city ! Friendly, clean place, good times! Damn clean - you can eat from the floor, if you are a fan you have a TV in the room as well

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drupio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed at the a&o with my partner who was attending the Berlinale Talent Campus, and therefore was booked in to this hostel/hotel. He arrived a few days earlier so when I arrived I was just supposed to get a key and go up to our room, this proved to be rather problematic, the girl in the front desk couldn't find my partners name in the system even when i spelled it out for her, instead she started namedropping other guests trying to figure out how to handle the situation. I had to wait for someone else to help me and when the staff on the second sift arrived i finally got my key after waiting almost an hour.

The rooms are tiny, the duves as well as the pillows are super thin, ok if you fold them twice for someone like me who sleeps with 2 pillows. The room was dirty, full of dust in the corner and in the wardrobe. They didnt provide normal size towels, only little larger than hand towels.

Its located about 10 mins walk from the Hauptbanhof which is an area where there is nothing of interest, so you'd have to take the s bahn or u bahn or bus to go snywhere, whether its dining, sightseeing, shopping or partying.

I realise that this is a place for young people, school classes etc that dont want to spend a lot of money on accommodation when travelling, but they failed to live up to some standards that should be upheld in all hotels, budget or luxury.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anders L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

When we first booked this hostel, there were several negative comments about the hostel. Nevertheless we decided to give it a try as the price was pretty affordable and the hostel was located very near the station. The private twin room had an en-suite bathroom. The room was extremely clean and new. Definitely value for money. Do stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank takingflight123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This place is very clean, very good location near hauptbahnhof, and reasonably priced. Also its quiet as the rooms have an inner door that you can close to seal yourself off from the corridor. The shower is very good, powerful with hot water and the breakfast is also good. I would recommend this place to people on a budget if they stay in Berlin. Friendly staff. There is Wifi also.

They do have internet provided on computers downstairs but there is no microsoft word etc and you cant upload photos on those computers as there is restricted access to "my computer" on windows.

Good place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

For a basic hotel/hostel, this is moderately OK. However, German school parties who are unsupervised by their teachers and play loud music and drink copious amounts of alcohol while their teachers lock themselves away, did appear to be a common feature. The staff didn't seem all that bothered when several groups of guests complained. They did go up but it was all a bit ineffectual to be honest.

Having said that, it's fairly cheap for a capital city if you don't mind IKEA basic. The breakfast is really good.

The receptionists are multilingual but don't have a rush in them! Be prepared to wait while they slow time the paperwork to avoid making eye contact!

If you want to do Berlin on the cheap, this is one way to do it.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cps37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Friedrichshain
A&O Berlin Friedrichshain
A&O Berlin Friedrichshain
#230 of 358 in Berlin
280 reviews
Moabit
Amstel House Hostel
Amstel House Hostel
#32 of 358 in Berlin
311 reviews
Mitte
Heart of Gold Hostel
Heart of Gold Hostel
#15 of 358 in Berlin
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
#26 of 358 in Berlin
1,457 reviews
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#4 of 358 in Berlin
931 reviews
Mitte
Singer109 Backpacker Apartment Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof

Address: Lehrter Str. 12-15, 10557 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Moabit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 358 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: $16 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof 2*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof has very modernly furnished rooms and business suites. The spacious lobby and entrance area with a bar, billiards and table soccer together create an inviting atmosphere with international charm. The A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof is just 10 minutes by foot from the Berlin Central Station. In spite of its central location the hostel is on a quiet side street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a&o Berlin Hauptbahnhof Hotel Berlin
a And o Berlin Hauptbahnhof

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing